We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware the bad reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Chicago River North
Ranked #69 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2007

i had to be in chicago for business and the whole city was booked out. Having left my booking till late, i found the prices were out of control!
i searched pricline and found two choices - a 2 star hotel and the westin north river - for the same price! i chose the westin, but i was very concerned because of the bad reviews i read - especially highlighting poor service the reviewers had received.
I can only say that those people must have picked the one day of the year that the service was less than exemplary.
The location was fantastic, the room excellent and the service peerless.
Upon checkin i was automatically upgrade and given complementary breakfast the concierge organised a tour for me and followed up to see if i enjoyed it. The only downside was that i found out that all Westins in North America are now non-smoking, but that too was a good thing as i had a great stay AND cut down at the same time.
i mentioned the poor reviews to the staff as i was leaving and told them how wrong the reviews were - they were really upset that some guests had not enjoyed the hotel.
While the price at the time was high (but still the same as a two star property was advertising) i will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,874 - 1,880 of 2,041 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2007

We had the pleasure of staying at the Westin for one night on 9/28/07 and the only negative we had was that we couldn't stay longer!

We got a great rate on their web site, a king club level room for the price of a regular king.

The club level gives you a larger room on a higher level (helps with street noise), simple breakfast, the exercise area and, I think, a happy hour. We only had time for breakfast, nothing else. The heavenly beds are just that, perfect night's sleep.

So many restaurants near by within walking distance. We choose Shaw's Crab House and had a nice early meal in their smoke free bar area.

Wandered into Harry Carry's (across the street) just after the Cubs win and the place was up for grabs, Fox news was there capturing the event. Fun!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sharla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel several times and agree with other reviews regarding the excellent location and quality of the hotel property. I have only two negative comments regarding my most recent stay (ending today): As far as breakfast in the hotel is concerned you have the option of a limited pastry and fruit buffet or ordering from the menu. My first morning there I ordered from the menu and had a nice breakfast (four moderately sized slices of French toast, two sausage links, hash browns, juice and coffee) but it cost me $30. One has to leave the hotel to find other options which, given the great location, isn't a problem..one just needs to know that this is the situation. Secondly, and more irritating, is the fact that the hotel has no readily available kiosk for advance online airline check-in and printing of boarding passes. There are several "booths" where one can access the internet 24-7 but this is charged to your credit card at 50 cents a minute. This morning I walked to a another nearby hotel where I easily found a kiosk and printed out my travel documents. Beyond these issues this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank upintheair-OMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Westin Chicago River North for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The concierge was very helpful, the room was very nice and as expected, the Heavenly Bed and Heavenly Shower were excellent. I can't comment on the quality of food from room service or the on-site restaurants because we never partook. This Westin is located in the heart of the River North area of Chicago, which is home to a number of fantastic restaurants. It's a foodie's paradise. The location was perfect for our sight-seeing, we were able to comfortably walk to the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, the Art Institute, and the Sears Tower. We will definitely stay there again the next time we're in Chicago.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Very much enjoyed a stay in a 16th floor river view room. Great views of pleasure boats along the river as well as sailboats in the lake to the south and east.

The room is great, what you'd expect from Westin. Decent size, comfortable layout. Great bedding, towels, and bath products. Did not have a separate tub and shower. Nice HD flat screen TV. Apple computer in the room.

The lobby is warm and comfortable. Excellent location. Had good service all around, I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliff_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007

OK, let me warn you--this is a bit of a rant.

I am a Starwood Platinum member who travels a lot. Typically I stay at W's, Westins and Sheratons. Geographically, this hotel is well-located and some of the rooms have nice views of the river. However , I digress . . .

Usually, when in Chicago, I stay at the W Lakeshore, but I tried out the Westin Chicago River North because of the high ratings on this site as well as its proximity to the Chicago office of the company I joined a couple of months ago. Upon arrival, the person who was checking me in at reception answered the phone and, after a moment, actually rolled his eyes (not to me in a wink-wink conspiratorial way, just in general pissed off) while he was speaking to the guest who was calling. (I figured my front desk friend was just having a bad day.) Later, I found out that my flustered friend only programmed one of my two cardkeys, so I had to go back to reception after going to dinner. Since I was there, I thought I would do the hotel a favor and mention the incident that occurred earlier, as I'd think most hotels would want their staff members to be polite when working the front desk. Thus, I waited for the on-duty front desk manager, William, to end a phone call he was on. The call seemed to go on for a bit, and it became apparent that the guest on the other end was clearly not happy with his/her accommodations for some reason.

I was pretty surprised when I heard William raise his voice to almost shouting level and say to the guest, "No, I will *not* reduce your rate!!!" His outrage was quite obvious to all of us waiting for service, as he flailed his free hand and scrunched up his face. Upon hanging up, he turned to his staff and said quite dramatically, "Send housekeeping to Room [insert room number here]." One of them asked "Is he checking out early?" William retorted "Yes!!!" Then, he turned to we waiting guests and said very pointedly and loudly "And if any of *you* are thinking about checking out early, let me just tell you there is not one room left in the city tonight!!!" I realized then where the guy who checked me in got his training. I told William that I found his behavior to be quite unprofessional, especially as a manager, and he said "How dare you--you don't even *know* me!" I replied "Of course I don't know you; it's merely my impression as a guest in this hotel who observed you shouting at someone on the phone from behind the front desk where everyone could see and hear you. And then to be brought into it!" He just rolled his eyes at me and crossed his arms and said something like "Whatever!"

I finally got back to my room and called Starwood Preferred Guest hoping I could switch hotels, but William was right about things being booked up. Suffice it to say, I will never stay at that hotel again, and I'll warn anyone who broaches the idea away from it.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank KimberlyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

My parents had gotten us a gift certificate for this hotel, so we needed to contact the hotel directly for reservations. It took four phone calls and speaking w/ the manager on duty to actually book the room. (Two of the phone calls I was on hold for 1/2 hour. The third call I was forwarded to catering.) We were charged for breakfast which was supposed to be included. Three phone calls later and it still isn't resolved. They couldn't find the gift certificate which I turned in at the front desk.

The room was fine, but the service is lousy. There are too many hotels in the city to have to put up w/ bad customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKARQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
W Chicago - Lakeshore
W Chicago - Lakeshore
#98 of 191 in Chicago
1,688 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Address: 320 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $152 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing