We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fresh sandwiches”
Review of Hannah's Bretzel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hannah's Bretzel
Ranked #3,114 of 9,544 Restaurants in Chicago
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
133 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good fresh sandwiches”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great selection, very tasty, much better than a Subway or Quizno experience. They give you choices in terms of size, vegetarian or not, and also list the sodium and caloric intake for all menu items. I can understand why there are several in the city. Wish they had them where I live.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GRtraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“These Chicago sandwiches can take you around the world”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Even if the gourmet chocolate is only admired and not purchased, the eye candy will be a sweet precursor to your awaiting meal while waiting in the line (that moves surprisingly fast) and also scanning the widely varied menu with many temptations that give me a reason to return.

There is a certain type of lingo at Hannah's that you need to order. Would you like a wecken or a baguette? I opted for a wecken, but since they were in the process of being made, I said I would wait. The employees countered by offering me the bigger sandwich, now, at the lower price.

The pretzel bread was perfect, just enough salt so that I somehow only got one granule per bite. The rest of the bavari-asian sandwich was just what I was looking for. The flavors were all distinguishable, pleasant and just exotic enough to make me forget I was in Chicago. Looking at the contents, I don't know how tasty they'd be individually. However, together they blended very well.

I would recommend Hannah's especially to those tired of the typical Subway or Jimmy John's or looking for something new to try. I don't think I'd be able to easily recreate a sandwich like the ones served up here, so I'm willing to spend a little more. What makes it even better is that the staff is friendly, the service is quick and the food is fresh.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
263 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This review is based solely on one item....the turkey bretzel with cranberry sauce. It's like the day after Thanksgiving in a sandwich. I love this sandwich and get this every time I go. I think I'm going to try a different sandwich when I go, but chicken out and go back to the usual turkey and cranberry. Yes, it's expensive, but it's good and I don't get it that often, so when I want it, I get it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbrenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Hannah's Terrible”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I felt fleeced when I paid $15 for a cup of soup, a very small half sandwich, drink, and dessert bar. The food was so-so at best, the service people were not engaging, smiling, or providing anything other than as a vehicle to dispense extraordinarily ordinary "products", and take money. A complete bust and rip-off as far as I'm concerned. Awful!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edwardaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
134 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches and Great Bread!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I loved this place for a nice sandwich. They have a variety of good choices and the bread is delicious. Overall, highly recommended for a quick place to eat in or to go.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hannah's Bretzel also viewed

 

Been to Hannah's Bretzel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing