We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like A Gingerbread House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #62 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Many visitors would like the location. It allows you to stay in a part of Chicago dominated by $120 doll-loving tourists and generic chains that have little to do with the diversity of the city.

Check-In was mechanical. This hotel happily offers to let you clean your own room because it 'saves the environment' or water or something (nothing to do with saving them maid salaries). I'll pass thanks. The marble-swathed lobby is nothing special save the extremely busy concierge table, bar, coffee stand, and occasional parade of mini-skirt clad ladies ready to cut loose after a hard day of meetings in the gigantic ballroom upstairs.

The room seemed noticeably larger than typical for the price point, but that was where the fun stopped. This was the first time I have ever heard voices from the floor Above Me. This was in addition to thunderous footsteps from above, hallway conversations, doors slamming, laughing people in the room to the right, talking people in the room to the left, and outside noise through the windows. Make it stop!

The toilet was broken and needed a handle jiggle to stop running. The sheets seemed rough for some reason. Not sure if it was the detergent or thread-count or what.

On the plus side, the Starbucks in-room coffee service was delicious and mixed perfectly with Crown. We ordered a roll-away and it came right up. The room was pretty spotless too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamHWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Hello WilliamHWilliam,

Thank you for your honest feedback. We apologize for your dissatisfaction with your last stay, and we take your comments very seriously. In planning renovations, we will certainly consider your feedback.

Thank you and be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,793 - 1,799 of 2,655 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel was nice, in a great location. Very clean and modern. But it had a lack of entertainment. Probably due to the location, but something to do would have been nice. Staff was great. i wouldnt bring kids due to the lack of entertainment.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationbug84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Hello vacationbug84,

Thank you for your feedback. We have taken your comments to heart and have created a Westin VIK program: Very Important Kid. This is a weekend program that provides wii, board games, arts and crafts, and other forms of entertainment for kids in our lobby. It is located right next to our concierge. If you do return, we have plenty more to do for your kids.

Thank you and be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Took the family to Chicago over the Thanksgiving holidays to experience the city and Michigan Ave shopping on Black Friday. The location of the hotel was ideal. The hotel, exercise facility and room were very nice. My wife and I enjoyed the restaurant / bar downstairs. It served good food and wine. I would also say the staff was quick and actionable.

My only drawback on the hotel is the check-in / out was horrible. Both processes took way too long.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capt_Lucky_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Hi Capt_Lucky_Dog,

Thank you for your great comment. We are so glad that you took advantage of our excellent location for shopping and seeing the city. We want to apologize for our check in and out processes. We do not want our guests to feel like they take too long, and we are currently switching to a quick and easy practice as per Starwood Brand.

Thank you and be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a wonderful location for shopping and seeing all that is happening on Michigan Ave.We were there because of special rates,and we were treated like that.Placed on the 4th floor,near the spa. The room smelled nice,and the spa is nice however massages are in the room only.
The room was not cleaned until I called and asked. Apparently this is a water saving thing,I read this after I called..now feel very guilty.
However everyone we spoke to was very helpful.
A really mixed review.
I

Room Tip: only saw the 4th floor and it was fine,ask for a room with a view on a higher level.Wish we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breadflwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Hello breadflwr,

Thank you for your honest review. We are thankful that you enjoyed our location, and we apologize that we did not meet your standards in other departments. We appreciate your feedback and will take these comments into consideration for future improvements.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We had two rooms during our 3 day, 2 night stay. Both rooms were located on the preferred guest floor as we were part of the Starwood rewards program. The hotel is right on the corner of Michigan Avenue, convenient for shopping & finding a great pizza pie! We had complimentary wifi access & bottled water in our room. The staff was friendly & able to handle any questions.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Hi jadziekan,

Thank you for your outstanding review! We are delighted that you took advantage of our location and that you saw the value in our hotel. We can't wait until you visit us again soon.

Be well,
Kristin

PS: Nice picture of our lobby! Looking good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Can't say enough about how great the location is. We were able to walk to shop, dine and entertainment. We want to come back in the summer to take advantage of the lake shore as well (which is a quick stroll from the hotel). Rooms were large and well appointed and the bed was extremely comfortable. Staff was very polite and professional.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vilija K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Vilija K,
Thank you so much for letting us know how your stay was. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our location and our Heavenly Bed! Also, thank you for recognizing our polite professional team. We look forward to welcoming you back this summer!
Warm regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My buddy and I went out to Chicago for a baseball stadium tour, and this is where we stayed in Chicago. Considering we were out exploring most of our time in the city, this was a perfect home base. The beds were unbelievably comfortable, and the prices were right. We actually ran into one of the Miami Marlins players waiting for an elevator after the game that day, just to add to the story telling. The location of the hotel makes everything easy to access. Chicago is an amazing city!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ten_mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Hi en_mitch,

Thanks for taking the time to share your awesome experience! We appreciate your feedback, and we can't wait until you have the chance to visit us again.

Be well,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#37 of 192 in Chicago
3,687 reviews
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Address: 909 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-1935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#59 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $130 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing