We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #12 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We were in Chicago to celebrate my birthday. We changed our reservation from a large hotel to The Talbott, and it was perfect. They were so very nice to upgrade us to a suite, totally unexpected and very much appreciated. Every hotel staff member we encountered was professional, polite and helpful. This is definitely our new favorite boutique hotel. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank R2455C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,159
    441
    70
    30
    16
See reviews for
545
1,182
118
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Okay, it is not really a five star, only because it doesn't have enough onsite items, but in my mind it is five star. It is the only hotel we use in Chicago. The staff strikes exactly the right note of friendliness and service. The lobby is small and intimate, divided into clubby sections. While not overly pleased with the changes in the restaurant attached, it is still fine. Our latest stay was in 901, a perfect suite, the kind I love. Nice sized entryway leading to a hall with lots of doors. Sitting room down the hall from bedroom, not divided by a door. Huge bath. Very well appointed rooms. Comfortable furniture. We have stayed here for probably 15 years and it never disappoints. There is just something so comfortable about this hotel, from the physical building and rooms to the staff. It is always a pleasure to arrive. It has those intangibles that make a place just about perfect. This hotel is the standard we compare all others to. Price per night, including all charges, $260. In truth this was less than usual, a room more likely around $350, but it is downtown Chicago. Great location, a couple blocks off upper Michigan.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pushhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We've stayed at The Talbott, probably ten times over the past few years. It is in a great location - 2 1/2 blocks from Michigan Ave. near Watertower Place. The staff is outstanding - friendly and very helpful. The lobby is lovely - a wonderful, cozy place to have cocktails (next to two fireplaces) and the rooms are great. For a modest extra fee, we upgraded to a suite that was very luxurious. We had 2 flat screen TV's, living room, bedroom, huge bath with 2 sinks, separate tub and shower - all the amenities. Can't wait for our next stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Perfect location and an incredible staff! The bell man greeted us with a beaming smile ( I think his name was Dwayne) and took the time to walk us thru the smart tv in our room as well as checked all the outlets upon check out to make sure our phone charges didn't get left behind. Great job everyone, you made our short holiday one to remember!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastalCple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed January 2nd - 5th and had a great experience with the Talbott starting with the front desk agent, Cameron. This was our first trip to Chicago and he was kind enough to upgrade us to a suite which was totally unexpected. Our bellman got us aquianted with the room after he helped us with our bags. The doorman and front desk was always there with a smile or greeting our whole trip and it was definitely worth the tips that I gave during the trip. We are planning a trip to Chicago again next summer with our kids this time and I won't be looking for another hotel as long as the Talbott is here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tworm4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We Loved it!!! Quaint boutique hotel within walking distance of almost everything on Michigan Ave. Their address on Delaware is just west of Michigan, and really close to the John Hancock building. The staff was beyond nice, they took car of all of our needs and did it with a smile. If you don't want to spend what the four seasons want, this is your place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twld2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the Talbott. It is smaller, boutique, hotel. The hotel is well located in the city, near Watertower and Bloomingdales with plenty of restaraunts nearby. The staff were very efficient and helped by calling the airline about my lost luggage. I would rate the service (by all of the staff) as excellent. The room was clean, well stocked with coffee machine and quality amenities and was reasonably sized. We stayed in an exec double on the 9th floor. Free internet was a bonus. The heating was good and the room quiet. If you are looking for a hotel that isn't a large impersonal one I would recommend the Talbott.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,302 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 189 in Chicago
1,444 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing