We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would love to return!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #5 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Would love to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We loved our 2 night stay at the Talbott Hotel. It’s perfectly located near the northern end of Michigan Ave. and also near the trendy shops on Oak Street. The nearby Gold Coast area was fun to tour, too. We have always wanted to stay here because of the location and were so glad on this latest trip to Chicago we did! The Talbott has 149 rooms which we found to be just the right size. Not too big or impersonal, yet large enough to offer excellent services. Beautifully decorated in a “club” kind of feel. We were in room #1402 and loved the view of Delaware Street. I think there were only 8 rooms on our floor, and we found it to be very quiet. To be honest, the views are basically of other tall buildings so I wouldn’t get too invested in a room with a “view”. We booked through their online website and received a $15/per person breakfast credit each day in their Little Market café. We found the breakfast menu to be creative and the food was quite good. Our room was immaculate and roomy. We had a King bed. Bathroom had a double sink with tub and separate shower. There is a wine/deli/sandwich shop directly across the street which made for handy snacks. I have to compliment the excellent services of their concierges: Kathy, Tim and Gene. We chatted with all 3 of them and found their friendly suggestions for restaurants, music and touring to be very helpful. The concierge desk is open most of the day and into the evening making this service a unique feature for the hotel. In sum, our room was wonderful and the folks who work there are delightful. We requested a later checkout and it was no problem the day we left. We hope to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cincy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,118
    424
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
524
1,153
116
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were planning our first trip to Chicago in 2010. We had never been to Chicago before and were looking for a small luxury hotel near Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier. We picked The Talbott Hotel and have been back twice since our original visit. The staff is exceptional. From the moment you drive up to the front of the hotel, the doorman and bellman greet you with professional yet friendly courtesy. They assist you with your bags, help you navigate your excursions and go out of their way to assist with any needs you may have. The staff has been consistent and on our last visit remembered us and made us feel so welcome. Our children especially enjoy Dwayne's attentiveness and great sense of humor. On our last stay, Dwayne went out of his way to help us find something we needed to buy. We will be visiting Chicago frequently over the next few years and would not consider staying anywhere else. The hotel is beautiful, the front desk is courteous and efficient, the concierge is knowledgeable and efficient and the amenities are top notch. While the hotel is very nice, the staff makes the experience a very positive and memorable one.

Room Tip: They do not offer connecting rooms, but if you are travelling with a family, they are very willing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This is truly a boutique hotel. Gives you the European small hotel quaint feeling. This is non commercial family feel. The service is testimonial of that. The only grow is there air conditioning in the room needs an upgrade, beside that one of the best in Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prajg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis Center, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

BIG thank you to Dwayne...he's always smiling and ready to help guests out!! Thank you, Dwayne!! The front desk staff is always welcoming, efficient and helps to make the experience overall fantastic. Rooms are clean and they have thougtfully prepared with amenities each guest needs for their stay away from home. I do wish they would expand the television channels available...would love to be able to watch HGTV, Food Network, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimberlyDM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel is just a few blocks away from Michigan Avenue, Water Tower Place and John Hancock Place - I can´t imagine a better place to stay in Chicago. We stayed in a Deluxe Queen Room, with two big queen beds that accommodated comfortably three adults and a child. We didn´t have breakfast at the hotel, but instead experienced one of several options nearby. I will definitely stay here again the next time I visit Chicago!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Best hotel I have stayed at, in USA. Small enough to be friendly, excellent service, well located and very good value.Room rate included voucher for breakfast, which was quite sufficient.Difficult to fault. Very comfortable bed. Liked the bar too.The decor reminded me of a small boutique-style hotel and yet it is actually bigger than that.
We walked everywhere and it was easy to get to and from by foot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieSpeculand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel was excellent, great service from the time we pulled up in the cab until the day we checked out. Every one was professional and quick to help. The concierge helped us make dinner reservations. The room was spacious and had everything we needed. Wifi helped me be able to work from the room which i needed to do during the day. Comfortable beds too!
The only thing i would say that could of been better was the speed of service and quality of the food at the adjoining restaurant at breakfast. Took about 30 minutes for a yogurt parfait and my husbands eggs benedict and when it got there the eggs were hard cooked. They were gracious and didn't charge us for his eggs but we didn't have time to re order because I had a flight to catch

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terbear23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#4 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#9 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611-4938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing