We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chicago Marriott Midway
Nearby Hotels
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$217
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$643
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$262
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$444
$378
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$675
$550
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$299
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$361
$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$375
$340
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveler rating
229
133
39
18
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
133
39
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportfree shuttlethe concierge loungecopper foxshuttle servicefront deskpark and flyan airport hotelan early flightplatinum memberother hotelsroom servicegreat place to stayconvenient locationvery nice hotelupon checkenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 429 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We recently stayed at the Marriott Chicago Midway prior to a very early morning flight and would definately stay again! The hotel is modern, clean, comfortable and convenient. Our room was surprisingly quiet, considering how close the hotel is to Midway Airport. We caught the shuttle, which runs every twenty minutes from the hotel to Midway. It was on time both to and from the airport. The only disappointment regarding this hotel is that there is a charge to use wi-fi in the rooms (it is free in the lobby however).

Stayed: March 2013
Thank Onthelake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMarriottGM, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Midway, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Good afternoon and thanks for staying with us! We appreciate your patronage and would love to see you again in the future at the newly renovated Marriott Chicago Midway.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It is a grand hotel! The staff were all pleasant and attentive. The entrance is very welcoming with a warm fireplace. The decor of the ENTIRE hotel is crisp and beautiful. With calm yet vibrant colors. Furniture is functional AND comfortable AND beautiful AND CLEAN!!! The desk chair in our room was the MOST comfortable office chair I have ever sat in! The television channels were more then we needed and ALL that we wanted WITHOUT any stumbles across x-rated shows that are not even protected in many hotels today.
Which brings me to the next part of this review..PLEASE REMEMBER THIS HOTEL WAS FABULOUS and unfortunately this type of thing happens EVERYWHERE! During our stay a business traveler experienced an event with a prostitute! The business man was trying not to uphold his end of the transaction!!! And apparently because the prostitute was a prostitute the business man thought he could...thought that threats of exposure would just make the prostitute go away. When the prostitute would not and the manager intervened the business man tried to have us all believe that this prostitute came from thin air and just decided to follow him and would not quit following him. The business man wanted us to believe it was just his bad luck...prior to the manager stepping in we watched as the business man tried to quietly coax the prostitute into a cab...the prostitute had no money and the cab driver was sent away by the prostitute because the man refused to pay...this is where the business man then acted like he had no idea where this person came from...PLEASE know that this is in NO WAY a reflection of THIS HOTEL!!! As I said this HOTEL was FABULOUS and I am excited to stay again!!! It is a REFLECTION of SOCIETY and I am writing about it to ASK that ALL OF US TRAVELERS PAY ATTENTION MORE!!! Although the manager was swift and professional, even to the prostitute whom clearly had evidence that he/she was hired from the business man as the prostitute showed the manager on his/her cell phone, I am not sure anyone called the police...the prostitute did not look any where near 18 years old!! I am shocked by the actions of this business man (the location is REALLY not bad-this prostitute was brought in from another area!) and shamed by the inaction of myself!! I am a Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner. We all know having sex with a prostitute is a crime! And having sex with a minor...is an abomination!! Yet it happens ALL the time! We are encouraged to report Drunk Drivers for the safety of others...I encourage you travelers to do the same with prostitution...It would have been so easy with the business mans room and the prostitutes cell phone proof to prosecute that business man! That business man gets to go back to his world unscathed!! (If there were no customers would there be any jobs as a prostitute?) How is child porn, kidnappings of our children to be sold...people are giving birth to children just to raise them as sex slaves...how is any of this going to stop if we let it happen RIGHT in front of our faces...now even in places one used to NEVER dream of ...I ask once again that we ALL pay more attention to this crime. I ask that we stand up for those that can not do so for themselves...and I ask that you forgive me for not doing so this time...given another opportunity I certainly will take action!!

Room Tip: Th uneven room number hallway over looked the beautiful court yard which is used to host weddings and such.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMarriottGM, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Midway, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your compliments of the hotel! We will hope to see you again in the future.

Take care,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I spent 3 days at the Marriott Midway for a corporate meeting. Arriving in a heavy snowstorm the fireplace in the entry was a welcome that I needed.
The room was very clean and quiet in spite of being in the landing pattern for numerous Southwest Airlines planes coming into Midway Airport.While the room setup was pretty standard the bathroom was very nice, with numerous towels in an open style vanity with granite top and nice fixtures.
The only problem I had was a noisy toilet the first night. I went to the front desk in the morning to let them know about it and by the time I got back to the room in the afternoon it was fixed!
I don't know why some of the reviewers focused on bad staff. That was NOT my experience both with the toilet issue and in general, The entire staff was freindly, helpful and professional.
The neighborhood doesn't lend itself to going out much, a little sketchy, but that was not reflected in the hotel or parking around the hotel. This is a full city block of hotels catering to the Midway Airport and business travelers and I left my vehicle in the parking lot with no fear and no problems.
The restaurant "Dempsys" serves a great burger, and there is a Starbucks inside just to the right of the lobby as you enter. The workout room and pools seemed nice, and while the business center was close to the lobby, you really won't need it because the hotel has hard wired internet connections in your room and Wi-Fi as well.
Parking and internet access is an exra charge, but that's offsett by a pretty nice room rate.
There's also a shuttle to and from the airport that serves all of the hotels in the block.
Is this a destination hotel for a vacation? No, but for for business or travel, I would recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back face away from the landing aircraft, but I didn't hear the planes in my front facing room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillinMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMarriottGM, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Midway, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Good day. Thank you for visiting our property for your conference. We enjoyed hosting you and your company and we will hope to see you again next time. Thank you also for your compliments of our food. Dempsey's guest have actually rated us #6 in the entire country right now for food quality so far this year!

Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I am a student, and I visited Univ of Chicago. My flight got canceled, and the Midway airport advised that I could go to Starbucks (which is inside Marriott) or TGIF (which is inside Marriott). I was there with no issues from around 10ish to Midnight. However, after midnight, the manager changed. It was a woman. She is horrible. I requested her to let me stay for a few hours, and my flight was scheduled to depart at 4ish. However, she denied. I have been to Marriott for a few times with my families, but I have never experienced such a staff. She called security, and even security guys requested her to let me stay for sometime. I showed my Driver's license, and other identity proof. But, I was told by her that "she was running the show, and she doesn't want to take any risk. She made the rules." I believe this was an attack on my ethnicity. I was really tired, and I took the cab and slept in the airport. The staff of this hotel is horrible. Just horrible. I am not sure what risk a student can pose. I cannot afford Marriott right now because of limited income. This is the worst experience. Please stay away from such a staff. I am really sad.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gmat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMarriottGM, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Midway, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hello, I am very sorry to hear how you were treated BUT you were not treated in that manner in this hotel. You must be referring to the hotel next door with the TGIF inside as we did not have a female manager working during our recent snowstorms and we also do not have any security reports referring to any such incident at this hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Friendly staff focused on customer service. Property in excellent condition. Resturant and staff great! I would highly reccommend lodging with marriott at the Midway airport location. We arrived early and were able to check in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 69BarbaraH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMarriottGM, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Midway, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thanks for your patronage! It was a pleasure having you and we will hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews