We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #57 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 28, 2009

The Westin on Michigan Avenue is right in the heart of downtown and across from the John Hancock building.

Most Westins are above the fray and this is no exception.

Although, not lavishing, the lobby is modern and quaint. There is a Starbucks and a restaurant off the lobby but did not eat at the restaurant - ate at Gino's East which was fair) off the lobby. The staff was polite and helpful.

The rooms are nice size for big city hotel. HD TV, nice bathroom, great bed.

The price was under $120 for mid-week - amazing value. I would give this hotel an 4 1/2 star rating and is a great choice to see the city of Chicago.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterFNYNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,268 - 2,274 of 2,621 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2009

i always find westins dependable places to stay on business and i am thrilled that they now have recycling bins in the bedrooms. room service was fine, general service very professional and friendly, rooms of nice size and good decor. my one (huge) grouch with this place was the size of the gap under the bedroom door. huge! the noise that came in from the corridor was unabated and i am sure it is not to fire code. i rolled up a bathmat and a towel to wedge under the door to try to keep the noise out (did not work). front desk of no help when i pointed out that in a fire, this would make my room one huge death trap. my sleep was not so heavenly thinking about that.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

Ok, the location is remarkable but there are always places to stay in great locations. The rooms are great in every way. It is the staff that makes this particular Westin stand alone. Every single person you meet from the first moment you arrive to the moment you depart has an extaordinary and genuine kindness. We stay here often and one thing we have noticed over the years is that there is no employee turnover. That speaks volumes. Everyone is always willing to offer assistance or just ask what your plans are for the day. They have a great coctail bar, a wonderful restaurant and a comfortable lobby with wireless internet. You won't feel more welcomed anywhere like you will be here at the Westin Michigan Avenue.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

Our family of six (including 4 teenagers) stayed here for two nights while visiting Chicago (plus a side trip to Notre Dame, IN) for the first time. Loved the location for walking Michigan Ave, loads of shopping possibilities too. Reserved 2 rooms: 1 King, 1 with 2 doubles. Ended up with the King room being upgraded to a corner room overlooking Michigan Ave with 2 Kings plus a pullout or cot, bigger square footage. Very nice, comfortable, modern furnishings in both rooms. A good choice for our family because we valued location and comfort and also ended up with an interesting view.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlizBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

My stay at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago was a good one, I was there for a recent business trip. The service was very good and facilities were adequate. There are additional charges for small things such as internet in the room and even a $10 charge to receive a DHL package to my attention. The location is great as you will be close to Rush Street for a nice selection of restaurants and bars. Plus the shopping across the street at Bloomingdales.

I would recommend staying there, the hotel is a bit old but clean.
Make sure you ask not to be by the elevators, it is a bit noisy compared to other hotel elevators.

Overall the stay was a good one.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mtxausrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

I felt the hotel website was VERY misleading on this one.... It said newly renovated rooms and I really didn't feel that they were. Our room did have a flat screen tv, but otherwise the bathroom was average at best and didn't feel "new". There was even mold in the shower!

Our room was SO noisy the first the nite due to be a 'connecting' room that we asked to move. We were moved to a room that wasn't a connecting one, but right near the elevator. I could hear people all night in the hallway. Every single time someone would open or close a door, we could hear it. We were exhausted after our stay there to say the least. The website made it appear as a cool, hip, newly renovated Westin. Nope, didn't feel that at all.

The only pro i will offer this place is that it is well located on Michigan ave. But so are other a dozen other hotels. Stay somewhere else....

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hipcat36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed in the Michigan Avenure Westin hotel this past weekend and we were very happy with the hotel and staff. They were friendly and helpful. The doorman was kind and always willing to answer questions or give directions. He definitely knows his way around Chicago and Michigan Ave. We stayed one night and everything went very smoothly. We pulled up to the hotel in our car and the doorman directed us down the street and into their garage. We used valet parking for $49 per night and they were effiicient and helpful. We then went right in the side door into the hotel.

The check-in took a little longer than expected, but not a problem. They only had one person managing check in. We were given a room on the 14th floor and were told that we had the "Preferred Guest Members" floor because we belong to their awards program. That entitled us to 2 free bottles of water.

Upon arriving to our room, we found it extremely clean. The rooms are small and have the standard layout. The bathrooms are extremely small, but clean. They provide one robe per room and that is only on the Preferred Guest Members floor. The desk told me that they are no longer providing the robes. The bed was very comfortable, which is a trademark for the Westin. The walls to the hall are thin because you can hear every door slamming shut. We were also able to hear alot of traffic noise even on the 14th floor, which was surprising, but not a big deal.

The location is great, as other reviewers have reported. It is right next to the John Hancock Building and the Cheesecake Factory. We ate at the Cheesecake Factory and enjoyed it as always. The hotel Concierge can give you her business card for you to give to the restuarant and it entitles you to priority seating, which we did. We only waited 10 minutes, which is very quick on a Saturday night. We also went to the American Girl Museum which is just on the other side of the John Hancock Building, since the American Girl moved to it's new location in Water Tower Place. We ate at the American Girl Cafe which is such a nice meal, but pricey. I recommend the splurge ($21per person) though because it is so fun.

We would certainly stay at the Westin again. We have stayed at several hotels on Michigan Ave and it beats all of them for us.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernieCentralIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#35 of 192 in Chicago
3,605 reviews
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Address: 909 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-1935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $119 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing