We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #57 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Traveled for business. Great location and great service. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and spacious. It was very quiet, didn't hear any noise at all. Only stayed for one night but I will definitely stay again whenever I return to Chicago.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank MAPR12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Hi MAPR12,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are so glad that you had a restful evening and that you would like to return. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,273 - 1,279 of 2,621 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

Arrived at 3:30 expecting a smooth check-in but that wasn't possible...no idea when my room will be ready. Asked to speak with the manager. No contact. I sit in the lobby....like a train station here. Don't come to Chicago and stay here, that is if you expect service.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank baiano59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Hi baiano59,

We sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you have had. We appreciate your feedback so we can improve. Thank you for taking the time to share this very useful information.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very nice hotel. Great staff, great room (clean) and good shower pressure!! Right in the heart of the city. Pleant of thing to do and a few blocks away from the beautiful lake. Parking is $$$$. May look for other options on this.

Room Tip: Be prepared for parking sticker shock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lpc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Hi lpc48,

Thank you for the great feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the shower pressure, location, and overall experience. We are always happy to help you find alternative parking nearby, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel is just OK. Great location, steps from Michigan Ave without all the noise. If you're used to staying at the Starwood family of hotels or are familiar with the Westin, this one is not quite up to snuff. It was clean enough, but not in the details (mirrors, walls, carpet) and my room didn't have shampoo or conditioner, so I had to call down and wait for it to be delivered. I've stayed here a couple of times on trips to Chicago and my main thought is you can do better!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GoldiPhox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Hi Bambi0920,

Thank you for the helpful input. We apologize that the details of the hotel were not clean, and we have followed up with housekeeping to ensure that we pay closer attention in the future. We are scheduled to renovate rooms in January, so we sincerely hope you give us a second chance.

Thank you and be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was at this hotel for three nights for business. It is in a great location and close to lots of restaurants and shopping.
The rooms were standard. Nothing special. You are in downtown Chicago so not a great view of anything other than another building.
One thing I was disappointed with was their green program. I stayed at another Starwood hotel in New Orleans and when I participated at night, I would receive a voucher for Starbucks under the door. I tried to participate at this hotel but didn't receive anything for either night. Maybe it was missed, but I didn't get my room cleaned or any additional towels, so I don't think that was the case.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Loves2TravelMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Hi Loves2TravelMP,

Thank you for the helpful feedback. We apologize that the green choice program did not work out smoothly, and we ahve followed up with our staff to review the system. We're glad you enjoyed the location, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is the perfect Location on Michigan Avenue. Right across the street from John Handcock Bld, Macy's all the great shopping. We were SPG Gold members so was upgraded to a corner room which was very large, perfect with kids. Also 2 blocks from Lake Michigan, great running paths along the beach! The Hotel is working to get a club lounge which is the only reason I did not rate as excellent.

Room Tip: Corner room was very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmdm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Hi kmdm22,

Thank you for the wonderful comments! We are delighted that you have enjoyed your experience and that you took advantage of our location. We look forward to welcoming you back and hopefully you will return after we finish our club lounge.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice hotel. Great. Location, one block to water tower place. Couple blocks walk to beach. There are bar and restaurants in walking distance. Hotel has a nice bar with good food. Rooms were nice size and very clean. The service was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundance366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Hi sundance366,

Thank you for the kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed our guest services and location. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#35 of 192 in Chicago
3,605 reviews
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Address: 909 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-1935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $119 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing