We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Location”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #10 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We just spent 4 nights at the Talbott. From the time we arrived, we were meant to feel at home. Dwayne spent 15 minutes getting us familiar with the area around the hotel. Rooms were very clean, free internet surface, each room has Apple TV that is free. Ideal location, two blocks from Michigan, one block from Rush ST. Lots of shops and places to dine. Our will stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,239 - 2,245 of 2,905 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel was clean, neatly decorated with execellent service from staff. All major sites are easly reached by subway within minuets and both Airports can be easly reached by the subway. There are many excellent resturants with in walking distance. The price of rooms is good considering location. My wife and I highly recommend this hotel on all accounts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAH42881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The location is perfect being just a couple blocks off Michigan Avenue on a quiet neighborhood street. The rooms are updated, elegant, and cozy. The staff was very friendly, attentive, and accommodating. As a frequent visitor and former Chicagoan I find this hotel the best in the city. My husband and I enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I never stayed in a suite like this! this place is amazing and beautiful and so clean! The concierge was so helpful booking us things to do. I have a kulrig coffee pot and a fridge where I put a small hallf and half, the tv has an apple connection, and I'm typing this review from the sofa in my living room of our room on a wireless keyboard! all the things I have in my own home.. really I have NOTHING bad to say, and if you read any of my other reviews over the years, I can usually find SOMETHING to say! ok.. no ice machines...you have to call and they bring you a beautiful silver plated one filled with ice...is that bad? well my husband thought so.. he DOES always find something to complain about! lol
Oh, and did I mention its 2 blocks or so from John hancock and the mag. mile!

Room Tip: Suite is amazing, no view, but I didnt care..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mastercolorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

After many chic minimalistic but uncomfortable hotels, the Talbott is like coming to a comfortable cozy home. All the amenities are first class, rooms are spacious and the staff couldn't be nicer. Beds are heaven. Lovely even for the most demanding world traveller.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Voyageuse54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The Talbott Hotel is amazing!! It's in the perfect location in Chicago..close to Michigan Avenue/the L/nightlife, but in a quiet neighborhood to get a good night's sleep.

The staff is awesome! Thanks to Dwayne at the front desk, we were upgraded to a suite after there was a mix up with our reservation. Him, and the rest of the staff, are so helpful and friendly.

Would 100% stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

As I said in my Facebook review: The Talbott is our FAVORITE Chicago hotel for the past 6 years with its understated elegance and unparalleled customer service! I was in from Michigan, celebrating my 50th birthday with my husband and two dear friends. The friends had arrived first and checked in. When I asked, jokingly, if we could be upgraded to a one bdrm. suite as we had been for my husband's 50th, the wonderful front desk employee happily obliged. Not only that, but she managed to give us the suite adjacent to our friends' standard King room.

As always, the Talbott was lovely, immaculate, and a true respite from the busy days in Chicago. We remain happy devotees!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,534 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $165 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing