We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Salonica

Salonica
Ranked #1,196 of 9,608 Restaurants in Chicago
Neighborhood: Hyde Park
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Hyde Park
Sleepy Hollow, NY
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very busy local place and the cheerful service and delicious breakfast were a treat. Close to the University of Chicago. Paid street parking is available and the cops are vigilant about tickets.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank EllySleepyHollow_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    28
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Greek taverna”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Proprietor run great little Greek taverna in Hyde Park. Excellent moussaka and other Greek delicacies. Service friendly and attentive. Pity about the machine coke and BYO. will definitely become a regular when visiting Chicago

Helpful?
Thank Donnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Ct
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Classic Greek diner and coffeeshop in UofChicago neighborhood”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I went here for comfort food after a long day walking in the rain, and Salonica did not disappoint -- had a great open-faced turkey sandwich with gravy and mashed potatoes, that just hit the spot. My daughter and I returned the next morning for breakfast and had good sausage, hash browns, eggs, coffee, and OJ. The service was fine, and the friendly staff even gave me directions where to buy flowers as a thank-you gift for the people I was staying with. Terrific walkable neighborhood just down the street from Powell's Books and other Hyde Park shops. Great find!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank eafinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Should be on Diners, D,D...'s”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Best sandwich of my life! Growing up in Milwaukee you get a far share of Gyro shops, but this had an out of this world twist on it. Normally you get gyro meat, raw onions, tomatoes on pita w/cucumber dip. On Nick's Delight, they grill the onions, add Swiss, and roast beef..., & I would travel back for the sandwich! That was actually my hubby's dinner & I had to force some of moussaka on him( which was also yummy)..., just cause I kept eating his sandwich! Bit run down inside but it added to the charm of this little old college neighborhood.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFoodLoveIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Hyde Park's only Greek diner”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stick to the basics and you won't go wrong. A nice omelet with cheese and spinach, or some gyros, would be a smart choice. Don't try to get fancy.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveNationalParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salonica also viewed

 

Been to Salonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing