We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #3 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“The Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Superlatives are almost superfluous for this hotel. Rooms and bathrooms are large with an excellent communication system that comprises, TV, computer, WiFi, all free. All member of staff are friendly and go out of their way to help. We had a couple of slight problems which were resolved immediately and without fuss although with a great smile. Breakfast are good, especially taking into account the $15 per person voucher provided if the booking is made using the hotel's website. The serving staff cannot help enough. Location is excellent. A special mention should be made for the concierges who made our trip so memorable with their recommendations and bookings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,025
    402
    53
    22
    14
See reviews for
506
1,098
113
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

If you are in Chicago, the Talbott is the place to stay! Once again, they Talbott delivered an awesome experience! Every staff member is so helpful and nice. The accommodations are luxurious. Great location. Breakfast in their restaurant was first class too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed one night at this lovely warm hotel this week. Great service, great location. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. We will stay this hotel again next time when we visit Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waymire1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Can't say enough good things about The Talbott Hotel! Everything was perfect and cozy! The location is wonderful, short walk to the Magnificent Mile, great eateries, and fun things to do. We flew into Midway and used American Coach Limo Service ($44) from the airport to the Talbott and used Flash cab ($34) for our return to the airport which was equally as good as the car service. We would recommend both. The staff at the Talbott went out of their way to make our stay a special one. I would not hestitate to stay here in the future and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oscmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

warm welcome, good rooms and nice people
very close to the shopping area and to the art museum
very good restaurant with healthy food
very romantic stay
the waiters are well educated with good conversation abilities
no wait to be served
good value for money
they offer complementary breakfast

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noi60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just want to let everyone know how wonderful the Talbott is....Dawayne,Charles,Perry,Louis,Tanner-Too many names to mention...Everyone is so welcoming and friendly,going above and beyond to accommodate your needs...I would HIIGHLY
recommend theTalbott.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Perhaps I have been too easy with my previous reviews as I am only giving the Talbott four stars, but this is a great hotel.

We just returned from a first time, three night visit to Chicago. Per Trip Advisor room recommendations, we requested a suite on a corner as high up as possible, and that is exactly what we received on the 13th floor out of 16 floors. The room was large (especially for two), quiet and comfortable. The décor was pleasant although not long before it needs to be updated a bit. Bathrooms are large with two vanities/sinks, tub and separate shower with beautiful tile floors that have their own heater.

The hotel is in an excellent location literally backing up to the Waldorf and within blocks of the time honored Drake. We took less than $10 cab rides to certain sites such as the Art Institute, Lincoln Park or Sears Tower only to ultimately walk back to the hotel. Dinners were at Hugo’s Frog Bar, Gibson’s and Zinc Bistro, all of which are excellent and a very short walk from the hotel.

Our perfect stay would have included a morning workout prior to venturing out for the day. While the hotel offers access to what I understand is a very nice health club, the inconvenience of walking 1.5 blocks was enough for us to forego morning workouts! If I had a complaint, it’s that there was no workout room in the hotel, but I knew that when I made my reservation.

Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. We arrived several hours before the 3:00 pm arrival time unannounced. While our room was not immediately ready, front desk staff smiled and assured us it would not be long, which it wasn’t. Bellman Perry was very helpful getting our bags to the room, explaining the television, computer, minibar,… He had plenty of great responses to our many questions. The concierge staff was excellent suggesting places to dine, making reservations etc.

The hotel has a restaurant and bar which are small and quiet. We ate breakfast here each morning and were more than content. The bar is more of a “meeting” place than a destination which is all it needs to be. There are plans underway to greatly increase the restaurant into a neighborhood friendly spot with an expanded menu. Hotel staff seemed excited about this and I believe it will be a great addition.

The hotel lobby and sitting rooms are very comfortable and were brightly decorated with tasteful Christmas decorations. Our experience at the Talbott was really excellent and we certainly will stay here again.

Room Tip: We selected a one room suite requesting (and receiving) a corner room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 189 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,810 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611-4938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing