We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing; Shouldn't have Westin Name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #54 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
262 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Disappointing; Shouldn't have Westin Name”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I rated this hotel as a 2 but that is a relative rating. There wasn't anything really bad about the hotel but it certainly isn't what I expect from a Westin branded hotel. If the price and brand were economy level I would have given it a 3 or 4.

The Good:

> Location, it is in a beautiful area of Chicago and the Metra is close by. Lots of great restaurant, shopping, site seeing choices. (It is directly accross from the Hancock building).
>The lobby and public areas are pleasant and well maintained. Not opulent or overly impressive but good.

The Bad:

> I stayed in one of the Starwood Preferred floors presumably a somewhat upgraded experience from the basic rooms. The room was very vanilla and the decor was more of what I expect at an economy class hotel. There were holes in the walls, not large but there and the vents were not cleaned very well. (See photos)
> Service was spotty. Some staff were very polite, helpful and pleasant others were rushed, curt or somewhat snobish.

Overall I was very disappointed in my experience and I am unlikely to return here on future visits as there are some clearly better choices at a similar price point in the same area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Miusa,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent experience. We apologize for the several disappointments you've listed, and we will take your feedback to help us improve in those areas. We appreciate you taking the time to share this and we hope to impress you in the future.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    680
    369
    159
    104
See reviews for
540
515
119
826
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Everett
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our first trip to Chicago from the west coast and what a great place to stay. Great location, friendly, prompt and accommodating service from the front door to housekeeping. Our needs were well taken care of always.....we needed just decaf coffee in our room and a special trip was made to get us plenty. Always, lots of folks around to greet and help us. Right on the Magnificent Mile, across from the John Hancock Bldg. We walked all over town from our location and also took the Hop On/Hop Off Tour farther out....could catch it right across the street. We were there for my son's wedding and had many guests with us. All were well taken care of. We will return for sure!
Lori from Seattle

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Lori W!

Thank you for the lovely feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip and congratulations to your son. We hope to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable visit.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great location next to as much shopping as you want to do. Bed was Heavenly like expected at a Westin. A lot of great restaurants are walking distance from the hotel. Front desk staff was great and helpful, but the bellman and doormen were awful. They would watch us walk into the hotel and not even greet us or hold the door open. When we arrived and departing they watched us carry our luggage and didn't offer to assist or open the door. I understand this is a union property but you still need to make sure you are taking care of your guests and welcoming to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bullfrog112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi bullfrog112,

Thank you for the helpful feedback on your recent experience! We sincerely apologize that you were not properly assisted by our doormen and we appreciate you taking the time to bring this to our attention. We will do our best to improve our service in the future, and we hope you visit us again soon!

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I've stayed at the Westin, Michigan Avenue, many times over the years. Always a friendly, clean atmosphere. The beds are very comfortable. The staff is always helpful. The concierge gave us some bad walking directions on one occasion.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello Mark K,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We are delighted that you have stayed with us multiple times, and we hope to continue to be your Chicago home.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, OH
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was a little leery of this hotel after reading some of the reviews, but we had no issues. We were in town for a celebration being held at a downtown restaurant, and this was a great location for the event as well as some shopping. They put us on a Preferred Guest floor and the room was fine, beds were comfortable, bathroom was fairly large with nice amenities. We did not valet park and used the garage in the John Hancock building, saving us about $20.

The lobby and hallways are nothing fancy, and if you want a more upscale experience there are some five-star hotels nearby, but we got a good rate at the Westin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohio-Brown-Eyed-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Ohio-Brown-Eyed-Girl,

Thank you for sharing your great experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and felt comfortable in our rooms. We hope to have you back again for another enjoyable visit.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver, PA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Back to Chicago for another meeting, and back to the Westin. Once again, this hotel met all of my expectations, both as a traveler, and as a member of this business meeting.

The room was excellent. There was a minor issue with the room which the service express helped me with. Staff was very friendly and professional.

The business meeting ran smoothly with ample room for our group. The main room was comfortable and well-lit. The breakout rooms were excellent. The provided meals and snacks were high-quality. Again, the staff was friendly and accomodating.

Another Great Stay at this very well-run Westin!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mockx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi mockx3,

Thank you for the excellent feedback! We are delighted that you have had such a great time and we hope to welcome you back again for another enjoyable business trip. We appreciate you taking the time to share your positivity!

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had a great business meeting here! The room was very comfortable and the food was great! Rooms were also comfortable and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful! The attached valet parking was very convenient. The hotel is right in the middle of where you want to be in downtown Chicago!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcannon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi mcannon2013,

Thank you for the positive feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your business meeting with us and that you felt at home. You appreciate your recognition of our staff, and we can't wait to see you again.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#75 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Property: The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Address: 909 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-1935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing