We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #55 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is in the middle of downtown and right next to the John Hancock building. It is a easy walk to Millennium Park just down Michigan avenue. The lobby was open and welcome and the staff very friendly. The conference rooms and food during our business meetings were better than what I have had at many other venues. I would love to bring my husband back here for a personal weekend away. Grab a drink at the Grill downstairs and watch a game - we even saw Troy Aikman while we were there:)

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out onto Michigan avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXMARTINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear TXMARTINS,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your business trip. We really hope you visit us again soon for a fun trip with your husband! Please feel free to contact our concierge by calling 312-943-7200 if you have any special requests or questions about your leisure visit.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,528 - 1,534 of 2,615 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

This facility has a fantastic location, but the staff was relatively clueless at check-in, when we should have received a gift bag for a wedding. The clerk offered us a courtesy for free in-room wifi, but did not explain that when we logged on, it would show a charge for the service, and then the charge would be credited at check-out. We did not receive a key for the in-room fridge. The staff did not provide an under-the-door bill early on the morning of check-out for review; instead, everyone had to line up in the lobby for check out. The king size room was just barely large enough for two people. The bathroom was small but organized pretty efficiently. The shower head and hand shower attachment were lovely. Water pressure was consistently good. We had a two line phone, but only one phone next to the bed, and none at the desk or next to the toilet. The in-closet safe was very shallow, and would not fit a laptop. Our view was of opposite walls of a mechanical courtyard. The workout facility was highly adequate. The bed was very comfortable. There were poor environmental controls. The room was humid and had few air changes. SIgnage throughout the facility was confusing and inaccurate. The decor of the elevator corridors was inconsistent with the decor of the elevators' interiors. The place had all of the possibilities of a perfect stay, but just about everything fell short.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a real view. Ask for the key to the fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raclev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Hi raclev,

Thank you for the very helpful feedback on our hotel. We appreciate the information on ways we can improve, and we have copied all department managers to an email asking to follow up on the things you’ve listed. We hope to impress you more in the future.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My young daughter and I stayed here, and we loved it. The lobby was beautiful, the room was very nice and clean, and the location was great - just across from the American Girl store. The bathroom was a little on the small side, but that was not a problem for us, and it too was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly both upon check-in and check-out. The only thing that would have made our stay a little better was minor and that is if they'd had Disney Channel or Nickelodeon on their list of cable channels. We would definitely recommend the Westin Michigan Avenue to our family and friends!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serendipity7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Serendipity7777,

Thank you for the lovely comments about your recent experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location near American Girl and that you felt comfortable in our rooms. We apologize for the lack of the channels you wanted, and we will propose them to management for future changes. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back some day in the future!

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is perfect location for walking to Northwestern Medical Center as well as shops and restaurants of Michigan Ave. Parking is pricey at $67/night but includes in/out privileges. There is a pseudo-Starbucks on site but with a very limited menu (no soy milk, no forks!). The bathrooms and rooms are a bit outdated but still comfortable, and met my needs for a mid-week business stay. Special thank you to Melissa Moss, business travel sales manager, for assisting with making my reservation and making me feel welcome at the Westin. I look forward to returning!

Room Tip: The elevators are quiet so a room near the elevator it isn't a problem at all.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Kim0nTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi Kim0nTheGo,

Thank you for the helpful feedback! We appreciate you recognizing Melissa, and we are glad that you found our location convenient. We hope to improve on the Cafe a la Carte shop in the future, and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We only stayed one night. Our experience was great. We would definitely go back. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Only thing that bothered me were the pillows, but since our stay I found out that I could have requested a firmer one. That's the only negative thing I can think of.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank restedmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear restedmom,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience. We are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay and that you took advantage of our wonderful location. We apologize that you didn't like the pillow that was given, and we hope to accommodate you better next time!

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I went to Chicgo to see some baseball with my wife. We were able to see the Cubs and the White Sox and really enjoyed the time we spent at the hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We enjoyed the shopping and the restaurants in the area and hope to return soon. The great bed, internet and TV rounded out the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi Russ G,

Thank you sharing your great experience! We are so glad that you and your wife enjoyed your visit and that you were able to catch both of Chicago's baseball teams in action! We look forward to welcoming you two back for another fun vacation.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Westin recently for a convention. Prior to booking, I called and asked if they were near the convention center, they informed me that they were but when I got there, I had to take a cab back and forth. This was disappointing. The overall hotel was clean but it really lacked the brand presence, that I usually admire in Westins. There wasn't any level of service that stood out, it was just there, which I guess is okay but being exceptional is what makes people want to come back and remain loyal.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Hello Joseph A,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit. We apologize for the miscommunication on our location to the convention center, and we will use your input to improve.

Thank you and be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#35 of 192 in Chicago
3,594 reviews
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#75 of 192 in Chicago
5,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Address: 909 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-1935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $123 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing