We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talbott Hotel is all about location + no fuss!”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
peoria, il
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Talbott Hotel is all about location + no fuss!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

love the Talbott Hotel for a trusted, cozy stay in Chicago. They have recently done some extensive remodeling in the lobby- the new bar is gorgeous. it was just opening when we stayed so i am sure it is busy + bustling by now! the staff is so friendly- remembers us as frequent guests. my mom stays so loyally they know her by first name and regularly reward her with suites with gratitude. Rooms are very large + fancy- its a bit much for me but feels old worldly, which matches the feel of the hotel so it works. if you're looking for the feel of Europe in a GREAT central downtown location in Chicago- the Talbott is for you. John + Joan Cusack hang out there while back in their hometown- that pretty much says it all! Quiet feel, professional staff, + great location = Talbott Hotel Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanCookWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,238
    464
    77
    31
    17
See reviews for
576
1,229
124
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just returned from staying at the Talbot for two nights. We arrived early and had to wait for our room, this was not a problem as we ate at the Market Place restaraunt downstairs. The room was a full upgrade and a very pleasant suprise as we enjoyed a one bedroom suite.

I have read the less than good reviews and wonder exactly where they stayed cause none of the problems they encountered came even close to our stay.

The room was well appointed and as the hotel is very clean and although the hotel is very English turn of century feel, we loved it. The bed was very comfy, bath products good, shower and bath very clean and good water pressure and lots of it.
EVERYONE was very pleasant and I would say we couldnt ask for better treatment. We just returned from Dubia where every thing is built big and spectacular but little things are subpar.

This hotel is great and would recommend it to anyone. We are an older couple and although there were children with some couples it was very quiet. Thank you Staff at the Talbot we will be back.

Room Tip: Room 1104, choose a high floor this room was close to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallybeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location, the beautiful hotel room, the friendliest & professional staff you could imagine - this place surpassed our expectations and is amazing value. Little market restaurant downstairs offers great happy hour specials. The Talbott has everything you could hope for in a small boutique hotel. Exceptional customer service provided during our fabulous four night stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Excellent hotel, highly recommended. It's small enough to were staff are welcoming and remember you when you walk through the door. Rooms are clean and housekeeping is very nice. The offer free wifi all through the hotel, as well as free umbrellas on loan when the weather is not in your favour. It is an excellent location. I felt very safe walking around the are late at night. They turn down your bed every night with chocolates on your pillow. They are not stingy on coffee, tea, and treats. Beds are very comfortable and bathrooms are large and clean.

Room Tip: Be sure your room is not facing the back ally. There is a garage there and every time it opens there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAJ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Absolutely the best service I have had in a hotel. Dwayne was great and helped us with all aspects of our stay at the hotel and our trip to Chicago. Very clean room with a lot of amenities.I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a great stay at the Talbott. The room was very spacious, and the room was updated and modern with a flat screen tv and computer. The bathroom was nice as well. We booked online and were given brunch passes for both days. It was a great location to the Water Tower area as well. We will be back for a future visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our fourth stay at The Talbott while visiting Chicago. Everyone there is so friendly and the atmosphere is very inviting. Rooms are very clean and the hotel is well maintained. Very quiet hotel. Great for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing