We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #54 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“don't stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Do not stay here if you are coming with a group. We recieved a pink slip from security at 5 pm just after checking in saying that we were too loud. At midnight as we sat in the room and talked, security came back threatening to kick us out. We were talking at a normal volume and not even moving. Actually the security woke up the people in our room that were sleeping. The walls must be paper thin? Don't waste your money on this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJDrew34439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear DJDrew34439,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay here at the Westin Michigan Avenue. On behalf of the team and myself please accept our sincerest apology. It is very disappointing to hear that your experience was less than perfect. We do appreciate feedback and always seek to improve, please feel free to contact us at 01030FrontOffice@westin.com to discuss your stay in detail. Upon your next return to Chicago we hope you stay at the Westin Michigan Avenue and give us the opportunity to amaze you with the Westin experience you know and deserve!

Thank You,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    680
    369
    159
    104
See reviews for
540
515
119
826
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is in a great location if you want to stay on Michigan avenue. Hotel is right across the street from water tower shopping and within a close walk to lots of other great spots! Very Convient on cold Chicago days! The concierge is very helpful as well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mferrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi MFerrel,

Thank you for your great feedback on our prime location and concierge. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here for a couple days while on business. Location is great, price was $105 a night on Priceline. Staff overall was very professional. Lobby bar is nice and staff was friendly. Rooms are clean and have everything I needed for a business trip...will be in need of some updating I suspect in the next couple years as getting a bit dated compared to other places I've stayed but overall was fine for what we needed and the wifi worked good. Again the location was perfect for downtown, within 5 blocks we found some great restaurants, bars, shops, etc. My rating of "Average" is because overall nothing other than the location really stood out but would certainly consider staying there again.

Room Tip: I was in room 1240 which I believe was south facing and my view was of the base of the Hancock Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi tjjhdad,

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad that you enjoyed our prime location, and we do hope you will visit us again soon.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Westin at Michigan Avenue has the clear advantage of being located in one of the best parts of the city (go to the Hancock Observatory, just opposite!).

The lobby is very nice, but the lines at check-in can get confusing and there could be more personnel around. Rooms are spacious and clean. Not very modern but not too bad either. You have to pay for wireless.

Breakfast at The Grill is good.

Overall, good business choice for Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grenelle90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi grenelle90,

Thank you for your input. We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed our location and the hotel in general. We hope you will return again either on business or pleasure.

Thanks and be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny South Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Many visitors would like the location. It allows you to stay in a part of Chicago dominated by $120 doll-loving tourists and generic chains that have little to do with the diversity of the city.

Check-In was mechanical. This hotel happily offers to let you clean your own room because it 'saves the environment' or water or something (nothing to do with saving them maid salaries). I'll pass thanks. The marble-swathed lobby is nothing special save the extremely busy concierge table, bar, coffee stand, and occasional parade of mini-skirt clad ladies ready to cut loose after a hard day of meetings in the gigantic ballroom upstairs.

The room seemed noticeably larger than typical for the price point, but that was where the fun stopped. This was the first time I have ever heard voices from the floor Above Me. This was in addition to thunderous footsteps from above, hallway conversations, doors slamming, laughing people in the room to the right, talking people in the room to the left, and outside noise through the windows. Make it stop!

The toilet was broken and needed a handle jiggle to stop running. The sheets seemed rough for some reason. Not sure if it was the detergent or thread-count or what.

On the plus side, the Starbucks in-room coffee service was delicious and mixed perfectly with Crown. We ordered a roll-away and it came right up. The room was pretty spotless too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamHWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hello WilliamHWilliam,

Thank you for your honest feedback. We apologize for your dissatisfaction with your last stay, and we take your comments very seriously. In planning renovations, we will certainly consider your feedback.

Thank you and be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel was nice, in a great location. Very clean and modern. But it had a lack of entertainment. Probably due to the location, but something to do would have been nice. Staff was great. i wouldnt bring kids due to the lack of entertainment.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationbug84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hello vacationbug84,

Thank you for your feedback. We have taken your comments to heart and have created a Westin VIK program: Very Important Kid. This is a weekend program that provides wii, board games, arts and crafts, and other forms of entertainment for kids in our lobby. It is located right next to our concierge. If you do return, we have plenty more to do for your kids.

Thank you and be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Took the family to Chicago over the Thanksgiving holidays to experience the city and Michigan Ave shopping on Black Friday. The location of the hotel was ideal. The hotel, exercise facility and room were very nice. My wife and I enjoyed the restaurant / bar downstairs. It served good food and wine. I would also say the staff was quick and actionable.

My only drawback on the hotel is the check-in / out was horrible. Both processes took way too long.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capt_Lucky_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi Capt_Lucky_Dog,

Thank you for your great comment. We are so glad that you took advantage of our excellent location for shopping and seeing the city. We want to apologize for our check in and out processes. We do not want our guests to feel like they take too long, and we are currently switching to a quick and easy practice as per Starwood Brand.

Thank you and be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#75 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Property: The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Address: 909 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-1935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing