We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Update since my last stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Chicago River North
Ranked #55 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Update since my last stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

I just returned from a 5 night stay while attending a conference at this hotel. I had also stayed here about a year ago so it gave me a chance to compare my two stays.
Like last year, the staff was pleasant and my room was clean.
I only have 2 complaints:
1. The hot water in the morning was sporadic. Getting blasts of cold water followed by warm water was not my idea of a good shower but it certainly woke me up.
2. Despite hangin the "Peace" sign on my door, the cleaning staff came in to my room twice. I appreciate the service but I didn't want it.
Except for the above 2 complaints, my overall stay was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank emdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    590
    147
    55
    40
See reviews for
257
434
115
780
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2008

We stayed here between Xmas & New Year in an Executive Floor Room. This room represented excellent value for money as we got a reasonable continental breakfast every morning, canapes from 5 - 7pm and soft drinks available all day until 9pm at night.

The room itself was modern and clean with a view of the Sears Tower and down the river. There were some small but quirky nice touches such as chocs at turndown with some kind of orange essential oil to aid sleep and on New years Eve, we came back in the afternoon to two bottles of water by the bed with two packets of Alka Seltzer (fortunately we didn't need them!).

The staff in Exec Lounge, Reception and Concierge were friendly, polite, professional and helpful without being over the top.

We ate in the Ember Grille (hotel restaurant) one night. The food was good but the portions were huge which was a bit offputting if you're a small eater. It was empty so the ambience was a bit weird but the service great.

The location of the hotel is great - 5 mins walk from the El, 10 - 15 mins walk from the Magnificent Mile, 15 mins walk from Sears Tower, 40mins walk from the Shedd Aquarium & Field Museum (you can get the El too but we wanted to walk through Millennium Park which is definitely worth a look).

There are lots of good places to eat close by, particularly if you like meat, however, if you are veggie, the choices are limited (fairly common in US). Bin 36 which is right next door to the hotel was so good we went twice and you MUST try a cheese flight which is fab as a starter. We also ate at an Italian called Maggianos which was 5 mins walk away and was also amazing. The atmosphere was good and the food even better. the portions are massive again so prob best to get a whole serving between 2 (Half serving's available too). Their home baked lemon cookies are lovely also. It's prob best to book as it was packed every night.

We would ddefinitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — The tasteful modern room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank PigsEar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

I've stayed at the Westin River North quite a bit. This hotel is very comfortable and quiet and in a great location. The hotel itself doesn't offer much in the way of dining, but the lobby lounge is large and comfortable. Within 1 block, you've got Harry Caray's, Sullivan's, and Bin 36 for drinking/dining. The Hotel Sax is across the street, and it has a new lounge, Crimson, that's worth a look. Within easy walking distance you've got excellent restaurants, including Frontera Grill. Also within relatively easy walking distance to Nordstrom and Michigan Ave. shopping.
Like most Westin hotels, the rooms are modern, attractive, and comfortable. Ask for a River view room. The concierge is usually very helpful, and they have running maps.

  • Liked — Hotel is very quiet but within easy walking distance of great shopping and eating
  • Disliked — Not much going on in the hotel itself
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PAOPAOFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2007

We booked this through priceline and were very happy with our stay. We came during a snowstorm and chicago is just beautiful and gorgeous at that time of the year. We explored chicago and saw the blues (Blue Chicago), the museums, Navy pier, etc. Hotel is luxury class for us and worth it!

  • Stayed February 2003
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lilacs109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2007

We booked this hotel through Priceline for $115 a night and it was worth every penny. We were greated by the friendly valet and the concierge was excellent and helpful as well. We checked into our room, asking for 2 double beds instead of a King, and was given a room on the Executive level. We weren't treated like a second class citizens even though we didn't book directly through the hotel. The individual who checked me in on Friday afternoon, called me by name on Sunday at check out time. I was floored that he remembered my name before I even said a word. Amazing! The room was clean and quiet. We never heard a peep all weekend. It almost felt like we were the only people on the floor. We would have liked to have been closer to North Michigan Avenue, but found the free trolly on Grand/Illinois to Navy Pier and other parts of the city very close. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — We had to leave
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Delandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2007

We found everything to be true that the last two reviewers stated. The concierges in particular were very helpful, printing out info on places outside the city to explore. In fact I noticed that everyone we met in Chicago seemed to be so very friendly and helpful. We were upgrade when we checked in (at 12:30 am) to a "Club Privleges" room on the 20th floor and so we got the free continental breakfast and snacks. Very good! Our room was spacious and up-to-date. Very sleek. We had a great view of the marina building and the river. We loved it! We got the stay 2 nights, get the third night free deal, so the cost for a 4 star was the same as other lesser hotels. We moved to the Comfort Inn and Suites after three nights since the cost of our room would jump to $400-$500 a night (convention demand). That was quite a let down! We loved the restaurant across the street from the Westin...Bin 36. It was really reasonable relative to dinner houses in Chicago. We splurged at Smith and Wollensky, which is also next to the Marina. It was just okay...but pretty pricey. The Westin River North is worth the splurge, if you're not accustomed to spending loads on a hotel. And if you can get a good price, definately book it!

  • Liked — The large room and the view.
  • Disliked — Very dark in the lobby because of lots of black granite. But it was sleek.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank happytracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
183 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

Stayed here for our anniversary. SPG Gold got us upgraded to"executive level" on the 23rd floor. Room was everything I would expect from Westin, clean, comfortable, modern, but not plushy. Room decor is simple, and plain but very nice. Bathroom was oversized and easy to work in.

There was a Mac on the desk pre-configured to open to a Chicago Travel site though you could surf without restriction, check email, run AIM, etc. I liked that!

Executive level offered free morning breakfast and afternoon snacks but drinks were expensive so it worked out even and that's fine.

Location was great. Easy walk to everything. It is next door to the famous Marina City condos and it is across from more steakhouses than you can shake a cow at!

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gnolect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Property: The Westin Chicago River North
Address: 320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60654-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing