We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service: A Tiny Gem in a Big City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #5 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Service: A Tiny Gem in a Big City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Talbott for one night (part of an anniversary staycation) over New Year's Weekend. From check-in to check-out, the service was excellent. We stayed in a one bedroom king suite. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly hotel staff who presented us with "souvenir" personalized anniversary room keys. We found champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in the entry way of our suite. In the bedroom, we found terry cloth robes monogramed with our initials, and a rose petal turn down service. We also received vouchers for breakfast at Little Market Brasserie (next door to the hotel). The hotel suite's king bedroom was large with large flat screen television. The bathroom was larger than my first apartment - one person shower stall, vanity, sink area, and soaking tub. The living room/office was extremely large and the couch and chairs were comfortable. The decor is extremely traditional which I enjoyed very much. If you are a big coffee drinker, ask for extra pods at check-in (I drink way more than one cup in the morning).

The hotel lobby is intimate and romantic - take advantage of the comfortable chairs and sofas next to the wood burning fireplace in winter. You may order drinks from Little Market Brasserie and they will be delivered to you in the hotel lobby (no extra charge). The elevators are very very small. Be patient if you have large luggage or a large party of people - you may have to split up your group and take separate elevators.

I have no complaints about my stay. The room was clean and quiet. The hotel is located in a fabulous shopping district and near some of Chicago's best restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindyCityTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,118
    424
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
524
1,153
116
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Talbott for the first four days of our honeymoon and we felt really pampered. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff is so helpful. The concierge helped us with some great restaurants. The hotel itself is beautiful and very well situated. For a more personal approach, choose the talbott. We hope to come back one day

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nienke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just great! the rooms (king bed) were larger than expected for an old hotel, even larger than your standard modern room and was quiet. The staff was super friendly and professional. I liked the traditional decor and nice linens and towels. If I had one tiny complaint it would be that more places to hang towels in the bathroom were needed. I like to take advantage of the "green initiative" of reduced linen and towel changes and having a place to hang a towel-especially a hand towel would help make it more sanitary and tidy. BUT if that's all I have to complain about...then you know it's gonna work out just fine. Go, have fun and sleep well!
PS we accessed the hotel from Ohare via the blue line (passes were about $10) and then you can transfer to the red line and be only a block or two from the hotel, or take a cab from the blueline for another $10)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alice2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a conference here and extended my stay to have my family up for the weekend. This is a lovely hotel - rooms are large and beautifully appointed and spotless, and customer service is among the best I've ever experienced at a hotel. Everything went smoothly for the meeting of 3 days - catering was without a hitch, very attentive, and on time just as ordered. Food in restaurant is great. The meeting room was large, with lots of natural light and comfortable seating. Nice perk is a gym membership at a nearby gym during the stay. I extensively used the concierge services, and they were always helpful with good suggestions and timely assistance. I will go back, and highly recommend this hotel. Excellent value for the money. My team is all looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent three nights at the Talbott, which was a great choice. Very unique hotel, great atmosphere, nice rooms and very comfortable. The staff was very helpfull and friendly. Close to the downtown shopping district, however not loud at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlphaRomeo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I just have to take a moment to send a HUGE thank you out to the staff, especially Kathy the Concierge, at the Talbott Hotel.

Kathy went above and beyond to help make my engagement weekend in Chicago a very special one. From all the very helpful communication, suggestions and planning weeks in advance, to the surprise upgraded, BEAUTIFUL room set up EXACTLY how I requested, Kathy and her team did a phenomenal job.

My fianceé and I were treated like celebrities. We had a carriage ride waiting to take us to dinner and when we arrived at The Saloon, we were met with nothing less than stellar service and delicious food. They even gave us complimentary champagne when we sat down. Kathy was kind enough to tell the restaurant (when she made our reservation) that we were also celebrating a birthday that weekend.

I HIGHLY recommend staying at the Talbot and utilizing the staff to help you with any and everything you could possibly need while you stay in Chicago. It's EASILY the ONLY place I'll stay from here on out.

Thank you all again so, SO much for making our weekend fabulous and memorable!

Cheers!

Angie & Kellie

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beatles1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I were in town for the Auto Show, and as a quick weekend getaway from the kids. Everything about this hotel was top-notch! Our room was luxurious, the location was primo, and the staff was over-the-top accommodating. We scored a great rate from Orbitz, so the value couldn't have been beat. I would most definitely stay here again.

A note about the restaurant: We dined here for breakfast each morning of our stay. Saturday morning, the staff was cheerful and attentive, plus the food was outstanding. Unfortunately, Sunday morning was a totally different story. There seemed to be an entirely new crew of staff where no one seemed to be enthused to be at work. Our waiter was OK, but nothing like the service we had experienced 24 hours before. My husband's breakfast took what seemed like forever to come out, and when it did, it was seriously undercooked. He was able to order something else, and our meal was comped, so there was an attempt to make things right. We hope the consistency issues can be worked out, prior to our next stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#4 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#9 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611-4938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing