We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Airport Alternative to downtown hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
Ranked #112 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you will only be in Chicago for a few days, and don't need a car, the Chicago Marriott O'Hare may be a good alternative. The hotel has been renovated and offers comp airport transfers.

Rooms are typical 'Marriott' but offer a great concierge club. The evening and morning food services are VERY good! If you're in for the night or want a nice breakfast with great choices, this is the place! One evening was chicken and rice, pasta, salads, various other items and good desserts!

There is a small but adequate health club and both indoor/outdoor pools.

No need for a car if you are going downtown for meetings or to explore! The 'El' is next to the hotel and for $2.25 is a fast (35 min) and convenient way to go! Also, some of Chicago's iconic foods are available across the street from the hotel. Both Nancy's pizza and Al's Beef are directly across the street from the hotel.

Staff is friendly and the airport shuttle is continuous. Depending on time of year and days of the week, this may be a good alternative to downtown accommodations. Note: it is also the only hotel (outside of the Hilton directly at the airport terminals) that has such close proximity to the city's 'El'.

Room Tip: If you have Gold status, you'll be automatically upgraded to Concierge level. If not, ask for a...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOHareMarriottTeam, General Manager at Chicago Marriott O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear PSMAN - Thank you for staying with us and writing the post! And thank you for your compliments on our $40 million renovation. As you know, the hotel is a landmark in the area and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Safe travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
There are newer reviews for Chicago Marriott O'Hare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 601 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. As it is a airport hotel, I was expecting an average hotel. Nothing bad,but not memorable,either. That would certainly not describe my stay here. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The rooms were recently remodeled. They were very comfortable. The hotel restaurant was quite good. Good service and great food and great service. I strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOHareMarriottTeam, General Manager at Chicago Marriott O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Morlev - Thank you for posting a note regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that the recent $40 million investment we made to the hotel is being noticed. Thank you also for the compliments in regard to the food preparations, service and staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Safe travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here due to an early morning flight at O'Hare. We were able to book easily online through their website. The room was a bit small, bit very modern, clean, and with a very comfortable bed. The lobby area and from what I could see of the restaurant/ bar area was very nice as well. We were able to park our car there for a very small fee and utilized the convenient shuttle to and from the airport. Front desk was very nice and gave important information and helpful as we had not stayed there before. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sofiecusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOHareMarriottTeam, General Manager at Chicago Marriott O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Sofiecusion - Thank you for staying with us and writing the post! And thank you for your compliments on our $40 million renovation. As you know, the hotel is a landmark in the area and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Safe travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have stayed here several times. Each time the service is wonderful. Clean rooms, walking distance to the train and great service. The lobby is beautiful and they always have the best fruit infused water available. The business center is easy to access and the hotel shuttle is always prompt.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayneB879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOHareMarriottTeam, General Manager at Chicago Marriott O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Janye B. - Thank you for staying with us and writing the post. And thank you for your compliments on our hotel and staff! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Safe travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights 100% for business. Great location and facility. My room was on the concierge level and lounge was a blessing. Due to bad weather we ended up having our meetings in the lounge and it was perfect.

Comfortable refreshments, great breakfast and evening food and drinks - tried them all!

Here are the cons - room (especially bathroom) was very small. Very thin walls - could hear everything including trains and planes going by. Too bad. Also, the concierge lounge needs a restroom - silly to have to go all the way back to your room and return.

However, bed was incredibly comfortable and everything was in great condition.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steamco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOHareMarriottTeam, General Manager at Chicago Marriott O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Steamco - Thank you for posting a note regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that the recent $40 million investment we made to the hotel is being noticed. Thank you also for the compliments in regard to the food preparations, service and staff!

Safe travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I travel to the Chicago area several times a month. While I prefer to stay downtown, it is often not practical or necessary. Staying at the airport gives me great flexibility to get to where I need without much hassle. I used to stay at the Marriott Suites just down the street, but it is starting to show signs of wear. The O'Hare Marriott was recently upgraded/updated and it shows everywhere. The lobby is open, bright and staffed by a great bunch of people. The bar area is adjacent to the lobby and is usually pretty busy. Noise is a problem, mostly due to all the smooth surfaces that just reflect sound. As other have said, this is an older Marriott and the rooms are a bit smaller, but more than adequate for the typical business traveler. The concierge lounge is well stocked and offers a refuge from other common areas. The fitness center is well equipped and offers variety similar to my gym back home.

My very good rating is not so much a knock against this particular hotel. My gripe is that since Marriott lowered their threshold for lifetime elite status; it seems everyone is platinum. There is just nothing special about reaching what used to be, in my mind, a significant milestone. Upgrades are pretty much a thing of the past. Getting a room on the concierge floor is a real hit or miss event, especially if you tend to arrive late in the day, as I often do.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FR0NT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOHareMarriottTeam, General Manager at Chicago Marriott O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Front4 - Thank you for staying with us and writing the post! And thank you for your compliments on our $40 million renovation. As you know, the hotel is a landmark in the area and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for several days as part of the Congregation of St. Joseph Chapter.
Accommodations were perfect, rooms, meals, staff friendliness and help.
We are so proud of the O'Hare Marriot who've worked with NIX associates to help stop the trafficking of women and children.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOHareMarriottTeam, General Manager at Chicago Marriott O'Hare, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Cynthia S - Thank you for posting a note regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that the recent $40 million investment we made to the hotel is being noticed. Thank you also for the compliments in regard to the food preparations, service and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
O'Hare
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#139 of 191 in Chicago
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott O'Hare

Address: 8535 W Higgins Rd, Chicago, IL 60631-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $162 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott O'Hare 3.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Chicago without the city price tag. Located near the O'Hare International Airport and 15 miles from downtown, this renowned hotel in the Chicago O'Hare airport area combines the distinguished atmosphere of a Marriott Hotel with modern accommodations and innovative amenities. Visitors to downtown Chicago have 'L'-train access located just one block from this Chicago hotel near the airport, and travelers in search of a Donald E. Stephens Convention Center hotel are only two miles from the facility. A departure from ordinary Chicago Airport hotels, the recently renovated Chicago Marriott O'Hare Airport hotel represents a first-class landing offering convenience, an established reputation and state-of-the-art technology. Each of the Chicago Airport hotel's 470 guest rooms and 10 suites feature high-speed Internet and plush bedding for a restful night's sleep. Discover the renowned Marriott Chicago O'Hare Airport hotel that has been setting the standard in sophisticated performance for over 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chicago Marriott O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Marriott o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Marriott Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing