We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home base in Chicago”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I just spent a weekend in Chicago and called The Talbott Hotel home. The price, location and quality of the accommodations are fair. You can stay at more expensive and cheaper places, but you may not get your money's worth.

The location is great (just a short walk off Michigan Ave.). It was nice to have a calm street to walk out to in the morning and get away from some of the craziness of the city. Access to the "tourist" part of Chicago was very easy from Talbott by walking as well as close proximity to the Red Line. But you may want to explore north of Talbott for dinner in which you can find some less touristy, yet delicious, choices.

The hotel is very clean and the bedrooms are comfortable. We stayed in a deluxe king which I believe is their "smallest' offering, but it had plenty of room and provided us with everything we could need or want. The bed is comfortable, firm but soft with the pillow top. The sheets were clean and the turndown service was nice. The bathroom had plenty of towels and was cleaned daily. We forgot to pack an umbrella, not a problem, each room is fitted with an umbrella as well as a full ironing board and iron. Also, each room has a Mac Mini computer hooked up to the LCD TV and a wireless keyboard and track pad. I found this to be great because I use the internet so much when visiting places and sometimes I just don't want to use my iPhone (free Wifi is great). I've stayed in hotels with computer access, but it was a nice treat to have the computer provided in my room. Also, the K-cup made starting the morning an easy process. Breakfast is offered in the hotel but we enjoyed walking across the street to Cru and having a relaxing brunch there.

The Talbott Hotel is a boutique hotel and it is similar to other boutiques I have stayed at. It is smaller with a very warm feeling (the entire hotel seemed to have a Fox Hunt theme). This also means you are more likely to interact with the staff. The Talbott has done an excellent job with this. The staff is incredibly nice, welcoming and helpful. My wife and I enjoyed coming in and out of the hotel because we knew it would be another chance to talk with people (Dwayne has been mentioned many times here, and he is a great way to start your stay here, but I must say that everyone was charming). It can be very nice to have this opportunity in a big hustle and bustle city like Chicago. It is worth the couple extra bucks over one of those giant chains down the street.

If we decide to spend a weekend in Chicago again, I imagine we will stay here again!

Room Tip: Parking in the city can be a bother. It will be cheaper to self-park. But, you may want to conside...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling-Illini4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,868)
There are newer reviews for The Talbott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,804 - 1,810 of 2,868 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

We visited The Talbott Hotel on vacation and went strictly on reviews on Tripadvisor. Most of the reviews were an excellent rating and we decided to try the Talbott. We were not disappointed as this is a first rate hotel which provided excellent service and is in an excellent location. The staff went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Dwayne was the most helpful and delightful door man I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. He made our stay at the talbot very enjoyable. Rooms were spacious, the talbot was in a great location.
Can't wait to come back

Room Tip: Great location.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We loved everything about the Talbott starting with our check-in upgrade to a one-bedroom suite. Everyone on the staff was gracious and helpful and the concierge helped us get tickets to The Book of Mormon when it was almost sold-out. The bed and pillows were super-comfy, the bath towels generous in size, and the bathroom Morton & Brown amenities replenished every day. We had a paper at our door every morning and chocolates at night. We especially enjoyed having breakfast at the Market Brasserie sidewalk cafe where the juice was freshly squeezed and the lattes delicious. All that plus a great location on a relatively quiet street yet only a couple of blocks from Michigan Ave. and the Magnificent Mile. We will definitely return to Chicago and the Talbott.

Room Tip: We had a bedroom in the back off the main street and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

can't tell if it was the weather, the people, the scene, but my stay in chicago was fantastic. it also helped that my hotel stay was fantastic! everyone on staff is kind and attentive. the rooms were very accommodating (hello, k-cups, cable and free wi-fi!) and the location was very easy to public transportation. i was here for marathon weekend, and amidst all the hustle and bustle, it was nice to come home to a quiet and relaxing hotel. i liked the charm of this hotel, with its lobby in dark wood and has more of an old school classic feel to it. the price was perfect, considering the neighboring hotels with less amenities nearby were twice the price.

looking forward to coming back. thanks all!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlflyingsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

From check in (when the gracious and welcoming Lina upgraded us to a gorgeous, spacious one bedroom corner suite) right throughout our 6 night stay, the friendliness and genuine hospitality of the staff at this hotel was second to none. If you are looking for luxury amenities, then this may not be the hotel for you, but if you seek a luxury experience, look no further. We will always stay at this hotel on future trips to Chicago..

Room Tip: Corner suites are like a home from home
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlust71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a great hotel, the rooms are very well appointed, quiet and very comfortable. really good beds and linen. staff very helpful and polite and in a great location between Michigan av. and State st. Excellent restaurant serves great breakfast at reasonable price. This will definitely be my choice when I visit Chicago again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $168 - $683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing