We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Luxury Boutique Hotel”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago area
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Luxury Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The Talbott is a great place to stay. It is a luxury boutique in the heart of the Gold Coast, easily within walking distance of Michigan Avenue, State Street, and Navy Pier. The staff is exceptionally friendly. They provide twenty-four-hour room service, concierge service, and the front desk staff and waitstaff are even cheerful late at night. The rooms are modern, well decorated, and comfortable. They feature flat-screen sattelite televisions, ihome alarm clocks, and many other conveniences one would expect from a luxury hotel, without the sameness of the chains.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,240
    465
    77
    31
    17
See reviews for
577
1,230
124
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hell, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed at the Talbott Hotel for a long girls weekend, to see the Kid Rock/Bon Jovi concert and to shop, of course. After a taxi ride from Union Station, in which the driver had no clue where the hotel was - even tho we gave him directions, address and cross street, we arrived and were very pleased with the location of the hotel.
The bell hops, doormen and desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful - They seemed genuinely happy to see us, like we were long lost friends. The rooms were large ( i'm comparing to the W Lakeshore), comfortable beds and furniture, great flat screen TV, large bathrooms with Aveda products and robes. We did use the concierge service a few times, they were really helpful in giving us train information to Soldier Field, gave us safety tips and secured us dinner reservations at Frontera Grill, last minute.
We did have the $15 breakfast credit at Bice Bistro, while that was a good deal - the food was just ok. We actually didn't eat there the last morning, we wanted a more substantial breakfast.
All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel! Great neighborhood - little grocery store Potash, around the corner on State Street and several good restaurants on Clark street within easy walking distance. Corner Bakery is a few blocks away on Rush street, as is some off Michigan Ave shopping - Lululemon, diesel, Gap 1969, Barnes and Noble, etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We had an awesome stay at the Talbott. Our plane got in at 8am so when we dropped our bags off at the hotel they informed us that as soon as a room was available they would call us. They called soon after and let us in our room three hours before our scheduled check-in time. Our room was beautiful and throughout our whole stay the staff was super friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillianmarie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This hotel is by far the most impressive I have ever stayed in - I only stay at 4star properties so I consider that to be a great achievement.
From the minute I got there, the bellman introduced himself and gave me a quick overview of the hotel layout as he led me to the front desk. There is a fireplace on the left that looked oh so comfortable and a cute restaurant downstairs. The concierge was very pleasant and detailed. She gave me some suggestions about what to do nearby, and informed me that they give free daily passes to work out at an Equinox down the block which I thought was cool. She checked me in efficiently and gave me my room keys.
My room was so cozy, I did not want to leave!! The decor was a modern take on what I think an inn should be. The room had a sensor that turned on the lights when you walk in and off when you walked out.. There was an oversized king bed(with a canopy) that felt like heaven to be in. There is even a housekeeping indicator on the wall to alert housekeeping if you need service. I ordered room service from the restaurant downstairs and when they got upstairs - ding dong - there is a doorbell on my door!! I had no idea and i thought it was awesome - I hate knocking sounds!!
My only complaint is about their internet connection(i only used the wireless connection). It was free, and they have multiple networks available but none of them seemed to have a strong signal.
Overall, I loved it! I would live there if I could!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellows55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Loved this hotel. You are welcomed at every turn by the staff and you feel it is sincere.
The concierges are beyond helpful, they were superb.
We had just travelled from Alaska and it was wonderful to feel a little luxury again.
I would stay there in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dollyddraws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

The Talbott is a small historic hotel much in the style of the grand old wood-panelled hotel but just on a smaller scale. The service we received at the front desk and from the concierge was excellent, and they allowed us to check in significantly early. It is very conveniently located, close to Michigan Ave dining and shopping and 2 blocks from the Red Line train stop at Chicago Ave. I stayed there for $154/night, which was a phenomenal rate. Although the hotel has been updated, it does show signs of age, with suboptimal climate control, a small bathroom, and a mild musty smell. The hairdryer was also substandard for a hotel of this calibre. Otherwise, we greatly enjoyed our stay here for its value and old-school charm.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dncatl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

My sister and I stayed at the Talbott Hotel recently. It's a lovely boutique hotel (member of the Small Luxury Hotel collection) located 2 blocks from the Magnificent Mile in Chicago. The staff is very friendly/welcoming. The room (double queen) was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was clean (double sinks--nice touch). Large Frette bath sheets--very nice touch. Large (42" flat screen) TV was great. Absolutely no view from our room, but it was quiet. Only 2 (small) complaints: drinking glasses had lipstick smudges (they were promptly replaced with clean glasses) and they need softer toilet tissue. Housekeeping was otherwise great. I would definitely return to the Talbott Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing