We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feb 9th 2013”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feb 9th 2013”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Trip Advisor you didn't let me down. I planned a weekend in Chicago and after researching hotels I chose the Talbott. Fabulous experience as soon as I pulled up from the doorman to the bellman to the check in. 1 block from Rush street and 2 blocks from the center of Michigan Ave shopping.We had dinner at the new restaruant located just off the lobby "Little Market" and it was restaruant week and the food and prices were in line for the meal we received. Since we booked online we received a $30 voucher for Brunch and the Smoked Salmon selection was excellant. Our room was very nice and very clean, bed and pillows were perfect after a day of walking and shopping. When I go back I know where I will be staying!

Room Tip: We requested a smoking room and King and got just what we requested. We actually arrived 1.5 hrs bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDunlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,133
    430
    65
    26
    15
See reviews for
530
1,163
118
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The location of the hotel was very convenient. We did not do much walking because it was so cold but it was easy and cheap to catch a cab, less than $10 for pretty much every place we wanted to go. The staff was very pleasant and our room was good. The only complaint I had was the beds. They advertise having a pillowtop mattress but it was more like a thin layer of pillowing. I know this sounds really picky but since my bed at home is hard I was really excited about a fluffy pillowy bed to sleep in. Sadly it was not that exciting.

We stayed a Sunday to Tuesday and they accommodated my request for a room with a street view so we didn't have to look out over a brick wall. Much appreciated. Try the original pancake house down the street for breakfast, it was a lot better than the restaurant in the hotel for breakfast and cheaper too. Although we did go to the hotel restaurant for dinner and had a good experience we loved the house made sodas!

Room Tip: Request a street view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annagrenlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We live in the Chicago area, but had dinner plans downtown and decided to avoid driving home at the last minute. We took advantage of a very attractive rate offered on SLH for The Talbott. This property has been around since the late 1920's through many incarnations. The most recent improvements were well executed. The rooms and public areas have been updated. The bar redesign is very well done with lots of glass and reflective materials, but still maintains the warm, inviting feel it always had. The rooms are still very traditional and cozy, but functional and well equipped. The staff are all friendly, helpful and eager to please. We prefer a boutique hotels over chains which is why we chose The Talbott. The location is perfect. You can walk to everything. We will certainly be back even though we live just 15 miles away!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyDChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the Talbott for an art show at the hotel in February. This was our first stay at the Talbott; we will never stay anywhere else in Chicago. A boutique hotel with a marvelous associated restaurant, the Talbott is immaculate, quiet, comfortable and in every way accommodating to guests. Every staff member at the hotel goes out of the way to be friendly and helpful. There could be no better service. The location is superb, just off Michigan Ave Magnificent Mile and upper Rush Street. Rooms are large and comfortable, exceptionally well appointed. Reserve on line and get a $30 for two breakfast voucher per day in the attached restaurant. No better value in the city - a gem!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Talbott is a charming, beautiful little hotel right in the heart of downtown Chicago.
Staff is wonderful. The hotel has a boutique look and feel. Our room on the 6th floor was nicely sized and beautifully appointed. Free Wifi is a bonus. Very reasonable price for downtown Chicago. Restaurant next door is very good and had live music on Fri. night. My room had no view, but it was very quiet and that matters more to me.
I'd stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flutter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beecher
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

First time in Chicago in many years. Needed to get away and the Talbott experience did not disappoint. After reading many reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to reserve room at this accomodation. You notice the very classy atmosphere as soon as you enter the front door. All staff are very friendly, personable, and informative. Right here, I have to mention someone special (Dwayne), the doorman. We have an inside joke...he spells his name wrong. Dwayne allowed us to enjoy the special sites and venues that make the Windy City a special place. Please connect with him...tell him Duane sent you...lol. The rooms are elegantly decorated and private. Hotel is centrally located, a few blocks from the Magnifcent Mile and Water Tower Mall. Tempo resturant, around corner is a great place to eat anytime during the day. Not expensive at all. Will be back sooner than later for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S_and_DBeecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I spent a whole day trying to decide where to stay in Chicago. I was online going back and forth looking at reviews, locations, rates through Kayak. Back and forth, back and forth. I finally went with the reviews and chose The Talbott. How could so many people agree that this place is truly awesome? Trust me folks. It is the best hotel I have stayed in! I have stayed at the higher end places but with those places come high end breakfasts, charges for every little thing. I am so happy that I chose this place. The lobby is cozy with sofas and fireplaces. A nice little bar/restaurant attached producing high-end hand crafted libations. The attention given and the level of service is superior. Room 309 is cozy and perfect. Apparently, the higher corner floors are more spacious. Most likely, with better views but I am okay tucked away without any street noise. It is a perfect location. Just off of the Magnificent mile but feels like a world away. The Goddess and Grocer is across the street along with a Starbucks and a little supermarket right around the corner. When we arrived we were advised by Perry the bellhop to go to Dublin's for a pint and some grub. Perfect suggestion. We did some shots of whiskey to take off the edge off of the -4 windchill factor and wrapped it up at the bar here. Got a great night's sleep. The beds are heavenly and the toiletries pretty high end. Cab ride here was $40 bucks from ORD and well worth it if you don't want to mess with the train.
It is my birthday weekend, so to top it all off the concierge, Gene, helped a friend of mine arrange a basket of wine and cheese to wait for me upon arriving back after a long day out.
Then, to my surprise, The Talbott actually left a card with a treat tray of nuts, chocolate and candy in the room when we arrived back today.
Just the kind of service and attention to detail that is so rare. Don't think twice between here and the other high ends like the Sofitel or Intercontinental. This place cannot be beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing