We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Ranked #95 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

One night stay here when I was visiting downtown prior to a wedding outside of Chicago. As others have said, the location is excellent. Very convenient for shopping on and around Michigan Ave. The hotel itself is great. The doormen and concierge were very helpful with bags and dining recommendations. We were allowed to check in at 11, even though formal check-in isn't until 3PM. Stayed in a King room. It was clean and well-amenitized. Room was updated, bed was comfortable. I will admit however that the King rooms are not very spacious. With all the furniture there's not much floor room to put your stuff. Only real complaint I had about the room was that there isn't a fan in the bathroom. This can be a problem for obvious reasons, exaggerated by the fact that the bathroom door is not a normal door, but a pocket-sliding door. By no means a deal-breaker. Overall very pleased with this stay. Will definitely look here first for my next trip to Chicago.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank kirksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
There are newer reviews for Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

847 - 853 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

What a horrible experience. I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone who values knowing their reservation is secure. My reservation was made through Expedia months earlier. I showed up - with my confirmation number - and they tried to tell me that Expedia had moved me! Yet Expedia still showed me at the Millennium. Why would Expedia move me and still charge me the Millennium rate? Here's what I believe happened. With multiple conferences in Chicago, they were booked. Others told me some rooms in town were going for twice what I paid through Expedia because they tried to book so late. I believe the Millennium took my reservation then realized later they could get more for the room. So they canceled me. They set me up in a cheaper hotel and pocketed the difference. To say the least, they are not customer friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank michigantraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed at the Millennium Knickerbocker this week on a business trip for just one night. The hotel is a nice manageable size. Check-in is a little challenging to notice initially as it it to the rear of the lobby. The rooms are tastefully done in a soothing contemporary style. Beds are comfortable. Though I didn't use lobby bar, it's attractive and open. The hotel restaurant food was above average. No newstand/guest shop in the hotel. It does have a fitness center, which I didn't use. Throughout my stay, I found the staff friendly and helpful. Location is just off Michigan Avenue so it's a good location for shopping. I've stayed in much more luxurious hotels but I would definitely stay here again. It's good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I purchased a voucher on TravelZoo for a 2 night stay at the Knick. I hadn't stayed there in probably 17 years but remembered that it was a fabulous location. My friend and I were able to check in early and catch a cab to the White Sox/Indians game with time to spare. Over the course of the next two days, we shopped and ate and shopped and ate and made multiple trips back to our rooms with our goodies. Each and every time, the doormen were friendly and courteous and we were greeted by staff inside the hotel as well. There was never a wait for a cab when needed, housekeeping was friendly and thorough and the food at the Nix was fresh and delicious. My only regret is that I didn't purchase a second voucher but I would willingly stay at the Knick again with or without one! Kudos to you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I've stayed at the Millennium Knickerbocker for four years in a row while attending a trade show. Rooms are small but luxurious. Wonderful staff. Perfect boutique hotel atmosphere. Great lobby bar and the restaurant serves a wonderful breakfast. They've upgraded me for no reason a number of times simply as a nice gesture. Location is a block off the Magnificent Mile so it doesn't get any better. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator so you don't hear the elevator bell all night long....some...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Staff very helpful. Interesting older hotel with lots of character. Rooms have been updated. Sumptuous bedding. Bathroom with granite and new fixtures. Beautiful gold leaf domed ballroom, nice bar. Close to Water Tower and Gold Coast. We really enjoyed ourselves. And the price was phenomenal. $129 a night a half block off Michigan Ave!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had a great stay at the Millennium Knickerbocker. The staff treated us great.Everything was just as we had reserved,vouchers for the Nix and the bar were handed out without asking. I would stay here again just for the classy service we received.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phrank1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#106 of 191 in Chicago
1,722 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 191 in Chicago
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago

Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-7114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#77 Business Hotel in Chicago
#82 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $111 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing