We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #53 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Other than the great location across from the Water Tower place, I would say that there is not much to recommend this hotel. It seems a bit soulless and bland. The décor is very boring (beige, beige) and the bathroom needs serious upgrading. The bed was quite comfortable, however, so I slept well. The Westin is an okay option but there are just so many better hotels in Chicago. There is a small café in the lobby serving Starbucks which is nice if it is cold outside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello DiscerningTraveler99 ,

Thank you for the helpful feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed our location and Heavenly Bed. However, I would like to apologize for the fact that you were not particularly impressed with our decor and room conditions. I would like to make it up to you the next time you are in Chicago by placing you in an upgraded room and offering you a VIP amenity to ensure that your stay is special and something to recommend to others. I have messaged you with my direct email for your convenience.

Thank you and be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,131
    679
    369
    159
    104
See reviews for
540
513
118
823
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel staff at check-in from the doorman to the check-in staff were very good. The Grill Rest. at the Hotel service and food were outstanding. The room was very nice. I would stay there again.
Parking was good. It is a great location to visit Chicago.

Room Tip: view of Michigan ave is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaz4021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Chaz4021,

Thank you for the excellent comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed our friendly staff, delicious food, and comfortable rooms. We can't wait to welcome you back next time.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Westin is in a great location and overall a great place to stay. Directly across from the Hancock and Cheesecake Factory. Plenty of places to eat, drink and explore right near by. In a very short walk to the south, Water Tower Place provides shopping and some very good and reasonably priced places to eat.

The Westin staff was very courteous and helpful. We were married the morning we arrived and they arranged a check-in hours early for us, and twice supplied us with complementary champagne.

Enjoyed the use of a decent fitness facility with plenty of treadmills and other machines, and also a fair array of free weights.

The hotel itself is very nice. Modern decor - well kept. The restaurant at the base of the hotel - The Grill on the Alley - is a nice place to enjoy a beer and watch a game. I had a late dinner at the bar and watched the Bulls playoff game while my wife wasn't feeling well. Nice place - though pretty expensive. I had a great salmon dish.

I would've gave an "excellent" overall rating for this hotel, but in the main foyer near the concierge desk there was a distinct odor of vomit. Yeah, pretty unmistakable. We couldn't understand how this could be overlooked. Maybe they just couldn't figure out where some overindulgent late night party person had chosen to blow chunks. The bathroom in our room could have been cleaner also.

Still a very good place to stay. Would be excellent with more attention to overall cleanliness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keirjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello Keirjn,

Thank you for the kind review on our staff, location, and restaurant options. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us on you wedding day. We hope you come back to visit in the future to bring back those memories. We apologize about the lack of cleanliness in the lobby and in your bathroom, and we hope to make it up to you next time. Thanks again, and congratulations on your marriage.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our stay was seamless from arrival to departure over our week long stay. Only hiccup before arrival was that I had sent an email to book a town car to the email address on the Westin reservation and there was no response but when I called the concierge to see if it had been booked she dealt with the situation smoothly. Chicago is a friendly city and the staff of the Westin were too. Restaurant was good and our waiter remembered our breakfast preferences from day to day, lunch was also great and good value. The hotel is close to many restaurants so there is also plenty of choice in the neighbourhood. The hotel is surrounded by shops and so very convenient for shopping as well. Room was typical Westin but in good shape and ours had a nice view of Lake Michigan. I would stay there again and preferred it to the other Westin in Chicago at North River.

Room Tip: Paying a little extra for a lake view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Ross Y,

Thank you for the kind feedback! We are very proud that you found our staff to be friendly and our location to be convenient. It's great that the concierge was able to help you on the fly like that, and we certainly appreciate your positive comments. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel location is great, next to Water Tower Plaza, across from the 95th floor, blocks from the lake. The staff was nice, but the room was dirty. The bathroom had a moldy smell, the nightstand next to the bed had a glass top on it and under it was what looked like mold (or just grimy dirt) the phone had dirt spots. I stay at Westins all the time and this room was not what I am accustomed to. It could have just been this room, everything else was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Kathy K,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our great location, but we're also sincerely sorry that the room didn't impress you. We want all of our guests to feel comfortable in their rooms, so we truly appreciate this information. If you do give us a second chance, please feel free to reach out to me by calling the hotel directly 312-943-7200. Simply ask to be connected to my extension, and I will try my best to accommodate you better next time.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel is right on Michigan and Delaware Ave, across the street from the Hancock Tower. Michigan Ave is a blend of 5th and Park Ave's in NYC but much cleaner and nicer. The hotel staff are really pleasant and friendly. The room was very large, bathroom spotless, heavenly bed is always the best. They have valet parking but it's $59.00 per-day. Visit the Hancock Tower restaurant on the 95th floor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joefrombrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi Joefrombrooklyn,

Thank you for your kind review. It's great that you found our staff to be so delightful and that you enjoyed our prime location on the magnificent mile. I'm glad that you took comfort in our heavenly bed and that you found everything around you to be clean and cozy. We can't wait to welcome you back!

Thank you and be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I took my 2 granddaughters to Chicago and took the American Girl package at the Westin on Michigan Avenue. It was so much fun. Yes, it is pricey but it was worth it. The hotel is located across the street from the John Hancock building and 1 block from the American Girl store (you can see the store from the hotel) so it is sooo convenient. The package comes with a travel doll bed with a silk cover and an embroidered pillow for one girl. I paid extra for the additional bed. They have turn down service for the girl and her doll and you get to watch an American Girl movie. In the evening, your girl and her doll get an ice cream sundae. They brought REAL ice cream (a scoop) for the doll! A table was delivered to the room for the girls to sit on the bed and eat their sundaes. The sundae was 3 scoops of ice cream. There were bowl of whipped cream, sprinkles, M & M's, blueberries, and nuts to add to the sundae. Before bed, we dialed a number and listened to a bedtime story. The girls also got a coupon for 50% off in the restaurant and 10% off in the café. It was a great experience and the girls will never forget it!

Room Tip: The higher floor facing the John Hancock building was really nice. You could see the city lights and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello ilwag,

Thank you for the positive feedback! I'm delighted that you enjoyed our American Girl Doll Package. I'm sure the girls and their dolls were adorable with their sundaes and bed time stories. Thank you for choosing us to create such a memorable experience, and I hope you will visit us again soon.

Thank you, and be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 187 in Chicago
3,223 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Property: The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Address: 909 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-1935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing