We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport
Ranked #134 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Service from the front desk (Nicole at night shift was esp. helpful & cheerful after a long day's flight) to housekeeping, to The Bistro servers are all first rate. Staff is efficient, well trained & very professional; kudos to mngmt. Plenty of free coffee & hot water (tea), usatoday & WSJ newspapers & computers + printers for use in the lobby. This is one of the best (serviceable/practical) lobby designs--spacious, lots of seating, good table spaces for work/eating.

Hotel is located mins. from MDW in a cluster of other hotels, very safe, plenty of parking ($13/day, well lit). Free shuttle to MDW every 20mins starting on the hr & runs 24hrs where you can catch the Orange line. Near convenience shopping (Target, Walmart, Costco+gas stn, Home Depot, Lowe's, OfficeDepot, Kohl's, JCPenney's). Near fast food restaurants (McD's, BurgerK, White Castle) & other restaurants (Giordano's pizza, TGIF is attached to hotel). Only complaint is it's next to a trainyard. You can hear the sounds of the trains on the tracks (kind of a strange echoing chime sound), but if you keep your windows closed you won't hear it.

Rooms are spacious, clean, well-appointed (newly renovated). A great hotel if you have a car & have business to tend to around the MDW area. Not so convenient if you're a tourist & want to be near downtown or Mag Mile areas. It's quite a ride (~45mins) by L subway or driving in traffic/parking in downtown is expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 189 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

This property had cleaning and maintenance issues a few years ago, so it's nice that it has finally been updated. Hope it will be better maintained now. The outdoor courtyard area is great when the weather is nice. The restaurant attached to the hotel is very convenient. Group rate has limits for number of guests per room who can receive "free" breakfast, while most hotels offer free breakfast for everyone who stays there. Pretty pricey hotel for families, even with discounts.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Bubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudemarchi, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your comments especially regarding our recently completed renovation. We appreciate your loyalty it seems like you have experienced our property in the past. I want to assure you that we have processes in place to make sure that our property is well maintained and kept clean. We hope that you will continue to visit our hotel in your future travels and thanks again for taking the time to rate our property.
Lou DeMarchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My stay at Courtyard was so quiet and restful after a full day flying from Europe. I was picked up at the airport by their courtesy shuttle and within minutes dropped off at the front door of the hotel. The staff was friendly and professional. My room was comfortable, clean, and quiet with nice amenities. I had breakfast in the morning at the Starbucks cafe where my breakfast was brought to me. I enjoyed eating at a table equipped with a personal flat screen TV. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel was very modern, with very helpful, courteous and friendly staff. The room was a bit uncomfortable- we had booked a king bed with a pullout couch only to find that the pullout couch was only a twin size. Not exactly what we needed considering we had two boys that ended up having to share it! The bathroom was in need of an upgrade- the shower was a walk-in shower and the curtain didn't go all the way to the bottom, so water flooded the entire bathroom. The floors were grimy in the bathroom and there was hair stuck to the wall in one spot, and the bed was miserably uncomfortable, but the lobby was fantastic. Our kids loved the pool area, and the patio out back was perfect. We could enjoy the evening while our kids swam. All in all this was a nice hotel, but would like to see the rooms updated or cleaned a bit better. The worst part about the hotel were the directions our GPS gave us to get there. The directions had us drive down Cicero Avenue for 17 miles which took 1.5 hours because of all the stoplights. But it wasn't so much the time, as the areas that we had to drive through- it was a bit sketchy for someone not used to living in the "Big City". Once we found an alternate route, we were much happier.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becnbaby4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The lobby was clean and the the front desk clerk was very professional. Check in was quick and easy. The room was excellent, decor is updated, no big heavy bedspreads, all fresh, clean linens. We grabbed the shuttle that is provided for all the area hotels to take us to the airport for an early flight and did not use the restaurant. It was convenient, departing every 20 minutes for the roughly 5-10 minute drive to Midway Airport. We would not hesitate to come back although I thought it was a little pricey for the convenience. The stay & fly price was $255 + taxes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tighedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our family recently stayed at the Courtyard Midway while in Chicago for our semi-annual family reunion. Being from Chicago, I (along with my daughters and son-in-law), had the pleasure of hosting this year's reunion. We looked long and hard to find hotel accomodations in the heart of the city, that would meet our family's needs. Wanted to give the family a true "Chicago" feel and experience but, between the room rates and ridiculous downtown parking fees, we had to broaden our search to include the suburbs and outter edges of the city. We booked the Courtyard and couldn't have been more pleased at the end of our reunion!

The selling points: they are located just 2 miles from Midway Intl. Airport, free airport shuttle, superbly renovated in 2012, access to dining, access to public transportation to take family downtown, affordable price and, the staff were very professional and accomodating in helping us through the planning process. Other hotels we were considering weren't as professional or simpply blew us off (wouldn't return numerous calls, weren't there when we showed for a viewing appointment)!

The Courtyard is in a hotel complex, along with eight other hotels of varing features and prices ranges. A little something for every budget.

Front Desk Manager, Jahaira Perez met with us, gave us the grand tour and made herself available to us anytime we needed her advise or assistance. Perez, along with the entire Courtyard team, took real good care of my family.

A good example is when my cousin (the mother of 1 1/2 year old twin girls) was putting the girls to bed for the night. One of the toddlers had lost her pacifier. OMG, she would NOT stop crying. Mom went down to the front desk to ask where was the nearest drug store so she could go and buy another pacifier. The young man on front desk duty called a cabbie that services the area. He asked the cabbie to make a run to get a new pacifer and told him, they'd pay him the money when he delivered it. The cabbie took the assignment and delivered the pacifier in Olympic time to the frantic baby and Mom! That kind of service is unheard of today.

Another example of excellent services: Cousin Stephanie found that the let-out sofa bed's sheets had not been changed since the last guest. She called downstairs and asked that housekeeping come and change them out while they were out for the evening. Came back after the Fish Fry and, found the sheets (still) had not been changed. When my cousin called the front desk again to complain, the front desk manager Jose came to their room, sheet set in hand and, Jose changed the sheets HIMSELF! I'm sure somebody in housekeeping got a tongue lashing for letting that ball drop!

Amenities: Open concept lobby, semi-circular booths in the dinning area great for eating or socializing, "family room" area complete with board & card games & books, large TV & comfy couches, direct access to TGIF restaurant through long hallway, indoor pool & Jacuzzi, exercise room, beautiful outdoor patio with seating area, bean bag toss & firepit! Like being in an upscale, luxury home. Spacious, clean, rennovated rooms, really cool decor throughout. Rooms do NOT come with a mini fridge but, if needed for say baby formulas & food or medicine, ask when you make your reservation and, they'll put one in your room.

Still had to pay for overnight parking at $12 a night but, day-time visitors don't have to pay. At downdown hotels, EVERYONE pays 24/7 wether you pay for valet or garage! Finding downtown street parking is like playing to Lottery!

Want to sight-see downtown (and save on parking)? Take the free hotel shuttle 2 miles to Midway Airport. Buy a one-day transit card and hop on the CTA Orange Line. Easy-peasy!

We got a great group rate of $119 per night for the four nights our family was in town. Book early as, they only have so many doubles. There were a few large groups staying there at the same time so, some of our family (who didn't book when we advised them to) had to settle for King rooms.

Finally (I've gone on and oooooon), if you're visiting the City of Chicago and, are looking for a great location away from the expensive downtown area, the Courtyard near Midway airport is THE place to stay. Great "stay-cation" option also.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shareea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

It had been 2 years since I have stayed at this location, and I must say I like the new look. The color scheme of the lobby gives the hotela fresh modern look. This location is very close to Midway. Check-in was smooth and as usual the beds were very comfortable. I look forward to staying at this location the next time I visit Chicago even more than before.

Room Tip: TGIF is connected to the Hotel!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebbymm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chicago Marriott Midway
Chicago Marriott Midway
#114 of 191 in Chicago
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Midway Airport
Sleep Inn Midway Airport
#4 of 5 in Bedford Park
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport

Address: 6610 S Cicero Ave, Chicago, IL 60638-5838
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in Chicago
#62 Family Hotel in Chicago
#95 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $148 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located two blocks from the airport, Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport Hotel offers a complimentary 24-hr airport shuttle service plus stylish hotel rooms with modern decor. A short drive or train ride (Orange line) to downtown Chicago, guests can access many of Chicago's must-see attractions with ease. With the complimentary property-wide WiFi, onsite Bistro and in-room dining, business travelers will be more productive than ever. All guest rooms feature sound proof windows with black-out curtains, Marriott luxury bedding, flat-screen TVs with free HBO and ample workspace. The Courtyard Chicago Midway hotel also offers a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor pool and the popular T.G.I. Friday's and Starbucks right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport Hotel Chicago
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing