We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Nearby Hotels
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$643
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$318
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$217
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$675
$550
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$288
$252
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$371
$360
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$474
$437
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$342
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$343
$324
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,724)
Filter reviews
2,724 results
Traveler rating
1,292
756
392
170
114
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,292
756
392
170
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichigan avenueheavenly bedgreat locationhancock buildingthe magnificent milethe north endwater tower placerush streetshopping and restaurantsgreat shoppinglake viewmag milefew blocksnavy piervalet parkingkiraspg
Filter
Updating list...
1,548 - 1,553 of 2,724 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Westin on Michigan Avenue is in the perfect location. The service we received was very good and representative of the high expectations of the Westin brand. However, the room condition was poor and only worth the price for the amazing view of Michigan Ave and the Hancock Center Christmas Tree. Our "Heavenly Bed" was hard as were the pillows. The room was small, hot and we couldn't regulate the temperature. The "heavenly bath" was fine, but not special.

Overall, I love the service at Westin, but this one needs updating and a return to the promise of the "heavenly" features. The service keeps me coming back, but hope for an update.

Room Tip: Ask for a Michigan Ave view. It's beautiful.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v4auCarrollton_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great Hotel Location, easy walking around the city for shopping. Nice Lobby. However I feel many other properties in the city have more amenities to offer. Great recommendations on late night dining. Rooms could use an update, but the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supertier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Hi Supertier,

Thank you for the helpful feedback on our hotel. We appreciate your input and are glad that you had an overall nice time. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Be well,
Krisitn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Came in for after Christmas shopping trip for my Family. Reserved room on 3rd party site, and got exactly what I asked for. ( Room with a Michigan Ave view) At check in Carli made sure we recieved what we paid for. Many people using these 3rd party sites don't realize the hotel they are booking through is not obligated to give them a specific type of room, once thier "block" of rooms have been filled. Carli was excellent along with all the other hotel staff we encountered while on the property. Could these rooms require a minor updating? Sure, but I will be staying here again on our next Chicago trip.

Room Tip: Michigan Avenue view looking South.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Hi Doug C,

Thank you for sharing your great experience. We appreciate you mentioning how helpful Carli was in particular and we look forward to having you back in the future.

Thank you and be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

You cannot beat the location of this Westin! Next to Hancock Tower. Restaurants and clubs with great foods and music all easy walking distance. And some of the nicest staff working at the hotel.

Stayed there first time this weekend for a family weekender, and had a great stay. The building has been there awhile and could use some renovating, but all the things that matter functioned perfectly: fast elevators, great beds, warm water with good pressure, responsive thermostat, and accommodating staff.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank GigiHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Hi Gigiho,

Thank you for the helpful comments about your recent experience. We are delighted that you would like to come back, and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Every year at Christmas time we spend the weekend in the city with a group of friends. The Westin Michigan Ave is always so accommodating! From the room arrangements to help with planning the details for the weekend, the staff is great! Douglas the concierge is especially knowledgeable and helpful!!! Of course, the location can't be beat! The rooms are updated nicely and there's always the Heavenly Bed!!!
Highly recommend!!!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Missy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hi TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We appreciate you sharing your holiday story and for mentioning Douglas! We have passed along your comments to the rest of the team and they are thrilled. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thank you and be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews