We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointingly average.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Chicago River North
Ranked #70 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a decent hotel in the River North area of Chicago. It is slightly less central than the other Westin on Michigan Ave but the river views from the room made it worth the extra few blocks. There was a an odor of mold when entering our room but the room was quiet and comfortable. The lighting in the room was poor, even with all lights on, the room was still very dimly lit. The restaurant staff seemed disorganized at breakfast. The only other thing that I noticed was that they charged for internet access in the rooms. It is almost 2014 and this hotel is still charging guests for this very basic service?

Room Tip: Get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Hello capat ,

Thank you for taking the time to share the gift of feedback with us. If you have a free moment I'd welcome the opportunity to connect with you regarding your recent experience so I can gather pertinent information in ensuring these issues get resolved quickly. At your earliest convenience please reach out to me at 312-744-1900.

Please also do not hesitate to reach out to me personally for any return visits so that I may oversee your accommodations and ensure a renewing return visit.

Be well,
Bryan W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 2,041 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed here last week from the 22nd to the 24th and I just want to say that Frederick is an outstanding employee. Working at a hotel myself, I know what to expect, but Frederick exceeded all of my expectations. He made me feel like a VIP and because of that we had the best stay. Thanks Frederick!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ljacks381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Ljacks381,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I'm delighted to hear that our staff was able to make such an impact on your recent stay that you've decided to share it with the Tripadvisor community. As a fellow member of the hospitality industry you know that this is quite the compliment and we certainly appreciate it.

I hope that we will be seeing you again soon!

Be well,
Bryan W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night to go out downtown and celebrate his birthday. We were upgraded to a larger room on the river because we are gold, but when we walked in the room, it smelled strongly of mildew/mold. We called the front desk and we were moved to a new room promptly. The new room was fine, but when the time came to shower, there was no hot water! Not ideal on a 25 degree Chicago night! We called the front desk and we were told an engineer would be notified, but we both had to take cold showers, and the next morning the water was lukewarm at best. The bed and linens were super comfy as always, this is what I love most about Westin hotels and resorts! Upon checkout we told the front desk person that the water issue had not been resolved. She mentioned that pipe maintenance had been going on, that was probably the issue. She offered free breakfast, but we did not have time, so she awarded us some bonus star points. Bottom line is we used to love this hotel but our past few stays have been off. Next time we want a night downtown, will probably try the W or the Westin on Michigan Ave.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Melissa822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selawe T, Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Melissa822,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. It was a pleasure speaking with you today and I am glad we were able to resolve your concerns. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warm Holiday Regards,

Selawe Tau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My hubby and I decided to visit Chicago for the first time and were lucky to stay here. I spent a while researching hotels based on price, reviews and location. On a whim I received a great deal on this hotel that I couldn't pass up and am so glad I stayed. The hotel was clean, well appointed and the staff were courteous and extremely helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect for walking to a variety of destinations and a close walk to a few subway lines. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaSonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Hello LaSonia G,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I'm happy to hear we were able to be a part of your first trip to Chicago and that it was such a success. I hope that we will be able to be a part of your second, and all future trips to Chicago as well!

Be well,
Bryan W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. On arrival the staff at check in were very friendly and Cameron offered us a complementary upgrade to a stunning deluxe room with a river view. I would highly recommend asking for a room on the river side.

The room was perfectly clean, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and modern. I would return to this hotel again.

Thank yddib
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Hello yddib,

I'm delighted to hear that Cameron was able to start your recent Chicago escape off right and that you were able to enjoy Chicago from the comfort of one of our Deluxe River View rooms. I hope that this is only the first of many trips to Chicago, and I hope that we will be seeing you again soon!

Stay well,
Bryan W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I had booked a double bed room but when I checked in, none were available. So The man put us in a bigger room with a seating area and nice bar area. It was VERY nice. Now, the bed was dirty, and there was hair all over it when we got in, and even under the comforter in the blankets and pillows. But the staff came and changed it and took care of it and gave us 2 passes to breakfast in the morning, which was nice. They did say the manager would call us back and never did, but whatever. The staff we did speak to on our stay were all very nice and accommodating. The local is great and we self parked, which was easy. so, overall we loved the hotel and would go back any time!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Hello M D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that your stay started out with hair on your bed, however I'm very happy to hear that we were able to get that our staff were able to get that quickly resolved for you. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future, and when that time comes please do not hesitate to reach out to myself or one of the other front office managers so that we can ensure your next stay is completely flawless and truly renewing.

Be well,
Bryan W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Sam, manager of the Westin Workout took me through a free workout at their on-site gym to improve my posture and stretch and strengthen my back. It was my favorite thing about the hotel - you don't expect that quality expertise to be working at a hotel. Not only did Sam train me but he also typed up a workout schedule and followed up with me via email a few days later to make sure I'm still on track. Westin is lucky to have someone like Sam working for them. If anything I woud recommend you stay at that hotel just for the workout session.

Room Tip: Get a river view room on the south side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike84606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Hello Mike84606,

Thank you for sharing this kind note with us. Sam is certainly someone who we're very proud to have as a member of our team. Sam has created a truly rejuvenating experience in Westin Workout and I would agree with you in that we're very lucky to have him as a member of our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and I’m sure Sam also looks forward to seeing you again so he can continue to work with you on your wellness goals.

Stay well,
Bryan W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
W Chicago - Lakeshore
W Chicago - Lakeshore
#97 of 191 in Chicago
1,690 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Address: 320 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $154 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HotelPower, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing