We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Chicago hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Chicago River North
Ranked #55 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
denver, co
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Chicago hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is obviously right on the river and has beautiful views . Super easy to walk to lots of familiar places..the Bean, Art Institute, Magnificent Mile, shopping and lots of restaurants. We would recommend it for anyone who does not mind walking to most things. It was easy to get to the boat tours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear pat j,

I'm truly delighted to hear that we were able to be host to you and your family during your recent Chicago trip. Chicago has many great things to offer and I'm happy to hear that your family was able to experience a portion of it. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back the next time you choose to continue to explore Chicago and all it has offer.

Stay well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    590
    147
    55
    40
See reviews for
258
436
115
780
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My favorite spot in Chicago on river. Close to all major attractions and convenient for business meetings. Gym is modern, well equipped and staffed by Sam who is very friendly, knowledgable and a credit to the hotel! Nice club level lounge. Sushi restaurant and main restaurant excellent . Rooms can be dark given the tall buildings that surround but never been an issue and I would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roboscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear maeveian,

We're truly proud to be your home away from home in Chicago. All of us here at The Westin Chicago River North truly appreciate your kind words and I will be sure to pass your kind words on to Sam as well. I couldn't agree more that he is a very valuable asset at the hotel and we're very thankful to have him helping our guests on a daily basis.

We all look forward to your next visit!

Stay well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
199 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned from a conference here and really enjoyed the property. Its in a great location overlooking the river and within walking distance to everything including the Loop, the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and shopping and restaurants. The meeting rooms were very nice and accomodating, the food served during the meeting was very good and plentiful, and the staff very nice and attentive. Would stay there again for business or pleasure. Only real downside was the exhorbitant cost of parking.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms ending in 22 as they have great views of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Jason G,

We truly appreciate your kind words in regards to the meeting space, banquet service, and the hotel overall. I'm happy to see that your recent visit was not all business though, and you were able to take time and unwind and enjoy all that the city of Chicago has to offer.

It certainly was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and I sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon!

Stay well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Level Contributor
301 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Had a business meeting and was impressed that a property where I had NO status gave me a great room overlooking the water. Room was large, quiet, and had both a well stocked fridge and coffee maker with full bags of coffee, it cubes to,fit in a machine. The bathroom was large and well troweled with plush bath sheets. The computer rooms in the business center were enclosed for,privacy and each had its own printer. Fitness facilities were well equipped. Attitude was friendly and CAN DO, across the board. I did not eat in the restaurants, but the food served in meetings was actually tasty AND healthy.

Room Tip: Tell the clerk your preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelmavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear hotelmavin,

On behalf of the entire team here at The Westin Chicago River North I’d like to thank you for the kind words you’ve shared with us. We certainly do take pride in the fact that we try to make all our guests feel special, not only the ones with “status”. I certainly hope that the next time your travels bring you to Chicago we will be able to welcome you back and once again exceed your expectations!

Stay well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Travelled with a friend to Chicago for ladies trip. We checked into Westin Chicago River North for 3 nights. As requested we were given our room early upon arrival! I give the hotel plenty of points for this special favour!! It meant we could refresh ourselves before setting out on our first day's adventure.

We took the Wendella river boat cruise on architecture. We loved it! What a perfect way to see this magnificent city. It was very hot and we were glad to have a sun hat and sunscreen as we were in full sun for 2 hours. Our guide was interesting and explained lots of history about this city and the fantastic buildings. After the tour we walked the magnificent mile but didn't buy much. Ate lunch just off Michigan Street at Grand Luxe where lots of lady shoppers stop to re-nourish after shopping. We found the stores actually had tons of merchandise but each time we selected an item the store did not have our size! We returned to our hotel for a quick 20 minute nap, shower and change of clothes and then met a friend at RPM for dinner. This restaurant is near the hotel. Sexy environment there. Low lighting, disco music, young crowd and great Italian fare with homemade pasta! We had a super good meal. A little pricey but worth it.

Second day we walked the Loop. We loved the sculptures by Picasso, Miro, Calder en route! Then we visited the Impressionism exhibit at the Art Institute of Chicago. Could spend hours and days there. We spent time in Millenium park having fun at the Bean, in the flower gardens and just quietly absorbing some of the beauty here. Back to our hotel for quick nap, shower and off to dinner at Trattoria 10. Terrible meal. Started with poor service and ended with salty, heavy food and high price. To be fair the Maitre D' tried to help out with a free dessert and was quite attentive after we complained that no one took our order. Followed dinner with Broadway show Book of Mormon. Great cast with lots of action but be prepared for politically incorrect jokes!

Next day we walked in the rain north of the river to Contemporary Art. Enjoyed the art installations. lunch nearby at Cheesecake Factory. Reliably good salad and cheesecake with excellent service. Shared as the meal portions are large. Walked to Astor Street to see High Heffner's mansion. Back to our hotel for quick nap, shower and headed to Auditorium Theatre for the Chicago Dancing Festival. We found it by googling activities in Chicago and got free tickets. It was the highlight of our trip! A fabulous performance! Stopped at Target around 10:30 pm to pick up a snack. Make sure to browse the Internet for activities as there are tons of things going on free in Chicago.

Final day was a ride on the "L" to Quincey Station. It is fun to ride this elevated train and Quincey Station still has the wooden floorboards! Unfortunately the wait to ride up to the top deck at Willis Tower was 45 minutes early in the morning and we didn't have time. Walked back to our hotel and packed up.

Our trip to Chicago was perfect! This hotel is in the absolutely perfect location. We walked everywhere and never needed cabs or public transportation to get around d the city core. Our room was a standard double with 2 full luxurious beds that feel amazing and guarantee sweet dreams. The room decor is not especially pretty but is very functional and clean The bathroom has one sink, tub with shower, and is a good size. Amenities included soap, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. No Q-tips or cotton balls. Upon arrival only one bathrobe in this double room and 3 towels of each size instead of 4. I asked housekeeping first day for 4 of each and received this but only 3 each day after that request. Air conditioning even in the sweltering heat worked well.

I would gladly stay at this hotel again. Our concierge was always helpful with tidbits of Information.
The front desk staff checked us in quickly and were friendly as was the housekeeping staff. There is free wifi in the lobby although the staff couldn't figure out how to get my blackberry connected. My own trial and error finally got it going! Taxis were always available at the entrance.

The hotel is trying to be environmentally conscious so you have a choice of fresh daily linens, towels or not.

Chicago is a great city with friendly people and lots to do! It is busy so it is a good idea to reserve for dinner and theatre before you go on your trip. Thank you Westin for the great hospitality and early check in!!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with view of the river. Some rooms look right into a blues nightclub concr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fancyandfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear fancyandfree,

Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback regarding your recent Chicago visit with everyone, it sounds like you had quite the adventure! I'm truly delighted to hear that our hotel and our team were able to play a role in this experience. I'm also very happy to hear that you found our Heavenly Beds as well as other heavenly products so refreshing.

I hope that we will be welcoming you back for many more adventures like this most recent one!

Stay well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

On a college road trip with my teen daughter, so in a unique position to review 4 Westin properties over a 6 day period. The bar has been set REALLY high by the Westin Chicago River North, our first stop.

A caveat, we're using our Starwood SPG point for these hotels, so we were not expecting the best the properties had to offer - after all, it's a "free" room. That's where the Westin really blew us away. Upon hearing this was a mom/daughter trip, the efficient and cheerful front desk staff kindly upgraded us to a Club room so we could have snacks and a free continental breakfast. Nice! They also gave us a room with a view of the river, as it was my daughter's first time in the city. Very nice! We had a terrific time at the gym, with a drink at the lovely bar (wine for me, soda for the teen) afterwards. Relaxing and nice!

The heavenly bed was just that, and the room appointed beyond our expectation.Club breakfast was way more of a "full" than continental breakfast, and the easy 3 block walk to the L made our campus visits a snap.

Everyone - bellman, doorman, housekeeping - exceeded far beyond our expectations (for both a teen and a mom who travels a lot).

Worth every penny you would spend on a room here, and we highly recommend the property.

Thank you to the staff for creating a really lovely atmosphere and a super, super experience. We will be back (and not on points.) I'll never stay anyplace else in Chicago in the loop going forward.

Now, on to other Westin properties - stay tuned!

Room Tip: Ask about Club rooms - worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleBizMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear SeattleBizMom,

Saying that we are the only property in Chicago that you will return is quite the bold statement that I not only take to heart, but it also brings a smile to my face. It was truly our pleasure to be able to host you and your daughter during what I am sure will be quite the eventful trip. We look forward to welcoming both you and your daughter back soon for another renewing visit!

Stay well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Westin Chicago River North lives up to the name of the Westin and Starwood Hotels brand. Being centrally located and just steps away from State St, Michigan Avenue and some of the city's greatest restaurants, the Westin boasts a modest presence from the outside but once you set foot inside the property, you are welcomed by a calm, soothing ambience for which it's famously known. The lobby is spacious and you can relax and unwind at the Hana Lounge, or have a bite at Ember Grille or Kamehachi Sushi Bar - both well-known on the Chicago food scene.

Peter, the GM and Patricia M. went out of their way to make my stay memorable. It was my mother's birthday and they ensured that our requests were satisfied. It's such a comfort to know that you can always rely on someone to give their best and do their best. Speaking of the best, I want to give a special thanks to Diane and Lisa, two star concierges at the Westin Chicago, for their trustworthy recommendations, from restaurants to attractions and nightlife, and for helping me manage reservations. There is literally nothing they can't do!

Regarding the hotel, we stayed on the Starwood Preferred Guest floor and the view was spectacular (see picture). I personally got a chance to use their gym after a long day of work and was thoroughly impressed with how equipped and modernized it is.

It's rare to come by such perfection in the hospitality industry; hence, when you do, you come to appreciate it, and of course, to visit it again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Aidan N,

Patricia, myself, and the rest of the team here at The Westin Chicago River North truly appreciate your kind words and the feedback you’ve shared with us. We’re very proud to have Lisa and Diane here assisting our guests on a daily basis, and I will be sure to pass your kind words along to them. It was our pleasure to have you here and I’m delighted to hear that we were able to contribute to the memory of this special occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to Chicago!

Stay well,
Peter S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Property: The Westin Chicago River North
Address: 320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60654-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing