We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #3 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is by far the best hotel in Chicago.. We stayed for 3 nights in the suite room, wow the room had everything you would expect and more.. The service of the hotel is the best. Every staff member knew us by our names, we were greeted every time we walked passed someone.. Sherry and Perry were so nice to us, we felt like we were all best friends.. The beds were so comfortable, the best we have ever stayed in. I can not say enough about this hotel and the staff.. My husband and I got home and looked at each other and said we want to go back to the Talbott, we were so spoiled.. Can not wait to go back and visit our friends at the Talbott.. Thanks for everything, best

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun2Run49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,968
    390
    49
    20
    14
See reviews for
482
1,069
112
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

When we return to visit our hometown we always choose to stay here. Where to begin? The convenience, value, perfect Gold Coast location and comfort of this tucked away treasure... the superb staff from Charles who greets you at curbside, to the kind überprofessionals at the front desk and concierge, to Ben and the wait staff who create a vibrancy of dining...rooms are spacious, quiet, luxurious and clean with an old world style...free wifi in the room without glitch and Starbucks across the street... responsive climate control and light blocking window shades... I could go on, as could everyone in our traveling group of 7. And, if you're looking to avoid the big impersonal hotels of Michigan avenue this is a perfect boutique choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank triptots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My mother and I recently returned from our second stay at The Talbott Hotel, and both visits were outstanding! The service is remarkably warm and attentive... Dwayne took excellent care of us during both of our stays. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

As for the rooms, they are quite comfortable and spacious - the beds are plush and make for a great night's sleep. There is far more space in the room than in a typical hotel chain room.

Two hints: 1) Be sure to press the "Do Not Disturb" button next to the door before going to bed. (It is easy to forget since there aren't any door hangers.)
2) Check out the shadowbox in the basement. It is an artistic way for an out-of-towner to get a crash course in Chicago history. (From the lobby, walk past the entrance to the Little Market, go down the stairs, and the shadowbox is just past the restrooms on the left.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElanorEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and encountered a very polite sincere service and interaction with each and every employee.
The chef concierge Kathy was outstanding. Both extremely knowledgable and witty with exceptional sense of humor ready to answer every question, share her profound knowledge and keen on giving personalized advises. A Great asset.
The rooms are very traditional, it's a small luxury hotel with flair of days gone by. The bathrooms have been thoroughly modernized, all linens ( bed and bathroom) are luxurious as the toiletries that are provided. Outstanding modern electronics with mini Apple Mac that enables your surfing from bed besides recording your favorite TV show. The WiFi worked without snags, although some days it required to login again after hours of not being in use or past midnight. The Upgraded King room is spacious, the layout is very good, enough lights and the AC was easy to control. Excellent experience!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janny08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Various members of my family have chosen this hotel over the years and through several upgrades we continue to stick by it. The hotel somewhat miraculously manages to maintain a high degree of quality over the decades. Every time I spend a weekend there I know why I go back over and over. Professional, attentive staff; gracious surroundings; q u i e t rooms; cleanliness; convenience; value . . . so much for such a little hotel. The Talbott packs a hospitality wallop. It's my choice of hotel in Chicago and proves each time that it puts the Gold in Gold Coast.

Doing everything right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PigsFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Top Notch service in the heart of Chicago. We loved this small hotel. The breakfast restaurant was perfect ambiance with the indoor outdoor seating. Location could not be beat. The curtains seriously blocked out the sun - this was good and bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txbucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

What can I say... realy friendly staff...nice rooms...I could not have pick a better hotel
the location is great...a super boutique hotel...close to every thing...your a 1/2 block rush st
great restaurants on rush st

Room Tip: room 505 a great suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy6085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,731 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611-4938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Cancelon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing