We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelllent Choice in Prime Neighborhood”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #13 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excelllent Choice in Prime Neighborhood”
Reviewed May 2, 2006

We stayed for 5 nights in late April. The hotel lobby is very attractive; the guest rooms well above average. We opted for a 'superior corner room', and were happy, but I peeked in several standard rooms and they would have been just as good. All rooms I saw have 2 comfortable easy chairs. Bathrooms are large, clean and well appointed. The entire staff was pleasant. It was an intimatre experience. After a day the staff knew us. Two excellent concierges (Gene & Stephanie), one too officious (Tim). Great location near the lake, very serene neighborhood, but only 2 blocks from Mich. Ave. It is expensive ($310 per night including tax). As in every hotel in every country the light bulbs are too low in wattage (why??). Have breakfast at Cafe Tempo 1 block north of the hotel. I can't beleive the firstt very negative review. We had no problem with noise or intrusive staff. Construction in a hotel can ruin an experience. Maybe that was it.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,168
    442
    72
    30
    16
See reviews for
546
1,189
119
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 3, 2006

Well located hotel, between State and Michigan Ave in the Maginicent Mile. We had a corner suite. Very clean with a King size bed, a seating area with two armchairs.Plenty of space.
Good size bathroom with plenty of towels, lotions, hair dryer and the use of a bath robe. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. About the only complaint would be that the continental buffet runs until 11:00am, at 1 minute to 11:00 it disappears and even though you have arrived prior to 11, forget it.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 26, 2006

I called the Talbott for price and avaiability in april 05 for a stay in Chicago in Oct 05. I was asked for my credit card # and assured I would not be charged until I made the actual reservation. I was then charged in Oct for one days stay {$241.00} on my credit card. no reservation was made, and no contact with the hotel to show any transaction had occurred. Now I am still working with my credit card to have this removed. never stayed at hotel, just a bad transaction.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2006

The Talbott feels very warm and glows with history. The dark wood walls and fireplaces in the lobby are such a transition stepping in off the bustling street. It's like you've arrived Grandma's -- cozy, comforting, and OOOOOHHHHH the food. I can't remember the name of the dish, but try the oriental salad with steak. Wow, delicious!!
The staff is friendlier than any I've encountered. During my stay, the staff were donning these new communication devices that allowed them to reach anyone in the hotel. They said they were using them to improve their customer service. Well, it worked!! Responsive, friendly, VERY attentive. I'll stay there again and again and again.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank maryjane1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2006

we had a great, very large 1 bedroom suite, for very reasonable rate. Service was good but they don't valet after certain hours and you have to park your car yourself. Otherwise, folks were very helpful.

Helpful?
6 Thank noagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2006

I recently stayed at the Talbott Hotel (just off Rush and 1.5 blocks from the "Magnificent Mile"). This is a small boutique hotel in a terrific location within easy walking distance of the John Hancock Center and shopping on Michigan Avenue.

From the moment I exited the cab, I was superbly treated by the entire staff, from the doorman to the bartender to the concierge. The property is beautifully appointed, exceedingly clean and well maintained. At half the price of the nearby Four Seasons, this property is a bargain.

I have a new favorite hotel in Chicago!

Helpful?
8 Thank QueenBUScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2006

We really liked this hotel. It was very clean and tidy, the room was quite spacious, and the staff was friendly. The location was extremely convenient to shopping and good dining. The free cookies and coffee in the afternoon were excellent. The bed was great, the bathroom was modern and nice. My only complaint was that the concierge seemed a bit overwhelmed all the time, but when you finally could talk to them they were helpful. It's pricey, but a bargain compared to its neighbors and typical big-city prices.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cusewordsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,306 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,048 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 189 in Chicago
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing