We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Starwood Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #56 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel is just OK. Great location, steps from Michigan Ave without all the noise. If you're used to staying at the Starwood family of hotels or are familiar with the Westin, this one is not quite up to snuff. It was clean enough, but not in the details (mirrors, walls, carpet) and my room didn't have shampoo or conditioner, so I had to call down and wait for it to be delivered. I've stayed here a couple of times on trips to Chicago and my main thought is you can do better!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GoldiPhox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Hi Bambi0920,

Thank you for the helpful input. We apologize that the details of the hotel were not clean, and we have followed up with housekeeping to ensure that we pay closer attention in the future. We are scheduled to renovate rooms in January, so we sincerely hope you give us a second chance.

Thank you and be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,568)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,226 - 1,232 of 2,570 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was at this hotel for three nights for business. It is in a great location and close to lots of restaurants and shopping.
The rooms were standard. Nothing special. You are in downtown Chicago so not a great view of anything other than another building.
One thing I was disappointed with was their green program. I stayed at another Starwood hotel in New Orleans and when I participated at night, I would receive a voucher for Starbucks under the door. I tried to participate at this hotel but didn't receive anything for either night. Maybe it was missed, but I didn't get my room cleaned or any additional towels, so I don't think that was the case.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Loves2TravelMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Hi Loves2TravelMP,

Thank you for the helpful feedback. We apologize that the green choice program did not work out smoothly, and we ahve followed up with our staff to review the system. We're glad you enjoyed the location, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is the perfect Location on Michigan Avenue. Right across the street from John Handcock Bld, Macy's all the great shopping. We were SPG Gold members so was upgraded to a corner room which was very large, perfect with kids. Also 2 blocks from Lake Michigan, great running paths along the beach! The Hotel is working to get a club lounge which is the only reason I did not rate as excellent.

Room Tip: Corner room was very large
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmdm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Hi kmdm22,

Thank you for the wonderful comments! We are delighted that you have enjoyed your experience and that you took advantage of our location. We look forward to welcoming you back and hopefully you will return after we finish our club lounge.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice hotel. Great. Location, one block to water tower place. Couple blocks walk to beach. There are bar and restaurants in walking distance. Hotel has a nice bar with good food. Rooms were nice size and very clean. The service was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundance366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Hi sundance366,

Thank you for the kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed our guest services and location. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The Westin was a nice hotel, with a good location, agreat view and superior service. I selected the hotel because they were the sponsor hotel for a race I was running. The whole staff was kind and supportive to runners. The highlight of the stay though was Chris the running concierge. He was in town just for the race and there as a Weston staff member to specifically support runners. It is rare to meet someone so perfectly suited for their job. He gave us advice on everything from race day transportation to running tips. He answered our zillion questions only a group of four girls could come up with and was even there to great us with a smile a 5 am when we got a nervous too early start to the morning. I will seek out sponsor hotels for every race in the future, especially if they are Westins. Good hire Westin.
For the majority of people in Chicago not for a marathon or half...this is just one example of their excellent service.
May I advise you get the deluxe lake view...worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Hi GAWhit,

Thank you for the great feedback! We are so glad that you chose to stay with us during the Rock 'N' Roll Half Marathon and that Chris was such a big help to you. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Thank you to the wonderful staff! I was in town caring for a sick relative when he passed away, the staff was kind enough to accommodate us by keeping me in the same room and extending the stay when the hotel was sold out one night. Thank you again to the front desk staff and management.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Hello P K,

Thank you for the great comments. Please accept our sincerest sympathies for your loss. We are glad that we were able to make things easier on you, and we hope to welcome you back under better circumstances.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Returning to the Westin as a Preferred Guest for a symposium was perfected with just a few appreciated perks: the complimentary bottled water, the free Wi-Fi and the late check-out. Not having to rush between sessions to check-out and drag the luggage about was priceless.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Madonna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Hi Madonna L,

Thank you for the delightful feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to share your enjoyable trip to Chicago and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 191 in Chicago
3,493 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#14 of 191 in Chicago
1,657 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Address: 909 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-1935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $148 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing