We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definate must stay.”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #12 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Tecumseh, Canada
1 review
“A definate must stay.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have been to Chicago numerous times and have always made it a point to book a different hotel each time. Although we have been pleasantly surprised at some hotels, others were "lacking" at best. With the Talbott we found a "definate must stay" hotel. The entire staff was always courteous, friendly and willing to assist in any way. (Dwayne was my wife's favourite ............. ). The location was perfect for us becase we love the Rush St, State St, Michigan Ave area for it's shopping, restaurants, attractions and "beach" (yes ...... I said beach, about 5 blocks away, complete with cabanas and 2 fully stocked tiki bars !!!!).

Room Tip: Upon arrival ......... ask for an upgrade. If a room is available, they will accomodate you (for a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,159
    441
    69
    30
    16
See reviews for
545
1,182
118
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I found a deal via 3rd party site for the Talbott and decided to give it a whirl based on the reviews I read here. While I won't follow some of the other titles of "Best Hotel Ever", I will say this is a very elegant hotel with a ton of charm. I didn't realize it until we arrived, but this hotel is listed at Small Luxury Hotels.

Tucked away on Delaware, the hotel is just a few blocks from the Magnificent Mile and only a few minute's walk from some very nice restaurants.

Décor was warm and inviting and it had a certain amount of 1920s flare. The room was VERY spacious (large enough for 2 massage tables in the room) and very clean.

The best part of our stay was the concierge service. Gene was SPOT ON with every restaurant recommendation. He facilitated reservations and even got us comp'd desert at the Saloon Steakhouse.

The only negative thing I can say is the quality of sleep I had. I sleep VERY light and our room was right on Delaware. The hustle and bustle of the street (what is it about everyone constantly honking in Chicago?) prevented a good night's sleep. Additionally, the pillows were WAY too soft.

If you fancy drinks in the minibar, do yourself a favor and find a liquor store near by. The hotel charges an arm and a leg for the minibar. There is a Walgreen's one block north, FYI.

This is a FANTASTIC hotel in a great location. Next time I find myself in Chicago, I'll certainly entertain The Talbott again!.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffmikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed with my two teenaged daughters in a double queen. The rooms are large with plenty of sitting room, a large desk, two very comfortable queen beds and an upgraded TV with internet and DVR . The bathroom is very well appointed with two sinks, makeup mirror and the heaviest, deluxe towels ever. This small luxury hotel has a very traditional, Victorian feel. It was very quiet, even with our room being right by the elevator. The service and food at the restaurant were great for breakfast, and we received a $30 credit for each night we stayed. The valet parking was very expensive, but we splurged on the convenience. The Gold Coast location is great for shopping on Michigan Avenue and there are plenty of great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Talbott Hotel is the best hotel, I have ever stayed out. From the curb, front door, checking in to leaving, everyone was great. The room was roomy but homey. At some hotels, I do not well. Not at The Talbott, slept every night. The newspaper hanging on my door, so I did not have to bend down, is nice touch. When you need ice, they bring it to you. The Apple computer in your room helps you plan your day of tourist traps. When I return to Chicago, The Talbott is the only hotel I will use. Close to bus and subway line, park your car and go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertlowrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We got this hotel for a great deal in the midst of the Gold Coast. We stayed on the 12th floor in a suite. It was very large and the bed was heaven. The bell hop, Dwayne, was very chatty and told us about Potash the market around the corner to buy some wine, which we did. He also recommended getting Chicago Pizza at Lou Malnatis which we also did but unfortunately I greatly regretting going there instead of my typical Giordano's. We also received a $30 credit for breakfast at there restaurant. I got the egg benedict, very good, and my boyfriend got the Smoked Salmon also good. The restaurant also has fresh squeezed juice, very refreshing but a bit overpriced at $6 for about 4-6 oz.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors, better room and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivininTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Talbott Hotel.
Excellent service, nice rooms and great location, you can't ask for more. By booking online we received a full breakfast each morning and because of the nice weather we were able to enjoy it on the patio.
All the staff were very attentive. We dealt with Dwayne a few times and he was alway handled any of our requests professionally and to our satisfaction.
We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver ,BC ,Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was there for 5nights for a business convention.I had asked for a higher floor and got a room on the third floor.The carpeting was really old(circa 1970's),and filthy dirty as the bottom of my white socks got all black from walking around in the room.I could not believe my eyes!The AC was also not up to par,and could barely keep the room cool .It was so bad that after 3 nights ,I asked for another room.The front desk apologized for this and moved our stuff .
The new room was on the tenth floor,and was much cleaner ,and the AC worked better.
This hotel had a great restaurant where we ate breakfast every morning outside on the sidewalk.We booked directly,and were given breakfast vouchers for up to 2X$15 .
The Wi-Fi was also free which was an extra bonus.
The location was great ,There is a nice grocery store Potash 2 blocks away ,the subway staton was 2 blocks away ,and was convenient to get to Wrigley for the baseball game.
The doorman,and front desk people were all great !
It was the fact that our first 3 nights were a disappointment waswhy I did not give it a better rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pkw1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,302 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 189 in Chicago
1,444 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing