We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #13 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed there with my teenage son for two nights for the Chicago Blackhawks playoff home opener in April. Old time charm and character with modern updated rooms and above all outstanding customer service throughout, starting with Dwayne at the door all the way to the back office staff. When there was some confusion about the final bill as we booked online they charged us less than the actual room rate despite my offer to pay the full rate "to make up for any inconvenience". Great location and large, quiet room. Thank you Talbott for playing a part in a perfect father son hockey weekend. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wheels1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,164
    442
    71
    30
    16
See reviews for
546
1,186
119
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I took a short vacation to Chicago and stumbled on this hotel accidentally. It was part of an airfare-hotel package booked through Orbitz at an unbelievably low price. Upon arrival we were greeted like family and treated like royalty. The hotel upgraded our room without asking, quickly issued us our keys and transported our baggage to the room in matter of minutes. The room was way beyond our expectations. I have stayed in some five star hotels in Asia that do not compare. The bed was extremely comfortable and the decor was refined and tasteful. The concierge service was wonderful as well. They were able to get us into a sold-out restaurant for Easter Sunday brunch-- no problems. The location is great as well just off the Miracle Mile. Overall, I would recommend this hotel unconditionally.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USMA1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Found the Talbott on trip advisor because did not want to stay in stuffy conference hotel on Michigan. The reviews helped me select Th Talbott. Been to Chicago several times but this hotel is located in the best area possible. Close to everything. Dwayne, who is famous in the reviews, did not disappoint He pointed out the nearest Walgreens, diner, pizza place, market, etc that made a trip to the city most enjoyable……strongly recommend The Talbott….also used the gym they send you too and it was awesome…..very modern and in the Bloomingdale lobby….wonderful

Room Tip: ask for Delaware St View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UTRelations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I chose the hotel because it was in a central location and because amex had a good discount. I imagined an old school hotel from early 20th century - and having never been to chicago before it was a great introduction. The staff downstairs was very friendly and got me a wake up call and a taxi to get me on time to my 6am flight from o'hare. Unfortunately, i did not get to spend much time in the room as i only got back from dinner/club at 2:30AM and had to get at least a couple hours of sleep. I had a key card for the door, but i'm still not sure what the actual metal key was for... bathroom was very nice, but i couldn't find a toothbrush or toothpaste. overall a very pleasant experience, in a good location for a decent price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snyc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have recently returned from a one week stay at the Talbott.What a fantastic hotel-great comfortable spacious bedroom, prime location not far from Michigan Avenue and the lake.
Staff were excellent from the minute we arrived until we left,had a free upgrade to an executive king room and had a late check out due to our flight time.Gene the concierge was very helpful and friendly.

If you want an excellent quality hotel in the centre of Chicago choose the Talbott!

Thanks to all staff for such an enjoyable holiday!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsandmrk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at the Talbott on a Saturday night when meeting up with some friends in Chicago. The hotel is in a nice location, near the shops. The staff were very nice and went out of their way to help us out. The room was nicely appointed and clean. The bathroom had a separate heater (not headlamp) for warming it up when you take a shower, which was nice. Best pillows I've had at a hotel in a long time. The room was pretty expensive, but at least they automatically upgraded us to a nicer room even though I didn't even ask. No views from windows other than another building about 15 feet away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our room was spacious and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable with quality pillows and linens. Gene was very friendly and helpful, drawing maps and making suggestions. Plush robes a plus! This boutique hotel wins over larger chains with its charm.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheepsLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,304 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 189 in Chicago
1,445 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing