We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but crowded!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #57 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 11, 2006

The location of the Westin is great! Right on Michigan Avenue one block from Water Tower Place. However, the location must be a factor in the overcrowding of the lobby. My teenage daughter and I arrived on a Friday night around 5pm and it was chaos. We made it through check-in quite quickly and went up to what we thought was our room only to find someone else in there taking a shower. We promptly went back to reception and were assigned to another room. The room itself was quite nice with the heavenly bed, and marble bath. However, the halls were stark to the point of looking institutional, and the walls provided no noise insullation. We could hear doors slamming and people talking up and down the hall. Overall it was a nice hotel and the staff was courteous, but it was not outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KCKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,438 - 2,444 of 2,640 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
San Antonio TX
118
Reviewed March 20, 2006

The Westin Michigan Ave in Chicago has turned out to be the biggest disappointment and hassle in many, many years of travel both in the US and abroad. My wife and arrived on Saturday Mar 18th for an expected 5 day surgical conference for her. With an infant we expected the Westin to be a pleasant respite from work and a chance for our family to spend some quality time in Chicago. However, upon check-in at 8pm we were told that there were no rooms ready yet (that's right--8PM!) and we could expect about an hour wait. When I informed the management that we had a 2 month old that had traveled most of the day and needed fed/nursed we were given vouchers to the smoking friendly bar. Needless to say, eventually we convinced them that the bar was unacceptable and they obliged with room service (once we got into our room at 915 pm). Unfortunately the crib (which too had been long requested months ago) took another 45 minutes. Day 2 began ominously enough as the room remained uncleaned at 430pm and when we returned at 8pm we discovered one of our Ipods missing. One of the young managers eventually stepped in and helped us file a security incident and with luck before our trip ends the Ipod will be replaced, although they asked that we not file a police report. Nonethless, the drama continued and despite multiple contacts with management (Kerri eventually provided meals and massages) we came home the 4th day to discover that we were locked out of our room because "we thought you checked out" despite all of our clothes and baby gear still in the room. I could go on and on (such as the desk clerk telling me that they do not have a microwave that a guest could use to sterilize bottles or failing to charge our company credit card) but the point is that if you have a choice in Chicago AVOID the Westin like the plague. Aside from the manager (Kerri) making some effort the Westin is a poor organization run by mostly inept staff. I have been to many Westins and I am a SPG member but this as I overheard one guest say "is like a Motel 6." To make matters worse, even if the trip had been blemish free, the Westin comes across as a run-down hotel with big prices, a useless lobby, a fair to poor fitness center, a tiny spa and a clueless staff.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2006

My daughter and I stayed at the Westin on Michigan Avenue from March 7 to March 10. The service at the hotel was excellent. Everyone from the reservation specialist to the door man was pleasant and very helpful. We had a clean room with a beautiful view. The location was perfect. Step out the door for shopping, great restaurants, and theatre a short taxi ride away! Michigan Avenue is immaculate and a pleasure to stroll down. We would definitely stay at the Westin again!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Iamatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
18
Reviewed February 23, 2006

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip and it was a very nice experience. The king size heavenly bed was just as what it promised to be...the room was clean, and the bathroom was huge. Some downsides were: TV (reception not very good), the "heavenly bath" consisted only of 3 tiny bottles of shampoo/conditioner/lotion, and a bar of soap. Bathrobe was offered, but no slippers. I ordered dinner from room serivce, the wait time was 30 minutes but it came no more than 20 minutes after my call. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2006

This Westin has a great location--right on Chicago's 'magnificent mile' next to the John Hancock Center. The staff are friendly and helpful. But the only other great thing about this hotel is the Westin bed. The rooms and corridors have been given a slapdash renovation. The in-room dining menu is barely mediocre. Having recently stayed at a Hyatt the difference in standards was immediatly obvious. There are plenty of hotels in this vicintity--I'll look elsewhere next time. One other thing--I chose the Westin partly due to their new no-smoking policy, but this hotel has a smoking-allowed (and very smoky) restaurant on the premises with an entrance off the lobby, and stale smoke lingers in the elevators.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank robmacf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2006

I have always enjoyed staying at Westin hotels. The bed is always incredible. Unfortunately the bed was the only thing positive about the Westin Michigan Avenue. After sleeping in the Heavenly Bed the first night, we discovered a surprise hiding beside the bed in the form of a condom, most likely used. Obviously the housekeeping was not up to par. After we checked out, we realized that we had left a shirt in the room. Upon returning a few hours later, we discovered that the housekeeping had improved their process and already cleaned our room and thrown the shirt away. If you want a Westin in Chicago, I would stay at the Westin River North.

8  Thank danjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2006

My daughter and I have just returned from our first visit to Chicago having stayed in the Westin Michegan Avenue for 5 nights from 29 Dec through 3rd Jan '06. The Hotel certainly exceeded our expectations as we had read some unpleasant slow service reviews in advance but the price being withing our budget we still opted for the Westin Michegan Avenue. Be advised that the Restaurant is not operated by the Westin. There are numerous wonderful breakfast/dinner options within a few minutes. We even had a corner view over Lake Michegan whilst still facing The famous Cheesecake factory across the street.We are delighted to recommend this Hotel to anybody wishing for a great nights sleep in a very proffessionally run Hotel in the beat Chicago city centre location and yet one block from Lake Michegan for my morning walk.Conceierge, accommmodation, reception staff and duty manager Kerri are all that you would expect from a Westin. We will return and certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleenskillarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#36 of 192 in Chicago
3,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Address: 909 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-1935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#59 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $115 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing