We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Girls weekend great find!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Ranked #93 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Girls weekend great find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Having never traveled to Chicago before, we researched for days to find the perfect location. The Knickerbocker was a great find with a decent rate for 8 girls traveling for a few days. 2 blocks from the lake, 2 blocks from Michigan Ave--all the shopping a girl could need..and 3 blocks from any dinning you could dream of. The hotel itself was older with historic charm but overall, met our needs perfectly. Decent size rooms (and bathroom) for 4 girls sharing! Entertainment each night and a quaint lobby bar. Friendly staff and average cleanliness is always a perk. Great spot if you aren't planning to be in the hotel all that much, but still nice to come back to each night.

Room Tip: We had two different room types..preferred the one with the glass shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    365
    117
    44
    30
See reviews for
170
322
43
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We love Chicago and decided to stay downtown for a change instead of traveling out to the 'burbs and catching the "L" into the city. Decided on the Knick because of its proximity and the fact that we like to check out historical hotels whenever we can. As others have said before it is half a block away from Michigan, two blocks south from the Hancock Tower, and about 5 blocks from the nearest "L" stop. Very convenient. We actually arrived a lot earlier than the designated check-in time and they allowed us to get into our rooms without a hitch. Everyone was extremely friendly, the concierge, the bell-man, and the wait-staff. Breakfast is very good with large portions. Salmon benedict is outstanding. Our room was a decent size but the view was a little lacking. Bed is very comfortable. Great bathroom with a rain shower and wand. You can turn both on while showering. I took longer than normal showers. Had a mini fridge with an honor bar. For an older hotel, it is very quiet and we didn't hear a sound from other guests. Only complaint is wifi costs $10 for a 24 hour period. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank civicnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We have been visiting family that lives in the area for ten years. We have tried many hotels but this last visit we hit upon the perfect combination, location is ideal, the room was well decorated, bathroom newly remodeled and great shower. The air conditioning good, able to run the fan all night which covered the exuberant guests on Friday night. We slept very well both nights. I made the reservations directly through the hotel website and was very pleased with the price of the room. When I asked the doorman which way to my usual coffee spot, he told me but then suggested a nearby coffee shop that he thought was good. It was a great suggestion, so glad he took the time to tell us. All in all one of our best hotel stays in Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Spent a weekend in Chicago to catch a Cubs game at Wrigley Field with my son and grandson.
Stayed at the Millenium KNickerbocker on Walton Ave. 1/2 block from Millenium Dr. which is the heart of the upscale shopping in Chicago with all the top end stores: Louis Vittuon, Saks Fifth Avenue, Macy's, Lego Store (my grandson thinks it's pretty top drawer) etc.
Unlike Los Angeles, people in Chicago like to walk and the streets were full and we walked around quite a bit.
The hotel is of an older vintage but the room was nicely decorated and the bathroom had been well updated. There is a nice piano bar in the lobby and a small restaurant. The elevators are quite small but there are 3 of them so that helps.
The staff was very helpful and we enjoyed our Friday night-Saturday night stay. We didn't have a car but I noticed that parking at the hotel is $65.00 a night so be aware. Does have a small gym but no pool.
$200.00 a night taxes in.
If you want to be downtown I think it's a reasonable deal probably better than The Drake which is across the street. Ciao!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I was in Chicago attending a conference at McCormick Place and selected this hotel based on a recommendation. The hotel is perfectly situated close to the Magnificent Mile and to so much activity in downtown Chicago. The room (a Junior Suite) was spacious and well appointed, with a definite European feel. The Breakfast offering is quite extensive. The menu in the bar is limited but offered plenty of variety. The food was excellent and the prices were quite reasonable. The staff at the hotel were all incredibly friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay at this hotel again the next time I will be in the city of Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We love the Knickerbocker in Chicago! The staff, the charming rooms, and the location! Andre in the restaurant is awesome! And love the lounge staff. One of our favorites has been there for 16 years and it's great to see his face every visit! I also left a jacket when we checked out and went back the next day to find that the housekeeping staff had packed it up for me. The Knickerbocker is our Chicago hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a great hotel! Very clean, updated rooms. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. The lobby bar was fun and convenient. There is not one thing I would change. Excellent location on the Magnificent Mile. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I am recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larsons617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#92 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,064 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#72 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Streeterville
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#91 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Drake Hotel
The Drake Hotel
#71 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Property: Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-7114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#77 Business Hotel in Chicago
#82 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing