We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let these negative people scare you away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #79 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, CA
113
Reviewed May 15, 2005

Stayed at the Drake for four nights and had a great experience. If you travel to Chicago, especially in the warm weather months, I can't imagine spending much time in the hotel anyway!! Staff was helpful and polite - although I didn't have many special requests except for a cot which was delivered promptly. The valet staff and doormen were excellent with directions, advice, luggage, etc. Just be sure to call down in advance (15-20 minutes) and your car will be ready to go.

Rate was $129 a night prepaid - can't beat that.
Great location on North Michigan Avenue! Shopping, Restaurants, Etc.
Check-in was fast and painless.
Bags were delivered to the room quickly.
Valet was $30 / night
Room was nice, clean, quiet, and roomy enough for two men.
Nice bathroom with lots of room, good water pressure, and hot water.
Lots of towels and nice bathrobes.
View was nothing special from our room.
Construction across the street causes some traffic congestion in front of the hotel.

Bottom line: Beautiful hotel with great character and an attentive staff. It is not the Ritz or the Four Seasons, but for the price you can't beat it! There may or may not be a health club, and I can't comment on the food as I never ate there. The Drake is a perfect base camp for a trip to Chicago - hundreds of restaurants, bars, stores, and sites to be had within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,939)
There are newer reviews for The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,736 - 3,742 of 3,939 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Georgia
17
Reviewed April 26, 2005

We spent this past weekend at the Drake and LOVED it! Excellent service all the way around from the front desk to the bellman. We had a deluxe room and was just the right size. We have stayed at other hotels on Michigan Ave and the rooms were alot smaller at the other hotels. The location of the Drake is perfect. We will stay at the Drake the next time in Chicago. We would not think about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2005

We checked into the Drake the last weekend of March. It was one negative experience after another. Check in person was cold to say the least. Seemed very bored and unwelcoming.
When we got to our room we found that it had not been fully cleaned. The bed was made and surfaces were clean however when we went to the mini bar it was dirty and had to been restocked. There were black hand prints on all the doors and stains everywhere.
The room was also freezing cold but the thermostat was not working so we called down to reception and asked for the room to be cleaned and the temperature to be adjusted. An hour later, plus three phonecalls someone finally came up. Room was cleaned but apparently nothing could be done about the heating. It had just been switched on and we were told it would take approximately an hour for our room to heat up.
The final straw was when the people in the room next of us arrived. They may as well have been sitting in our room we could hear absolutely everything, word for word.
Overall a very disappointing experience and definitely not worth the money. What you are paying for here is the prestige of the Drake and unfortunately they do not deem it necessary to invest in anything else!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank Berrycm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
chicago, illinois
114
Reviewed April 6, 2005

the drake is still a chicago landmark and in the upper tier of chicago hotels, however the years have taken a toll on this once classic landmark. the lobby, though nice, is dated with carpet that needs to be repaired as well as main floor elevators that are also outdated. subtle things such as the paint in the hallways and the look and feel of room doors and design also need work. Paint is chipping off of the doors, the carpets in many hallways look worn and, in our case, the AC in our room did not work.

Perhaps the biggest indictment of the drake is that it simply cannot hold a candle to the four seasons and pennisula hotels in chicago. A stay in either one of those hotels puts the drake to shame. This is important to note because the drake does consider itself to be a hotel of that caliber.

While the name still signifies a classic, the Drake hotel has dropped in stature behind a number of other chicago luxury venues.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2005

I read prior reviews on this hotel and almost cancelled my res.
How glad I am that I did not. This is truly a beautiful hotel,
the lobby has all the splendor of a Ritz hotel in Europe...
The room and bath were lovely. We were on the 9th floor
of the hotel with a fabulous view of the Lake.
We loved the Club service and bar on the 11th floor. It had
everything, including a great view.
I will stay there again first chance I get. It is near alot of
beautiful shops and restaurants....

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank alchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Raleigh NC
113
Reviewed March 24, 2005

I just came back from a week stay at the Drake for a business meeting. I came back to my room the second day to find my room flooded. The pipes had burst and everything in the closet was soaked in brownish type water! This included my hanging clothes, coat, my suitcase, shoes actually everything but the clothes I had on. I was told they would send my clothes to an express cleaners but I did not get them back until after 9:00 am the next morning with my suitcase and shoes still missing. I had to be at a meeting at 8:30 and had nothing to wear but what I had on the day before. I was moved to another room which was noisy because the room next to it had flooded! Finally I was moved into a decent room.
I had to go to the front desk numerous times and they insisted my suitcase was in my room and had to bring them up to the room to prove it was not!
I feel they were only somewhat sympathetic to what had happened and that I was really just a bother. They did compensate me with a dinner, a breakfast and a movie. And that was only after I insisted because I was stuck in their hotel and could not leave to do anything. I had not coat and it was to cold to go out without out one. It was a very memorable visit.

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago
19
Reviewed March 17, 2005

This hotel is beautifull. The last renovations brought back glamour and magnificience to the grande dame! The staff is exceptional and trully cares unlike other higher end hotels. They will always go above and beyond to make sure you are enjoying your stay! A very unique place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#100 of 191 in Chicago
9,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $152 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining. A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests. Afternoon Tea at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court. Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Drake, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing