We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Face it, it's a Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Chicago River North
Ranked #57 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
773 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Face it, it's a Westin”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Was here for three nights at a small meeting. Nice very large room. Well appointed with King bed with many pillows, desk, chair, lounge, and nice LG flat screen TV. Bathroom was a nice size, rainfall showerhead with plenty of towels. Had free internet from the meeting, normally $14.95 per day. Location is onm the Chicago River and about 5 blocks from Michigan Ave.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frugalarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hello frugalarnie,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I’m delighted to hear that we were able to meet your expectations and live up to the Westin brand that you've come to expect. The next time your travels bring you to Chicago I hope that we will be seeing you again!

Be well,
Bryan W.  
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    604
    152
    60
    44
See reviews for
278
450
117
801
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed here on business for my first trip Chicago.

Location: This is right in downtown on the River. It was awesome to be able to get to anything around the area.

Staff: The staff was awesome and friendly. I was able to get free internet since I have SPG Gold status. This was perfect as I had to do work in the room during hours we did not have access to the conference rooms in the basement.

Facilities: The bathroom was great with the rainfall shower head and the beds were comfortable. I did not notice anything out of the ordinary. I did have a River View which gave me a semi-decent view.

Would I return: Yes I would definitely stay at the Westin again and I believe there is great value at this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a River View room and always use your status if you have it with SPG.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank himynameisjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hello Josh E,

It was truly a pleasure to be a part of your recent Chicago escape. I’m happy to see that you enjoyed the overall stay and service so much that you you've shared this glowing review with us and would return on your next visit to Chicago. We look forward to when that time comes, and if there is anything we can do to make your return trip just as memorable please do not hesitate to ask!

Stay well,
Bryan W.  
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

This visit was for a meeting. The facilities were pleasant and appropriate for the group. Seating was comfortable. Our River Level meeting rooms offered pleasant ambiance and river edge views that provided pleasant but not overpowering natural light. There were some pillars in one room which could be problematic for some functions but worked very well to softly separate the meeting area from technical equipment and guest seating. Food was of high quality and staff was engaging and professional. Although I did not overnight, participants who did do so were complimentary of the guest rooms. The hotel is well located on the river's north shore and a convenient walk from restaurants and Michigan Avenue shopping.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank WARSAWRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hello WARSAWRUN,

Thank you for sharing your kind words with us. I'm happy to hear that you found our meeting facilities comfortable and suitable to your needs for your recent event. I hope that the next time you come through Chicago we'll be able to have you as one of our overnight guests and show you the full Westin Chicago River North experience.

Stay well,
Bryan W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is an incredible Westin! While the restaurant, rooms, service and club lounge are far above average, the best part of this location is the fitness center. Sam, who is there bright and early every morning, is a certified personal trainer and will work with you to design a workout especially for you and your fitness goals. As a fitness junkie, I have come across a number of PTs and I can say without a doubt that is is one of the best. He is motivational (which you need at 5:30am) and incredibly kind and personable. If you are someone who travels every week or just there for a one time trip, I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. And make sure you get to the fitness center to meet Sam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcq11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear mcq11,

Thank you for sharing your kind words with us. Sam is certainly very valuable to our hotel and is able to provide a very unique and renewing experience in Westin Workout for our guests as you've seen. His unique service enables you to achieve your wellness goals not only during your stay here, but into the future as well. Your recommendation does not come lightly and it means a lot to all of us. I hope that we will be seeing you again soon, and I'm sure Sam is looking forward to seeing you again soon as well!

Stay well,
Bryan W.  
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. The room was nice however very dark. The staff is exceptional. The lobby was adequate. The charge for wifi is ludicrous. When you stay in a 4 to 5 star resort you expect amenities. Charging for wifi is in the Dark Ages. You can get it for free at diners, dives, and coffee shops. Disney finally smartened up. Don't cheapen yourself Westin.
The parking for $65.00 a night is also insulting to clientele. Don't stay here until wifi is included and parking is reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jake749212016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello Jake74921,

Thank you for taking the time to share the gift of feedback with us. I'm delighted to hear that you felt our staff as a whole was able to meet and exceed your needs. I am however also disappointed to see that you felt that the value for your recent stay was not there. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future and have the opportunity to meet your expectations in regards to value.

Be well,
Bryan W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is an above average Westin. Great location, nicely laid out lobby with good food and a nice bar. The overall impression is of a very nice hotel. The rooms are very nice, but I have too small complaints. First, it is one of those hotels where the entrance light switch turns on one light, in the entryway. So walking in at night, with bags in hand, its a pain in the neck to wander around and find the switch on the lamps. Second, no fitted sheet, so the darn sheets get pulled out at the foot of the bed every night I sleep there. Excellent room service menu

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello Chris B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We appreciate the feedback that you've provided to use regarding the lighting and the bedding and I'm sorry to hear that you did have troubles with these items. I am also glad to see that this did not affect your overall experience negatively and that you did have a positive visit with us. We very much appreciate the kind words that you've shared with us, and I hope that we will be seeing you again soon!

Be well,
Bryan W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We arrived early and the staff were warm and courteous. We got in to our room early and they were clean, quiet and had an amazing view of the river. We ordered a few things we forgot and they were brought up quickly and the service was great. The hotel is centrally located close to shopping, great restaurants and other attractions. Highly recommend the Westin

Room Tip: Get the room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg_and_Bridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello Greg_and_Bridget,

I'm truly delighted to hear that our staff was able to not only meet but exceed your expectations from welcome to farewell. It sounds like you were able to take some time and unwind during your recent Chicago escape, and we're very proud to have been a part of that.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another renewing visit!

Be well,
Bryan W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Property: The Westin Chicago River North
Address: 320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60654-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelPower, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing