We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated, felt like a 1990s time warp” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #56 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dated, felt like a 1990s time warp”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We chose the location for its' accessibility to shopping. The location would get 5 stars. The rooms are something left to be desired. The bathrooms were very dated, clean but not what you would expect for a Westin in the heart of any city centre. The furniture was old and chipped. The rate was $279 per night, I would expect a lot more for that money. The gym was new and clean with several ellipticlas and treadmills and is open 24 hours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxwellGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hello Maxwell girl,

Thank you for the honest feedback. We will certainly take your comments into consideration when preparing for a future renovation.

Thanks and be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    673
    369
    159
    104
See reviews for
533
511
117
815
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here recently on a business trip and although the location was excellent, I thought it was over priced. The rooms were pretty small, and although they put a lot of money into their lobby, it could be so much more. The restaurant is dark and outdated, there is no lobby bar and I found the service at the front desk below average.

For a Westin, I have to say I was dissapointed based on what I have experienced in the past.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi Katie K,

Thank you for the honest feedback. We will take your comments into consideration to improve for the future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights during a recent business trip. The hotel is located in an excellent location along the Magnificent Mile and is within walking distance to many restaurants, shops and shopping malls, and attractions such as Cloud Gate, Millennium Park, John Hancock Observatory, Michigan Avenue Bridge, Lookingglass Theatre etc. It is also a short ride away from the financial district in Chicago. The hotel has a modern and well-equipped gym that overlooks the John Hancock Observatory.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello Haneva,

Thank you for the great review! We are glad that you enjoyed our prime location, and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

What a great location this hotel is!
It's a nice propery overall -
the gym is nice with a view of the city.
Rooms are typical Westin standard.
Would definitely stay here again-
didn't have time for breakfast in the restaurant but friends had said in the past they had to allow a fair amount of time because service was a little slow. I did room service for breakfast which was quick!

Room Tip: the rooms facing michigan ave are geat - i happened to been in a room ending in 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romred4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
dear romred4,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write about your experience. Glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast from In Room Dining, the WestinWORKOUT room and our Michigan Avenue location! We would love to welcome you back again soon so you can enjoy more city views and try the Grill restaurant.
Best regards,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
291 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

After I had booked this hotel and paid in advanced I looked at Tripadvisor and was scared to death!!! I was pleasantly surprised. Of course it's a great location!!!! I thought everyone was nice. Doorman, front desk, valet!! Everyone had complained how rude the staff was, but when you treat people nice, the odds are they will be nice back!!! The in house restaurant, The Grill on the Alley, was good as well. Had eaten at one in Ft Lauderdale and their food is outstanding.
My only complaint would be the drab rooms. They are clean, comfortable and a big flat screen tv, but a bit of color or wall art would definitely liven them up. Overall this was a good experience and I would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TCM327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi TCM327,

Thank you for your kind comment! We appreciate you sharing your great experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back next time you're in Chicago!

Be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Okay, I admit we were there for the Chicago marathon, but can you maybe step it up a notch with cleaning when you know you have a full house? No continental breakfast, great bed, great pillows and nice coffee in the morning for a four star hotel. Not bad, but not amazing and I am not a hard soul to please.

Room Tip: You'd better shop around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi Jennifer P,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your honesty, and we have taken your comments into careful consideration to improve our hotel.

Thanks and be well,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I just returned from a long weekend here. Having stayed at other Starwood hotels and being a Platinum member, I had certain expectations. None were met. The rooms were poorly appointed, the Preferred Floor is considered an upgrade and since I turned in points for this stay, I wasn't upgraded. No lounge for breakfast or business, drab colors, very depressing, staff stiff and unfriendly. Nasty smell in the lobby. I almost felt the service level was completely non-existent.

Room Tip: If you want amenities and are a preferred guest, don't turn in points for your stay, because if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinmichave, Manager at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Frank M,
We are so sorry to hear we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay. This is not a typical Westin Michigan Avenue experience. We hope to welcome you back soon so we can demonstrate service that will leave you feeling well cared for.
Be well,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,161 reviews
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#74 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,167 reviews
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Property: The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Address: 909 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-1935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing