We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talbott is tops”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #9 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto
15
Reviewed April 3, 2006

Well located hotel, between State and Michigan Ave in the Maginicent Mile. We had a corner suite. Very clean with a King size bed, a seating area with two armchairs.Plenty of space.
Good size bathroom with plenty of towels, lotions, hair dryer and the use of a bath robe. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. About the only complaint would be that the continental buffet runs until 11:00am, at 1 minute to 11:00 it disappears and even though you have arrived prior to 11, forget it.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,839 - 2,845 of 3,004 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
113
Reviewed February 26, 2006

I called the Talbott for price and avaiability in april 05 for a stay in Chicago in Oct 05. I was asked for my credit card # and assured I would not be charged until I made the actual reservation. I was then charged in Oct for one days stay {$241.00} on my credit card. no reservation was made, and no contact with the hotel to show any transaction had occurred. Now I am still working with my credit card to have this removed. never stayed at hotel, just a bad transaction.

Stayed: October 2005
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2006

The Talbott feels very warm and glows with history. The dark wood walls and fireplaces in the lobby are such a transition stepping in off the bustling street. It's like you've arrived Grandma's -- cozy, comforting, and OOOOOHHHHH the food. I can't remember the name of the dish, but try the oriental salad with steak. Wow, delicious!!
The staff is friendlier than any I've encountered. During my stay, the staff were donning these new communication devices that allowed them to reach anyone in the hotel. They said they were using them to improve their customer service. Well, it worked!! Responsive, friendly, VERY attentive. I'll stay there again and again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank maryjane1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2006

we had a great, very large 1 bedroom suite, for very reasonable rate. Service was good but they don't valet after certain hours and you have to park your car yourself. Otherwise, folks were very helpful.

6  Thank noagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2006

I recently stayed at the Talbott Hotel (just off Rush and 1.5 blocks from the "Magnificent Mile"). This is a small boutique hotel in a terrific location within easy walking distance of the John Hancock Center and shopping on Michigan Avenue.

From the moment I exited the cab, I was superbly treated by the entire staff, from the doorman to the bartender to the concierge. The property is beautifully appointed, exceedingly clean and well maintained. At half the price of the nearby Four Seasons, this property is a bargain.

I have a new favorite hotel in Chicago!

8  Thank QueenBUScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2006

We really liked this hotel. It was very clean and tidy, the room was quite spacious, and the staff was friendly. The location was extremely convenient to shopping and good dining. The free cookies and coffee in the afternoon were excellent. The bed was great, the bathroom was modern and nice. My only complaint was that the concierge seemed a bit overwhelmed all the time, but when you finally could talk to them they were helpful. It's pricey, but a bargain compared to its neighbors and typical big-city prices.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Cusewordsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Detroit, MI
118
Reviewed October 16, 2005

Great front desk staff, the rest of the experience was dreadful. The room service staff have to be among the most poorly trained I have ever encountered. We had to ask FOUR times for the staff not to slam the supply closet, adjacent to our room (almost in the room itself). They do these random room checks for the minibar, as if the entire budget hinged on the sale of a can of $9 peanuts. The roomservice is also equipped with walkie-talkies as loud as megaphones. If you like sleeping in on your vacation, don't stay here. Also, the hotel was under massive construction, a detail that was conveniently excluded from the website. SO we had to take the elevator with construction workers just about every time we used it. No discount because of the work and noise. I'd rather sleep in a box in the alley.

Stayed: March 2005
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611-4938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $136 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chicago’s historic Gold Coast district, the newly renovated Talbott Hotel, ranked “best of” by many travel sites, is for those who appreciate the impeccable, the refined, and the clever, all delivered with an elegant wit. Steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue, our hospitality is for guests who savor the finer things but are not interested in formality: Timeless modern architecture, well-appointed but comfortable decor, and exceptional personalized customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing