We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel!”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I love this hotel!”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is an old hotel that got the renovation right. Timeless elegance meets high tech. I knew I loved it when I saw the Mac mini connected to the flat screen tv. The room was roomy with a high ceiling, comfy king aize bed with a beautiful canopy effect which rippled in the air flow and displaced the draft from the air conditioning, sumptuous fabrics, nice desk with free wireless Internet, huge bathroom with marble and granite and double sinks. I asked for a view and had two tall windows overlooking the street. One opened. Bice, the restaurant, has a gorgeous outdoor terrace. The surprised me with 15.00 breakfast vouchers for each of my 3 days there and I enjoyed a lovely meal on the terrace each morning. I had dinner on the terrace and the risotto was fabulous. Great service from the moment you walk in the door till you leave. I was sad to go and cannot wait to come back. Great value, too.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robinreps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,240
    466
    77
    31
    17
See reviews for
577
1,230
124
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed at the Talbott last week for a business meeting. The hotel is very elegant and charming. It's an old structure, so I was expecting the rooms to be small. The opposite was true. Very generously sized rooms with a comfortable king bed, sitting area, and large bathroom. Each room also has a Mac Mini connected to the flat screen TV so you can surf the Web. I did not eat in the restaurant, but it looked quite nice, and the bar area is elegant. This is a gem of a hotel, and I would come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibetrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was our fourth year staying at the Talbott, and again, we were so grateful for the understated elegance and superb service. The staff is incredibly accommodating--even gave us the same room when I asked. We were delighted and surprised when the management sent a box of chocolate truffles to the room because I had mentioned that my husband and I always celebrate our summer birthdays at the Talbott.

It is thoughtful touches like this one that will always keep us returning to our favorite Chicago hotel. Beautifully appointed, incredibly clean and comfortable, the Talbott truly is a cut above the rest.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The hotel looks like an aging grande dame, somewhat in need of an update or a nip and tuck here and there , but it makes up in courtesy and friendliness of the staff. Off Orbitz, we got the hotel for 125 bucks a night which I thought was a good deal. The elevator is a tad small. We had a room on the 16th floor with no view unfortunately, though sizable and clean. I had to call twice for a coffee cup one morning but otherwise the service is attentive and friendly. The Italian restaurant off the lobby is well-regarded, I am told - I am not into Italian at the moment, so we did not try it. There is a nice upscale bistro across the street which is always full and difficult to get a table at. A Starbucks is also across the street. The hotel is two blocks from the Magnificent Mile and three blocks to Lakeshore Drive. I think this hotel is good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ModernGay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fran Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

My daughter and I had the lovliest stay here for her first visit to both Chicago and the American Girl (AG) Store after years of collecting the dolls. I highly recommend Talbott's AG Package if you have interested daughters! They definitely give your child the royal treatment complete with special room service menu that's an incredible value in itself not to mention the scrumptious breakfasts included at Bice with outdoor dining next door, and the 30-minute horse-drawn carriage ride in the Magnificent Mile vicinity to the AG Store is wonderful. Beyond the AG bit and food, the staff are really personable and accomodating and the rooms spacious and equipped with cool coffee machines and free wi-fi access. And you can't beat the location in charming area right off Michigan Avenue (and I used to live in Chicago for almost 10 years so I know what I''m talking about here). The housekeeping keeps your room amazingly tidy (2-3X per day) and is very generous in replenishing towels and toiletteries. Only wish the rooms got more sunlight. Other than that, overall just splendid!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polo-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

My husband and I, spent 3 nights at The Talbott Hotel in June 2011 and It's the most wonderful hotel I've ever been in. You can't get a better location. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, sites etc. It really is perfect! I've never written a review about anything, but I just have to for this hotel.
The staff were friendly, very helpful and knowledgable. It was perfect in everyway! The huge 1 bedroom suite was beautifully decorated and very clean and fresh. I will be coming back without a doubt!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zainygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

My husband and I and our two friends stayed at the Talbott Hotel in Chicago to celebrate a special birthday!! None of us had been to Chicago before so we really didn't have a clue what part of the city would be best to stay in etc. Luckily someone from my office recommended this one to us and we are so glad. The hotel is in the nicest part of town. It is cozy, quaint and charming. The staff is exceptional. The concierge Jean Murray was right-on, when it came to sending us to restaurants and to a really cool blues club. Everything about our stay was perfect and we would go back to this hotel again when we re-visit Chicago.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Francofile37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing