We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #53 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“My favorite hotel in Chicago”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I travel often to Chicago, and this is my first-choice business hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The location is spectacular for its wide variety of restaurants within walking distance, and proximity for outside jogging up and down the Navy Pear and Oak Beach. The service is warm and personal. After staying at the property on several occasions, I started to get very wonderful recognition, all the way from the registration counter, to the concierge, and the bellman. Management also does a wonderful job in looking for repeat / regular customers.

I highly recommend this hotel to both business and leisure guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello Ken A,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to share! We absolutely love having you as part of our family. We look forward to welcoming back to your home away from home!

Thank You,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,170
    703
    377
    161
    107
See reviews for
562
525
123
849
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is an older hotel which has gone through a number of renovations. For the most part the renovations are cleanly designed with not a lot of fussiness in decor or layout - and that's good. The room was typical Westin, the signature Heavenly Bed is there, but wasn't all that impressive - perhaps we're just too used to them now. The Heavenly Bath, was not so much. The bathroom was large, with marble floors - sounds good, except it's winter and the floor is pretty cold. Sadly the water pressure on the 21st floor was almost non-existent, especially if you wanted hot water in the shower. The designer shower head didn't have much more than a listless trickle of warm water - definitely not hot.

Hotel restaurant - The Grill, was pricey for what you got, and the automatic 18% gratuity (regardless of number of guests dining) was a surprise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello SFworldtraveller,

Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate your input, and we hope that you will give us another try. Safe travels!

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you want to lay awake and listen to the doors of slamming and your neighbors being amorous, this is the hotel for you. And since I was staying as part of a conference, I discovered that my experience wasn't unique, either. Perhaps there was a baby-making conference in town, too?

The Westin used to be known for its comfortable beds, showers, and other nice touches, but it seems they've moved away from this. While the bed was fine, it wasn't notable, and the shower felt like I was caught in a rainstorm. Staff was nice, but most times, the wait at the front desk was at least six people deep.

I'd stay here again if I received a great rate; otherwise, I'd go somewhere else.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank latte4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi Latte4Me,

Thank your for staying with us! We are very sorry to hear about the problems you experienced during your stay. We definitely appreciate you taking the time to let us know what we can do to improve. We would love the opportunity to provide you with a comforting accomodation in which you can relax. Please let us know the next time you are coming to Chicago and we will make sure you have the relaxing stay that you deserve! We look forward to welcoming you again please feel free to reach out to us for assistance with a reservation at 01030FrontOffice@westin.com.

Thank You,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Do not stay here if you are coming with a group. We recieved a pink slip from security at 5 pm just after checking in saying that we were too loud. At midnight as we sat in the room and talked, security came back threatening to kick us out. We were talking at a normal volume and not even moving. Actually the security woke up the people in our room that were sleeping. The walls must be paper thin? Don't waste your money on this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJDrew34439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear DJDrew34439,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay here at the Westin Michigan Avenue. On behalf of the team and myself please accept our sincerest apology. It is very disappointing to hear that your experience was less than perfect. We do appreciate feedback and always seek to improve, please feel free to contact us at 01030FrontOffice@westin.com to discuss your stay in detail. Upon your next return to Chicago we hope you stay at the Westin Michigan Avenue and give us the opportunity to amaze you with the Westin experience you know and deserve!

Thank You,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is in a great location if you want to stay on Michigan avenue. Hotel is right across the street from water tower shopping and within a close walk to lots of other great spots! Very Convient on cold Chicago days! The concierge is very helpful as well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mferrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi MFerrel,

Thank you for your great feedback on our prime location and concierge. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here for a couple days while on business. Location is great, price was $105 a night on Priceline. Staff overall was very professional. Lobby bar is nice and staff was friendly. Rooms are clean and have everything I needed for a business trip...will be in need of some updating I suspect in the next couple years as getting a bit dated compared to other places I've stayed but overall was fine for what we needed and the wifi worked good. Again the location was perfect for downtown, within 5 blocks we found some great restaurants, bars, shops, etc. My rating of "Average" is because overall nothing other than the location really stood out but would certainly consider staying there again.

Room Tip: I was in room 1240 which I believe was south facing and my view was of the base of the Hancock Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi tjjhdad,

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad that you enjoyed our prime location, and we do hope you will visit us again soon.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Westin at Michigan Avenue has the clear advantage of being located in one of the best parts of the city (go to the Hancock Observatory, just opposite!).

The lobby is very nice, but the lines at check-in can get confusing and there could be more personnel around. Rooms are spacious and clean. Not very modern but not too bad either. You have to pay for wireless.

Breakfast at The Grill is good.

Overall, good business choice for Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grenelle90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi grenelle90,

Thank you for your input. We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed our location and the hotel in general. We hope you will return again either on business or pleasure.

Thanks and be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,599 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 190 in Chicago
3,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#70 of 190 in Chicago
4,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Property: The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Address: 909 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-1935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing