We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faded - but great location and great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Drake Hotel
Ranked #78 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Faded - but great location and great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

The Drake should be a world class hotel as it has so much going for it. Location is the best in Chicago - opposite Bloomingdales, near Rush Street, overlooking the beach. It has history and a definate sense of granduer. That said, it is now looking a bit tired. The public areas are OK, but the rooms have a little wear and tear (but are still certainly very acceptable). Service is also a bit surly at times. That said the price seems to reflect this. We paid about $350 per night for a junior suite. To me this is excellent value. We tend to stay in more expensive places than the Drake - but the location and style of the Drake make it our regular stop in Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,839
    1,053
    416
    220
    113
See reviews for
687
1,193
164
1,039
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

The Drake is a lovely historical hotel in Chicago. Recently renovated, the hotel looks fabulous. My room was very comfortable with a great bed, a big bathroom and windows that opened allowing for some fresh air on the first nice day of spring. The staff is very professional and gracious. In the lobby, a harpist plays music in the afternoon during tea. A very nice touch for those who enjoy this type of service. There is a great coffee shop in the ground floor that I recommend for breakfast or lunch. The location is excellent as well.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagny33028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

We arrived at midnight on Thursday (still here but only because prepaid). Bed had not been changed from previous occupant - pubic hairs etc in the bed, no top sheet. Informed front desk. Informed them again after 30 minutes and no sign of anyone. Maintenance man came to see what the problem is. Came back 10
minutes later with sheets which were in fact duvet covers. Told the duty manager the next morning. No apology, no statement of embarrassment - nothing. I would highly recommend NOT staying here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCALVERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedrakechicago, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2009
Dear Trip Advisor, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We certainly apologize for any inconvenience you were caused during your stay as it is our intention to provide every guest with a completely satisfactory stay. We do, in fact, use duvets on our beds which provide a bottom sheet and a duvet with a double sheet duvet cover. These have been very well received by our guests. The bottom sheet and duvet covers are changed regularly during a guest's stay based on their preference and are certainly changed after a guest has departed. For guests who prefer to also have a top sheet in addition to the duvet, we also place a separate sheet, along with a blanket and extra pillow in the closet of every room. Please be assured we would never check a guest into a room which had not been cleaned from the previous occupant. We hope we can welcome you back to The Drake in the future, and if you will contact me directly, I will make sure you have a most enjoyable stay. Tom Thomas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

As a Hilton Gold VIP HHonors member for the past few years, I generally have been very happy with the serivice I have received from the various Hilton hotels in Chicago, New York City, Washington, D.C, and San Diego. I was looking forward to staying at the Drake; we had visited the hotel in the past for dinner and drinks. Unfortunately, after my recent stay, I doubt I will go back again. We travel there at least 4 - 5 times a year, so we've stayed at several comparable hotels and know that Chicago has many other options.

The Pros
1. Wonderful location! You are a close walk to Mag Mile, Gold coast, and River North shopping and dining. Lincoln Park is a short (~10-15 minute $8.00 cab ride) drive away. The Oak Street Beach is within walking distance for running.
2. Terrific conference/catering services: The food and service was wonderful during our meeting. The staff in catering was professional and very accomodating; this further highlighted the discrepancies in service in all other areas (please see below). I definitely would return to the Drake/recommend it to others for their meeting/catering facilities.
3. Beautiful lobby, bar, and dining areas: bar/restaurant staff professional and prompt.
4. Heavenly Beds and linens were extremely comfortable--some of the best hotel beds I have slept in recent memory! LaSource bath amenities also are very nice. Room was very clean, althought the carpet/upholstery was a bit worn.

The Cons:
1. As a Gold VIP HHonors member, I requested an upgrade. I have never had issues with this request (which is a part of being a member) at other hotels (i.e. Hilton Gaslamp San Diego, Chicago Conrad, Millenium Hilton NYC -- terrific service in this regard!). I was told that I could not be upgraded to an Executive level room because "they were not available" (yet other folks in our conference party who were not HHonors members did get rooms on the Executive floors). In addition, since I didn't require a complimentary breakfast, I asked (twice) if there was any way I could receive complimentary internet instead. I was told this was not possible unless I "downgraded" my room (which seemed unreasonable, since the room I was in was on a lower floor -- 4th floor -- with only a partial lake view but a great view of the heating vents). I was told I could speak with Hilton HHonors customer service. The customer service representative contacted the manager (Tom Thomas), but I never received the courtesy of a response. I really would have liked to opportunity to make what I thought was a small request (free internet versus an executive floor upgrade).
2. Cleaning staff: On two consecutive mornings, the cleaning staff entered my room ~ 9 AM without checking to see if I was still there. Luckily, I am an early riser.
3. Front desk staff seemed professional enough but clearly not particularly warm/ amenable to moving beyond the cursory motions of helping (see above). They also made an error of charging me for a mini-bar item when I had not taken anything from it. They reluctantly removed the charge.

Overall, the Drake has many great qualities. It is a beautiful hotel in a great location with wonderful facilities and a terrific catering staff. in addition, the rooms are clean and the beds are terrific. Unfortunately, the front desk staff, lack of response from the General Manager despite my attempts to contact him, and the lack of basic courtesies (as a Hilton HHonors member) left me a bit perturbed. I do hope that the Drake can rectifiy these issues. Until they do, I would look elsewhere first at other hotels in the area (i.e. Hotel Burnham or Monaco, Hotel Intercontinental Historic tower, Swissotel, Conrad).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedrakechicago, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2009
Dear Trip Advisor, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Drake. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel's meeting and catering services as well as our guestroom cleanliness, beds and amenities. As I believe you will agree from the majority of our reviews we exceed our guests' expectations in terms of our service and product. Also, as you noted, The Drake is ideally located in the city. It was, however, very concerning to read about the diffuclties you experienced during your stay and you can be assured these will be addressed. I am not certain who the customer service representative was who indicated they contacted the General Manager but unfortunately I was not aware of the problems you were facing. I regret one of our Assistant Managers who are on duty 24 hours a day were not able to assist you. Please feel free to contact me directly by email with the details of your stay so that I may follow up internally as to the issues you reported. (tom.thomas@hilton.com) Thank you. Tom Thomas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

The Drake really has it all - you're across the street from Oak Street beach, can walk to many great rstaurants, John Hancock is 2 blocks away.

Service was impeccable, room was very nice - paid extra for a Lakeview, the lobby & restaurants were all so grand.

Thought also quite economical - considering all you received.

Look forward to staying again.

It was a 10.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cubfanforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

A group of us stayed at the Drake Hotel over a weekend in April. It is a great historic hotel. If you stay here, you should be because you like historic hotels, not because you want ultra modern. The rooms are nicely appointed, but you can tell it is a historic hotel. The lobby is beautiful and has some interesting nooks and crannies. The breakfast brunch buffet is also very good and a decent value. The location is also great, making it an easy walk to get anywhere in the city. I would stay here again the next time I am in Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregK1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

This was a wonderful hotel! The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable! The location at the beginning of the magnificent mile was perfect. We were able to walk everywhere. This hotel was everything we hoped it to be! We ate at Gibsons and it was the best steak we ever had!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suehhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#97 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Property: The Drake Hotel
Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing