We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Chicago River North
Ranked #60 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel had my top 4 requirements: QUIET--We were upgraded to the 17th floor and with the exception of 1 siren (1 minute) I heard absolutely no outside noise for our entire 3 night stay. COMFORTABLE BEDS: the beds are very comfortable and the linens fit the beds and are soft. CLEAN: the room was very clean. We were offered the option of opting out of daily housekeeping and we did so. FAST ELEVATORS: We never waited more than 30 seconds for an elevator--whether going up or down.

Room Tip: We chose a riverview room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank micnadkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,969)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Chicago River North
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,245 - 1,251 of 1,969 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding weekend. Rooms were large comfortable and spacious. Our's overlooked the river which was fun. Our family came from all over the country and enjoyed the accommodations. No problems

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sue517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Nice location BUT VERY Poor front end staff....makes you not ever to want to go back to this hotel.The doorman was the nicest person from this hotel we spoke with.He needs to be promoted to run the front end.The room itself was average so was disapointed and i felt the bathroon itself was dirty, not a clean feeling.its a nice location to walk to alot of different places around the downtown area.But will never come back to this hotel!

Room Tip: Do not let them put you in a corner room ...thats what we got!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and as the title states, there was nothing extraordinary about our stay. Great location along the Magnificent Mile, friendly staff. One downside was the in-suite internet was not included.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug9394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed for five days at the Westin Chicago River North and felt the staff made the trip perfect. I had made a mistake in our reservation, and we could have had a disaster. By chance we had Bryan Williams, the Assistant Front Desk Manager, check us in. He was so understanding and helpful, and definitely went out of his way to make everything right.

Our room was towards the end of the building so we had a magnificant view of the Chicago River and the unique architecture of the buildings down Wacker Ave. In addition, we were right across the street from the House of Blues and a very unique parking garage/apartment building. The room was immaculately clean, and really did have "heavenly beds" -- I slept great every night. We were on the 14th floor, but never had to wait long for an elevator to go either up or down.

All the staff was friendly and helpful -- and I mean from the housekeeping staff to the management. I especially loved my daily smile and conversations with James at the luggage assistance area, and the wonderful young woman at the desk who printed my boarding passes for me the night before we left when I couldn't get the computers/printers in the business center to cooperate. The concierge was very knowledgeable, and gave us good ideas to maximize our enjoyment of the city.

We loved the location. Walk down Dearborn Ave., and you are at the Goodman Theater in the theater district. A block away was Wacker Ave which you could take for a few blocks to Michigan Ave. to get tickets for all of the boat tours. We also found it an easy walk to the Magnificent Mile (with the John Hancock Building -- tour to the 100th floor), and even walked to the Navy Pier and Willis Tower without much effort. (The Willis tower is the Sears tower renamed.) There were many nice restaurants nearby, and a CVS close enough to pick up all the things we needed during our stay. (This CVS had a food section and wine/beer in addition to the regular drugstore fare.)

The food we had at the hotel was excellent, and the complimentary USA Today and Wall Street Journal were readily available at the desk. We did not pay for internet in our room, but instead spent time each day in the lobby checking our emails through the free wifi there. The nice big couches and chairs were very inviting, and the decor tastefully thought out. I also enjoyed an apple one afternoon in the lobby (hot apple cider was also available) -- a nice fall touch.

Thanks to the staff, this was a perfect trip. I will definitely book this Westin again when visiting Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask if a room at the far end of the building is available to get the view of the river. We stayed i...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great hotel with a wonderful bar/ restaurant with very good service! The room we got was nice and clean and the size was just right. The location was okay. If you want to be right where the action is, stay at the Westin right off the Magnificent Mile but don't get me wrong....this hotel is also close to a lot of wonderful restaurants and shops! Overall experience at this hotel was great!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Medici58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice hotel- clean rooms that comfortable but on the smaller side. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The nicest part is the location- perfect for strolling the Mile, shopping and great places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria_Corrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,440 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Address: 320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60654-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $167 - $807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing