We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Chicago River North
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kinzie Hotel(Chicago)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,051)
Filter reviews
2,051 results
Traveler rating
1,133
640
158
67
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,133
640
158
67
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspersonal trainerchicago riverheavenly bedgreat locationhouse of bluesexecutive clubfitness centerwithin walking distancethe loopvery nice hotelbusiness travelerlobby barfree internetlate checkgreat roomblue linefew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,915 - 1,920 of 2,051 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2006

Wow--I always love Westins--the heavenly bed really is. This was our, thousandth(?) trip to Chi town, we always stay somewhere different, because there are so many fantastic hotels. No longer--I will stay this Westin from now on. It is cool--very sleek and contemporary, zen like. It feels relaxed and quiet . The river views are awesome, the bed, perfect. We also heard the Sushi is great there, but haven't yet tried it. Rock on--!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank TeamBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2006

A great hotel, particularly if you get a river view (I only had to ask). The room was spotless, the bed fantastic, the shower even better. The bar was spacious and relaxing. The staff did everything to please. And do try Bin 36 over the road, an amazing restaurant with a cheese bar and a novel opportunity to try numerous wines in one sitting. Highly recommended hotel whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank IanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2006

We travelled from Fort Lauderdale to Chicago for the New Year's weekend. We could not have been more pleased with the Westin Chicago River North. We were in Chicago in May 2005 and stayed at Hotel 71. No comparison. The Westin is so much better. Cleaner, better elevators, nicer lobby, better rooms. New Year's Eve the security was tight so no one that wasn't staying at the hotel couldn't get to the elevators. Great location as we walked to Marshall-Fields, the Ford Theatre and pretty much everywhere we wanted to go. And only 2 blocks to Lou Malnati's -some of the best Chicago deep dish pizza! Will definitely stay at the Westin Chicago River North again.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank ckvp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2006

We really enjoyed the elegant, spare Asian decor in the public areas of the hotel. Our room was nice too, but not as nice. There was water damage on the ceiling and some disrepair in the corner wall of the bathroom, but the room was very comfortable wth romantic views of the river.

The restaurant has a great breakfast & service was impeccable. The bar area is very nice. The bellhops were all quick and helpful--really gracious.

The front desk staff was weirdly off the ball. The person at the front desk was rather rude, but we brushed that off. When we got to our room, though, it turned out she had actually given us a room that was already occupied! There were people asleep in bed! The bellman was horrified and rushed to the phone in the hallway to straighten things out. From what we could hear, she was rude to him too. A day later we found they had our check out date wrong (we got our bill under the door a day early, though they had the date right when we checked in). Lastly, after we checked out, we discovered that they had not billed the room charges to the proper credit card.

Note that the location is really great for theatre-going, though a little far for walking to and from the Water Tower shopping area.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank greenmountainguava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2006

This hotel is what you would expect from a Westin. Typical 4-star hotel. The service was good, the rooms were comfortable, clean and provided a good work environment. Style of building seemed Japanese, and I think a Japanese chain used to own the building. Staff were polite and helpful.

Didn't eat at the restaurant on site, but the bar was fine. Nothing special.

Would probably return for work but would stay at another location for pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Chuck_Schick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews