We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to pay for wi fi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Ranked #98 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
warrington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Had to pay for wi fi”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Well located and courteous helpful staff. Comfortable basic bedroom. Wi fi connection a bit expensive. Booked the hotel via Trip Advisor link to Get A Room Com. Will NOT use them again as after having promised best price guaranteed etc etc they considerably reduced the price after my booking and did not respond to my questions about this. My advice is to book direct or with another agency such as Travel Pony whose pricing policies are transparent.

Room Tip: Probably book direct with hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shilohWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    395
    128
    50
    31
See reviews for
186
364
53
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niles, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed at the Knickerbocker on 4/6/14. We had snagged a Travel Zoo coupon for $109 that included; 1) one night stay, 2) $25 credit at the hotel bar/restaurant, 3) American breakfast for 2 at the hotel restaurant. It was such a great deal that we felt like the hotel was paying us to stay! The hotel is basically across from the Drake so the location is great for shopping. We had a corner room and though the view wasn't much the room was updated and clean, my daughter and her friends stayed in a double which was average but again clean and met their needs. For the price this was great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilek5niles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel is just steps away from Michigan Avenue, and very close to the John Hancock Building. Room was small, but very clean and everything worked. Some nice artwork on the walls. The lobby area is pretty average, and check-in/out counter is small. Bar area looked a little dated too. If a AAA member, this can help your rate. Parking is expensive. (No surprise in Chicago.) Good people and service. The internet (in room) is not free, but can be accessed in the lobby area for no charge. I personally do not think that any hotel should be charging extra for the convenience of an internet connection in your room. Most hotels I stay at do not charge for it, or is built in to the rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGoAtTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed in room 401 for one day. The exterior of the hotel is so beautiful. The bellman are quick to help with our luggage. When we entered the room we were amazed by its design. Bathroom was modern and the furniture was great. The bed was comfortable. Only downfall was the view but it was for only one day so we didn't mind. Hotel is in a great location also. Nice place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Our experience at this hotel was a bit of a mixed bag, but I will start with the pro's:

- Great location. If you are looking to explore Michigan Avenue, have tea at the Drake, or shop at Watertower Place, you will love this location. All of these attractions are within a few blocks.

- Quiet rooms. Perhaps it was the fan that we had to have running in our room (more on that later), but we never heard a noise while in our elevator-adjacent room

- Nice historic building. The lobby is nothing to write home about compared to other hotels in the area, but it is nice.

- Pleasant staff. Overall, the staff here are great. Our bartender was exceptional as was our waiter for breakfast.

Now, the cons:

- There is no reasonably-priced parking available anywhere around here. This is not necessarily a fault of the hotel, but it would be nice if they worked out a deal with a nearby parking garage. And if you are like us and don't trust a valet driver with your car, be prepared to walk several blocks and pay $45/night to self-park with no in/out privileges. This isn't out-of-this-world expensive for downtown Chicago, but is still on the steeper side of average for self-park blocks away from your hotel without in/out. Not a deal breaker, but something to be aware of if you are driving into the city.

- Again, this isn't something that the hotel could reasonably be expected to change, but I would strongly advise against staying at this hotel during any change of seasons. The building has an old single pipe ventilation system, meaning that they cannot switch back and forth between heating and cooling; and all rooms have to be in the same mode. So when we came here in early April and it was in the 70's, the heat was still on. Being on the 7th floor our room hovered around 83 degrees during our stay, hence the fan mentioned earlier. Not a reason to avoid this hotel, but a reason to wait and stay here during a time when this wouldn't be as likely to be an issue.

- The breakfast looked and sounded fantastic, but was such a let down. The American breakfast runs $17pp, so hardly a budget option, yet the eggs were horribly undercooked (even for overeasy), the potatoes tasted like a chunk of pure rosemary, and my wife's tea didn't arrive until halfway through our meal. The only saving grace here was our waiter, who was great.

- This one is another case of being something the hotel cannot be expected to change, but something to be aware of if you are a first time visitor to Chicago. This hotel really has no views, at all, due to it being so much shorter than the hotels around it. Not a big deal to us, and something we were aware of prior to our arrival, but for those visiting for the first time I would recommend a hotel with a view of the lake (The Drake is perfect) or a view down the Mag Mile. Just my two cents.

- And finally, the hotel messed up our bill and overcharged us. We had booked our stay directly with the hotel with a discount, and it was to include a $25 voucher for food. I noticed the next morning when we received our bill under the door that they had not deducted the $25. I called the front desk and mentioned this, and was told they would correct it immediately. Unfortunately they seem to have went ahead and pushed forward the incorrect charge, as it came through to my credit card a week later for the original amount.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
201 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed 2 nights recently at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. The Location is fantastic. Many things are within walking distance. I booked online and when we arrived early to check in our room was ready. We had a king bed on the 11th floor. It was very quiet and my quality of sleep couldn't have been better! The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. When we arrived, the room was hot. The front desk staff said they had not yet switched the system over to aircon but with the windows open, it was very nice. There is a nice sized fitness center and also a business center. There was no free wifi. The hotel as well as the room seemed clean and nicely decorated. If you can get a good price for the room, its a good place to stay downtown.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaceJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here with my sister and 2 nieces. I would have given it 5 stars but they "upgraded" us to a 1 bedroom suite. Normally that would be wonderful, but since there were 4 of us, 2 of us ended up on the sofa sleeper. It was comfortable, but I do believe 2 queen beds would have been better. However, with the upgrade we got a really nice bathroom that I doubt all rooms have. The best part of this hotel is its location. Walking distance to everything that a person would need. The staff were friendly and helpful. We use spot hero for our parking needs so we don't need to pay the outrageous Chicago parking fees. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank addison_and_clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,598 reviews
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#96 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago

Property: Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-7114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#77 Business Hotel in Chicago
#82 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing