We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“FRIENDS AND FAMILY GATHERED TO ENJOY THIS HOTEL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“FRIENDS AND FAMILY GATHERED TO ENJOY THIS HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We came for a family wedding. Most people stayed here. I think everyone enjoyed the stay!
Beds very comfortable. The staff was friendly. The double suite room was wonderful, especially traveling with a toddler. We loved the door men/ bell hop. So friendly and nice. Very welcoming.
Elevators can be very slow at peek times. They need a few larger trash cans in suites. The concierge did not follow through on a number of requests. This was all minor and the stay was still enjoyable.

Room Tip: Double suite or suite if you need more room. The two queen room is roomier than the king room. You c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmsc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,084
    422
    57
    22
    14
See reviews for
518
1,134
117
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tamworth, staffs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at The Talbott Hotel for 3 nights on the first leg of our U.S holiday and it didn't disappoint.

When you pull up to the hotel there's a lovely floral display all around the front of the hotel, bistro tables and chairs either side of the entrance and a doorman complete with pristine uniform to greet you.

The lobby area has lovely dark wooden panelling, oil painting and grand mirrors on the walls and leather chairs and sofas to the left and right of the entrance.

The check-in staff were quick, efficient and very professional. Check-in took less than five minutes.

Our room was massive with a tea and coffee pod machine with a selection of tea/coffee pods. There's a study desk with an apple wireless keyboard.

The bed was king sized which was so comfy with soft feather pillows; it was the best nights sleep I'd had in ages.

The bathroom was beautifully tiled and well equipped with a hairdryer, his and hers sink area, loads of clean towels and complimentary Molten Brown products. There was an over head shower and a nice deep bath to soak in.

The room also had a chair and footstool, a massive LCD TV with an apple TV box which you can use to browse the internet (the hotel has free complimentary WIFI which is surprisingly quick).

The room also had a safe and free to use bath robes plus a multi function alarm clock. (All in all a well stocked room).

The hotel has a lovely bar area which has a restaurant to the side and rear of the bar. I cannot comment on the food as we didn't eat in the hotel, but the menu was varied and seemed reasonably priced.

There's a business centre to the rear of the hotel which has a couple of computers which you can use to print your boarding passes free of charge.

The concierge at the hotel is very knowledgeable of the hotel facilities and the surrounding areas.

The Talbott Hotel is ideally situated two blocks from Michigan Avenue (The Miracle Mile), a ten minute walk to Lake Michigan's beach and a five minute walk to the John Hancock Observatory.

I cannot find a single criticism of the Talbott Hotel; it really is a home from home and we will definitely go back.

Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear of the hotel as its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surfyboy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We have just had a fabulous 3 night stay at The Talbott. Everything about it was spot on.

All of the staff we encountered were really helpful and had loads of great advice about places to visit or great restaurants.

The room was really comfortable and had tech which was helpful and convenient (e.g. Mini mac PC, tv recorder) without being obtrusive or intruding on the style of the hotel

Finally, the location was great - very easy to explore the city on foot.

We will definitely stay here again when next in Chicago

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haylea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in.... Yes I would go that far.

From location, to staff, to room facilities and the price. The Talbott has it all. Not much more I can say but that, the fact I got 3 nights for $270 was a bargain

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Talbot for a long weekend vacation and loved it. The hotel has nice rooms, lobby bar and the outdoor dining is a great bonus. You really cannot beat the location either - you are close to Rush Street, State Street and Michigan Ave. Also - Lake Shore drive is a short walk away as well. We will be returning to the Talbot for our next Chicago visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Talbott Hotel is a charming hotel in a great location for seeing all of Chicago. Just up the street from the Hancock Tower and near all the best attractions, this beautiful hotel has everything you could ask for in great accommodations. From the doorman to the maid service, the concierge and the front desk staff, you always feel appreciated in this great hotel. We loved how close it was to all the bus stops and its proximity to Old Town and the historic neighborhoods. I would stay here every time I came to Chicago. The rooms are large and beautiful. Thank you Dwayne the doorman!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Songbird1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel centrally located but very quiet. Don't stay if you are looking for a view as it lacks that. Nice people, great late night snacks and beverages at the bar. Only negative for staff is that there is not a sense of urgency at check out if you are in a rush.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing