We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanna keep this place a secret”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I would love to say we had a awful experience so no one would go and we could have it to ourselves anytime we want....but I'd be lying. From the moment we arrived till we checked out I can honestly say not one complaint. Everyone we encountered were great. The room was clean and big and perfect. Location is the absolute best. A block from Michigan Ave. There are a ton of excellent restaurants within a 10 minute walk. I can say every time we visit Chicago we will stay at The Talbott.

Room Tip: Dont expect a view. It is a small hotel and a majority of the rooms will not have a speakable view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjsayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,867)
There are newer reviews for The Talbott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,781 - 1,787 of 2,867 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

We couldn't get a reservation initially and had to stay at another hotel starting our last visit to Chicago. Luckily a room opened up and they were able to accommodate us. This hotel is like a little hidden gem in Chicago's Gold Coast area. Very close to shopping, restaurants and the many things Chicago has to offer. The staff is always friendly and accommodating. Our favorite place to stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A great value great location great hotel. friendly and helpful staff, lovely rooms and good food available, but located for getting out and about anyway. not really any faults to mention. not the most expensive by far, so worth booking if you are in the area,stay here and not somewhere more expensive.

Room Tip: stay here and not somewhere more expensive.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theepilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this wonderful hotel.It is so well located just off North Michican Avenue in the busy centre of the city. Rooms are superb,comfortable beds,excellent bathroom.We walked to all the sights river cruise Arts Institute etc The restaurant and bar are very good with good service.The price is surprisingly good given the location near the 4 Seasons hotel which charges much higher rates The concierge staff are really helpful and know the city restaurants to recommend First visit but would stay again if back in Chicago a wonderfully clean vibrant city

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rory80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Talbott is a lovely place. Beds are great and the pillows divine. The best part of our trip was Dwayne, an employee of the Talbott. Dwayne would greet us as he stood near the front door. He was delightful and helpful. Hope to see you again, Dwayne.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tootie2-926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights and the hotel was awesome. First, the location is superb, near to the North Michigan Ave, and in case you want to go to somewhere without walking too much, there is a subway station 2 blocks away. The rooms are excellent, very comfortable bed and pillows, and by the afternoon, somebody of the staff knocked on our door to give us some Fannie Mae chocolates. I booked my room using the hotel's website and in exchange I received a 15$ voucher per person per day for breakfast (up to two people), which is very good. It was my first trip to Chicago, i loved the city and, when i return, i can't imagine myself going to another hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ricardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I am going to be brief - The Talbott was AMAZING! I recently stayed there with a friend while we shopped our way through Chicago. The room and service far exceeded our expectations. The room was spacious, lovely and extremely comfortable. I especially loved the bath sheets and the bath products! The staff was most accommodating and welcoming. From the minute we walked into the charming lobby, we felt at home. I can't wait for a repeat visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SalliM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $171 - $685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing