We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Chicago River North to your Saves list
The Westin Chicago River North
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   320 North Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #42 of 184 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quality hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I took our 3 kids (ages 10 / 8 / 6) to Chicago for 4 nights in late December and got a great deal on 2 rooms in the Westin. What a great hotel it is - super location, luxurious without being over-the-top or stuck up, quiet and very relaxing, lots of eating and drinking options on your doorstep. The rooms were v nice (we were upgraded to club rooms on 16th floor) and the staff were all extremely friendly. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Antony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    538
    135
    46
    35
See reviews for
222
380
107
728
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I was in Chicago for 3 months for a client engagement. While here, I stayed at multiple properties (Hilton, SPG, Marriott, InterCon). The best property of them all, hands down, was the Westin Chicago River North. While all of my hotels were great, this Westin stood out because of the quality, professionalism, and friendly service provided by the Westin team. Their service was by far the best I'd received while in Chicago. From the friendly morning doorman who always greeted me with a smile and secured cabs for me (Scott - Thank you!), to the night manager who tirelessly made sure that I was always taken care of (Brian - Thank you!), Westin exceeded expectations. Lastly, I want to thank Sam, the cheerful, inspirational trainer on staff who custom designed several workouts for me during my stay (Sam - Thank you!!). I look forward to my next assignment in Chicago, and my next visit to this excellent property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrekker101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My title sums it up..
Get a high floor bc the view is AWESOME...
Walking distance to so many places...you're right in the middle of it all!...anythign else is a quick cab ride.
Front desk very friendly...SPG gold upgrade easily...
Concierge was very helpful too.
Only reason they dont get 5 stars is bc it wasn't above and beyond (which is what I give 5 stars to)...it was your typical Westin service.
But of course the thing I rave the most about it...my Dog was super happy with getting to stay for free :--) ok ok..so maybe that was me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at the Westin from 01/07-01/09/2013 for a work meeting. The hotel is well situated within walking distance of Michigan Avenue and tons of great restaurants and shops in the area. From the doorman to the receptionist, the entire hotel staff were very courteous and welcoming. I was very pleased that even with arriving into the hotel at 10am, they were still able to accommodate me and get me into a room right away. I stayed in a king size room with a sofa and a chaise sofa. The room was very spacious and well kept. The bathroom was of good size and had a great rain-shower head. There is very affordable sushi "stand" in the bar/lobby area. Drinks are a little pricy, but everything in the area is. Meeting rooms were spacious and the meeting food was above average. All in all, a great place to stay or have a meeting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EyeLoveFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear EyeLoveFood,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay at The Westin Chicago River North.

I was pleased to hear we were able to accommodate your early arrival and that you thought our brand new showerheads were great. I am also glad you were able to take advantage of our great location and found our staff to be courteous and welcoming.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Chicago River North once again.

Be Well,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed at many Westin resorts through the years. This one was fine but not quite at the level we usually see. Rooms were small but adequately sized. Bed as always was great. But, on two occasions we ran out and/or low of hot water, once in the morning and again one evening. One towel bar was loose at one end and barely hanging on and wall paper was peeling up in one location in the bathroom. No deal breakers, just not at their usual high level. People were friendly and helpful as usual. The location of the hotel is great, just a couple blocks from a blue line stop (Clark/Lake) making it convenient for airport transportation if you are wise enough to avoid renting a car. No need. Also short walk to Michagan avenue and other downtown sites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JW/SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear JW/SB

I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities. We welcome both positive and constructive comments. I was of course concerned to learn of the areas which left you to feel disappointed. I have noted your comments regarding the lack of hot water on two occasions as well as the loose towel bar and peeling wallpaper in your bathroom. I can assure you that I will follow up with my team and would like to discuss with you further your experience during this past stay. At your convenience, please call the hotel at 312-744-1900 and ask for me directly.

Our team at The Westin Chicago River North makes every effort to deliver upon the high standards we have set for ourselves. At the Westin we just don’t promise a better hotel, but a better you. I would like to apologize if in any way we fell short in this respect. I do hope you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in our hotel.

Be Well,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We've stayed at most hotels in Chicago, but this tops them all.
Elegance, service, value, view and location will bring us back soon!
A request for a late check out was most graciously granted with an unexpected 4pm window. The Heavenly Bed and heavenly shower system complimented the comfortable furnishings. Loved the inviting lounge near the lobby. Excellent, friendly staff made our 35th anniversary celebration delightful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sagesavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I booked the New Year's package and upon check in I was upgraded to an executive room with a beautiful black marble bathroom as well as complimentary wi fi and an ipad (which was unexpected). In addition, I received an entire bottle of sparking wine (not a split) and access to the club lounge where they were serving canapes and wine that evening and for breakfast there was an assortment of fruit, pasteries and charcuterie along with orange juice, expresso and coffee.
Very impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMCTIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#18 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#55 of 184 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 4,370 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Property: The Westin Chicago River North
Address: 320 North Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing