We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristine & pleasant”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pristine & pleasant”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Great boutique hotel close to everything worth seeing in the Michigan Ave. area. Rooms are comfortable & well appointed. Staff couldn't be more gracious, welcoming & helpful. Sidewalk café is moderately priced and great site for people watching. Good value in prime location. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NYerinexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,241
    466
    77
    31
    17
See reviews for
577
1,231
124
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was our second time staying at this wonderful Hotel. We had been previously a month earlier visiting premature twins at Childrens Hosp NICU. When we checked in for our second visit, the receptionist said " Hello Miss Smith, how are the twins?" This really sums up why we love this place. The service and the people. They are all helpful. The concierge knows everything. From best restaurants, to where to have a cake baked on short notice. The rooms are clean, and bedding sumptuous. It is also located just a short walk to the best shopping anywhere! We will always stay here!

Room Tip: The 12 th floor was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berdi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for a week, part business and part fun. The entire time we were there, not one staff member failed to greet us with a smile, NOT ONE! The Talbott is simply a great hotel that is well maintained, clean and obviously well managed. I just simply have never seen such consistently good service, even at the other hotel that is right down the street from the Talbott. Hands down my new favorite hotel in Chicago, I will never stay anywhere else as long as they have a room to sell me!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOLAguy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I was here for one night with a group of friends. I was sorry to leave. If you are a Chicagoan and want a city weekend or a tourist visiting the sights, this is a great location. You are in the middle of a very safe and happening neighborhood, but the hotel is on a quiet and lovely residential street. You are walking distance to Michigan Ave., the Gold Coast, River North and about a mile to Millenium Park and the Loop. This boutique hotel has large, clean well appointed rooms, a welcoming quiet lobby, a restaurant/bar, and outstanding service. Thank you Kurtis and Dwayne for all your attention with a smile. I would go back in a minute.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, possibly with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helene999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Three nights for a conference. Was upgraded to a suite....can we say Texas size! Luxury, but maintains elegant charm of yesterday. Arrived one evening from dinner to a fire in the lobby seating area. Lovely! Every staffer was gracious, helpful and cheerful. Will return!! Not a stranger to Chicago and have stayed in many hotels there. The Talbott is #1 in my book.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Absolutely love this hotel. Rooms are large, very nice. The location is perfect, just a couple blocks from Michigan Avenue. The staff is fantastic, so friendly. I will not stay anywhere else when visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed in The Talbott for a weekend with my family. The hotel was recommended to us by friends who have stayed there on many occasions. The location is great, the rates were in line with the accommodations, and the room was beautiful and super clean. Beds were very, very comfy.
On my first morning in the hotel, I went for a great run along the lake and returned early. While waiting for the elevator, the Concierge (Gene) got my attention and asked (using my name) "isn't it your wife's birthday today?" I was shocked to be recognized and called by name, but even more shocked that he knew my wife's birthday (especially because it had slipped my mind). After agreeing with him, he mentioned that the hotel wanted to send a gift up. My chin dropped to the ground.
Ten minutes later, a tray of gourmet nuts and candy with a birthday balloon were delivered to my wife in the room. She was so surprised and impressed.
Later, I went down to thank Gene. He smiled and waved it off with professional grace and simply stated "that's what we do."
We had an awesome weekend and could not have enjoyed ourselves more. Everything about Chicago is great, but this hotel is something special. Thank you, Gene!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamAntinoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing