We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and atmosphere, made the trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Ranked #95 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying in this hotel last year and really enjoyed the experience. For a large hotel in a major city I was not disappointed by anything. The room was a good size, the bed was comfy, the wifi worked well. The building had a very classy feel and I would say the service was excellent too.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

I price lined the Knickerbocker. It's in a great North Michigan Avenue location. Overall, I found the facilities quite worn and dated . The concierge simply wasn't present. The old rooms are not well sound proofed.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank topperdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We definitely enjoyed our stay at the Knickerbocker and loved the old school charm. The staff was wonderful, especially at the Nix restaurant and the food was delicious! The rooms were small and slightly outdated, however the location more than made up for it. Foodlife at the Water Tower was an excellent place to go for quick, easy dining.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StashiaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in July last year. We had actually booked another hotel in Chicago that we didn't realize was so far out of the city. So we booked this one very last minute and we were so glad we did. The staff were amazing, they would remember our names and our drink orders when we would have a couple of wines down at the bar before dinner. The room was good and everything was very clean. We loved it

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billandboses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The staff was great, and the room was very nice and comfortable.The restaurant and bar is overpriced, and they do not offer free wifi in the rooms. Other then that, I was very pleased with my stay and will return again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be “great” and the room was “very nice and comfortable”. We do offer complimentary WiFi in the lobby and mezzanine levels. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel was one of the best hotels we stayed at. went to Chicago with my family and stayed there for a week. we didn't have any problems at all and had breakfast at the hotel restaurant which was really good actually.the location of this place is a bonus cause it's right at Michigan Ave and so many good restaurants around there .
would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you consider the Knickerbocker “one of the best hotels” you’ve stayed at. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you greatly enjoyed your stay. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you stay with us!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Ever since we stayed here, I have been dying to write about how exceptional this hotel is and I wanted to have the perfect wording, but I don't think there are enough words in the dictionary to showcase how lovely the Knickerbocker is.

Every Valentines Day weekend my husband and I follow a tradition... it was our first date 7 years ago on vday and we utterly love this weekend. It is a little getaway for us and lets not forget eating some great Chicago food. Dinner is always at Tavern on Rush (LOVE IT), drinks at whatever bar we like, breakfast at The Original Pancake House (yum) and the Chicago Auto Show. We never stay at the same hotel cause we like to stay all over... however, I think we have found one amazing little gem.

We picked the Knickerbocker for two main reasons, price and location. For $100 a night in the city, its a steal. Then, it is within a short walking distance to Tavern. Once we enter the building, we can tell that a wedding is going on and everybody is pre-drinking in the lobby/martini bar. I am instantly jealous, cause not only do I LOVE weddings, but this seems like an amazing hotel to have your wedding at. We check in and the front desk clerk has to be the nicest guy. He asks us if we are celebrating anything, how are commute from the Burg was, if we need a taxi to dinner, etc. Also informs us that the lobby area will clear out in about 30 mins for the wedding.

Elevator is small, but its an older hotel, and its not slow, so I'd rather it be small than opposed to slow. On our floor people are pre-drinking in the huge common area for the wedding (once again, jealousy enters my brain). Our room is just perfect and the shower was my favorite part. Pretty big for a hotel shower, rainfall shower head and an additional wand. We get dressed for our night out and visit the Martini bar. The bill is quite high, $30 for two drinks, but this is the city AND there was no skimping on the alcohol. I mean we both walked out feeling a little fuzzy and hungry for dinner.

We just loved everything about it... All of the upgrades in the room were great, loved that it was a boutique hotel, the location, the staff, etc.

I am sure we will be back next year :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deej R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thorough review on your Valentine’s Day weekend stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be “exceptional” and that you loved our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back next Valentine’s Day, but hopefully for a stay sooner than that!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 191 in Chicago
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago

Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-7114
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#77 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $98 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing