We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real deal, Pan-Asia delight”
Review of Indie Cafe

Indie Cafe
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #955 of 9,996 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Edgewater
Cross street: Thorndale
Transit: CTA red line - Thorndale station
Reviewed May 17, 2019 via mobile

Cafe Indie is a North Side neighborhood favorite for over two decades. Thai and Japanese foods are their specialty, with busy take-out orders nearly equal to the demand for tables in their two street front rooms decorated with numerous local artists canvas - some for sale.
A spicy miso soup with sirracha sause was a welcome start on cold Spring night. Our Crab Rangoon arrived quickly and was quite good. We enjoyed the shrimp filled, almond encrusted Almond Monkey and toasted tempura favored blue crab filled Caymen. Yummy; yummy; yummy! Note the sushi is excellent too, and the menu changes just enough to keep the customer's wondering what's to come. I would recommend this to anyone who likes or wants to try Tai/Japanese/Korean food. Full bar too. It's a another Chicago winner!!!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank budgetgourmet2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 55 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2018 via mobile

Love all food they served... especially thai food ... with real thai test !! Big portion good value .. love the atmosphere , music , service Don’t Miss It !!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank lomofatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2018 via mobile

Just a nice, convenient sushi delivery for the area. Have a lot to offer, fish is fresh and the menu items are pretty good, staple place when I need a “go to” restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank kjm445
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

Was here this week
We ate: beef with asparagus skewers and eggplant skewers. They were great. There is an assortment of other skewers as well
The egg rolls were thin, crispy and delicious. Not the cabbage filled peanut favored of many restaurants
Try the mango-avocado-cucumber sushi roll. It's great. I didn't try the other sushi
We had parang veggies and panang chicken. Flavorful but here served over rice; I like it better over crisp noodles
Pad Thai was adequate but not memorable
Nice nonalcoholic drink menu
Decent service
Nice setting
Accommodating to large groups

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Grandmom1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018 via mobile

This place is one of my favorite in Chicago. You never wait, food is very tasty, it's always clean, staff is friendly and prices are cheap. I love so much their curry fried chicken and the curry shrimps !

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Mulholland-Dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indie Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Indie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.